We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lyceum Theatre

The Lyceum Theatre
Royal Lyceum Theatre | 30b Grindlay Street, Edinburgh EH3 9AX, Scotland
0131 248 4848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 156 Attractions in Edinburgh
Attraction details
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Panto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I went to this theatre along with my 12-year-old boy for the Panto. The place was fabulous and the show was exciting. The location was great too as it is close the majestic Castle and the Usher Hall.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“fantastic theatre and performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A great night out. ticket prices were very reasonable. What a fantastic contemporary take on Cinderella in a beautiful theatre. Thoroughly enjoyed the staging and acting of the cast and found the seating to be reasonably comfortable by comparison to the Kings in Glasgow. My only complaint is the excessive parking charges which seems to be commonplace in Edinburgh. It is apparently impossible to park anywhere for a reasonable sum with even hotels charging their guests to park. Perhaps if this was rethought more people would attend theatre performances. Hats off to the Lyceum it was very enjoyable was very impressed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Our annual visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My 23 year old daughter and I went for our annual visit to see the Christmas play Cinderella and as ever we had a great time.From the moment you enter the theatre you cannot fail to love it; the foyer is light and airy and it is only a few steps to 1 of the bars where I always like to start off the evening with a nice Gin & tonic. The inside of the theatre itself is stunning.
The performances, the scripts and the scenery are always at least good and mostly better even that that-and Cinderella was in the latter category.
Looking forward already to the 2013 performance!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cinderella, a great production in alovely theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My 8 year old grandaughter loved this production of Cinderella and so did I ! The staging is novel, it's well acted and cleverly costumed. What a pretty little theatre the Lyceum is. Get there early and there are booster seats available or the little ones. I go there regularly throughout the year but tI think here's something more magical about the Christmas productions.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“cinderella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

this was a modern take on a traditional panto, it was very enjoyable.the theatre itself was the old style, not a lot of leg room, but was still fairly comfortable. Nice wee bar but could do with a bit more seating. the only thing that i would advise is take the bus, it cost us £15 to use the NCP car park round the corner. add this to the price of the tickets and refreshments and it make it a very expensive family night out.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lyceum Theatre also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Lyceum Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lyceum Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.