We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but lots of things to view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St Cecilia's Hall Museum of Instruments

St Cecilia's Hall Museum of Instruments
Corner of Cowgate and Niddry Street, Edinburgh EH1 1NQ, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 156 Attractions in Edinburgh
Opric, Croatia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Small but lots of things to view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I visited this place after finding it on the map. There are 2 amazing halls of harpsichords dating over 300-500 years ish as well as other keyboard instruments. Stop by here as you probably won't be able to see such things elsewhere. There is also a bagpipe collection which I didn't find as interesting as the keyboard instruments. The entrance is a bit strange - you go up an alleyway and it smells of urine around the area. I have been told that the museum will undergo a refurbishment though. There is also a circular concert hall with excellent acoustics!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
486 reviews 486 reviews
189 attraction reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for chamber music concert or recital”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We visited the hall for a harpsichord and spinnet recital during this year's Edinburgh Festival. The acoustic is very fine indeed and it was a pleasure to hear and see such beautiful instruments, each nearly 300 years old, played so superbly in such a lovely oval Georgian room.
Downstairs the museum of old instruments was in darkness and it is a pity that early evening (5.45-7.00) Festival audiences could not admire these on their way out.
The main room itself needs some TLC to restore it to its true Georgian glory. That would be the responsibility of the University of Edinburgh: perhaps a use for some of the profit on non-Scottish student fees........

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
438 reviews 438 reviews
280 attraction reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“If you have ever played an instrument, this is fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

It has odd open hours, but if you're lucky enough to find it open, definitely stop in. There are so many different instruments I have never even seen. The people who volunteer or work there are very helpful and will tell you about the history and pieces. Lovely little find!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gem of a find! Loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We found this attraction by looking on the local map. This place was only open on selected days and time. Location was slightly difficult to find but it was well worth the trip.

On the day that we went, my husband and I, plus a small group of 4 others were lucky enough to have a guide that volunteered to give us a detailed tour of the museum with very interesting background information and demonstration on some of the instruments. I'm not sure whether it's something the other guides do too, but what turned out to be a 30min visit, became a very ineresting 2 hour historical music lesson. He was more than happy to answer any questions any of us have too.

There were some amazing collections of old pianos at the museum. Definitely worth a visit if you are a music student, musician or just interested in the history of music.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Cecilia's Hall Museum of Instruments also viewed

 

Been to St Cecilia's Hall Museum of Instruments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Cecilia's Hall Museum of Instruments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.