We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kilderkin

The Kilderkin
65 Canongate, Edinburgh EH8 8BT, Scotland
+44 131 556 2101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #281 of 1,900 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: WE SERVE TWO DISTINCT MENUS; OUR DAYTIME MENU RUNS TILL 5pm AND OUR PIZZA MENU FROM 6pm Traditional Scottish bar with high-quality, home made food and a great selection of beer and spirits.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We came across this place accidentally, I'm very glad we did! Its down the royal mile, heading towards palace of holyroodhouse. They have two menus, we got the evening pizza menu that starts from 4pm, they have some of the best and most original pizzas I've seen, they are stone baked so expect the bottom to be a little black but they tasted delicious!
The staff were so friendly. Definitely worth a visit and we will certainly return :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James N, Owner at The Kilderkin, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thanks for your review.
Hope to see you next time your in Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    33
    10
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Cold pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Good beer, good host, and great layout / decor; but take extra layers as this place is chilly. Worth a visit if you are on the royal mile.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James N, Owner at The Kilderkin, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thanks for your review.
Yes we have had problems with our heating this winter. Generally it's ok, but the strong winds at the beginning of the year were too much for it to cope. Thankfully it has been fixed now and we should have a whole new heating system in place for next winter.
Cheers
J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best burgers!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

As a Yank living in the UK for over 21 years, the burger in this place has made it to my number one anywhere in the UK!! Their Kilderkin Burger is flavoured with chorizo and not incinerated like most UK burger joints. A delicious, juicy burger that got thumbs up all around including by our visiting American family. We even went back the next day for another round. Definitely worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James N, Owner at The Kilderkin, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hi praise indeed!
Glad you enjoyed that days burger so much (we change them all the time).
Cheers
J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Kilderkin is a MUST visit if you are in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I could not have had a better experience at this authentic Scottish pub. I came in with a few friends and we simply asked the bartender (who happens to be the owner), if we could do a scotch tasting. Not only did he oblige us with 7 different scotches, but sat with us for an hour and a half, taking us through each scotch (some of which were valued at over 300 pounds a bottle) and talking with us about everything scotch related - from the production process to tasting techniques to current industry trends. He couldn't have been nicer or more welcoming and all for under 20 pounds a person! We were so happy with our experience that we decided to stay for lunch and all thoroughly enjoyed our meals, which came quickly but were delicious. I tried my hand at the traditional dish of sausage and potatoes (bangers and mash) for the first time and it was excellent. Couldn't recommend this spot more, as I said, its a MUST!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James N, Owner at The Kilderkin, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Great to hear you liked the whisky tasting. Hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.
Slainte Mhath.
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“"Dark, local" pub with very good food and great whisky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

If you are a whisky fan you will likely make a trek to Caidenhead's whisky shoppe. Walk down the street a little further and you will find this great local pub. The food and servings are reasonable. There is not an extensive pub menu but the food was flavourful. I began to like haggis after eating here. More importantly, tho spun has a great whisky selection thanks to its proximity to Caidenhead's. The owner works with Caidenhead's to get some very interesting whiskies into the pub. They are very well priced and the staff will help you make a great selection. This pub is well worth the .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James N, Owner at The Kilderkin, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Happy to be of service.
Cheers
J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kilderkin also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Kilderkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kilderkin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.