We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Royal Mile Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kilderkin

The Kilderkin
65 Canongate, Edinburgh EH8 8BT, Scotland
+44 131 556 2101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #280 of 1,901 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: WE SERVE TWO DISTINCT MENUS; OUR DAYTIME MENU RUNS TILL 5pm AND OUR PIZZA MENU FROM 6pm Traditional Scottish bar with high-quality, home made food and a great selection of beer and spirits.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Royal Mile Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Just like some other reviewers, we found The Kilderkin by accident. The weather was horrible that day, but we had walked up and down the mile and needed a break. We popped into here mid-afternoon for drinks. Great atmosphere! And the absolute BEST hot chocolate I have ever had....maybe not what most taverns would want to be known for, but it was outstanding. (And, yes, the dog added a special touch!)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrelHalfFull, Manager at The Kilderkin, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank-you for your kind review and we're glad you enjoyed your visit to Kilderkin. Toby (the dog) says you should stop in again sometime...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    33
    10
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Popped in for lunch, place was very busy so expected long wait but service was great, food prompt and good. Highly recommend.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrelHalfFull, Owner at The Kilderkin, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks for your comments.

Hogmanay was a busy day for us and I'm glad you didn't have to wait too long.

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Edinburgh.

Best wishes for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A hidden gem, a surprise and a good night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The decor of this pub, both outside and in, does not really reflect the place well. It is pretty dark, but you get used to that, I guess it creates a cosy atmosphere. The place was well laid out so that you had privacy at your table without the next group along being too close.

I met friends here for some evening drinks and food.

The bar staff were very helpful, attentive and informed. The pizza menu was great - a real play on words which amused us all. We had a pizza each - pure gluttony as they were rather large but so tasty that it was hard to stop eating. I basically cleared my plate, my friend commented that I do not do that very often so a real hats off to the kitchen staff.

We had a variety of drinks to suit our group, nice wine by the glass, beer on tap, and cocktails which were not too shabby. They also have a large selection of rum, I presume on the influence of the manager who runs a rum-club once a month. We tried a good few....

There was a family in with young children when we were there - they seemed comfortable and welcomed which was nice to see.

My Edinburgh residing friends had not been before, but I am sure that they will be back soon - as will I the next time I am in town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrelHalfFull, Owner at The Kilderkin, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thanks for your comments.
Glad to hear you enjoyed the puns on our new menu. We had a lot of fun thinking them up.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Cheers
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Kilderkin - a great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We found this as we wandered down the Royal Mile. We were tired of trekking and in need of lunch. This turned out to be a fortuitous place - nice atmosphere, great host (loved his dog!) and good food. Prices were more than reasonable and the portions were sufficiently large that we had more than enough food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
1 review
“Good food, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stopped in with two colleagues for drinks and a bite to eat last night. As others have said, the bar staff is really welcoming and friendly. Great music, not too loud, nice mix of locals and out-of-towners. The food was quite good, and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kilderkin also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Kilderkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kilderkin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.