We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Premier Inn i've stayed in so far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) to your Saves list
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street)
121 - 123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £69
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Fishguard, West Wales
1 review
“Best Premier Inn i've stayed in so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I Have returned today 17th Nov 2013 after a seven day visit to to Scotland I must say that of all the Premier Inns that I have stayed at (and there are many) this one tops them all so far, thats not to say the others i've stayed in any way poor but Edinburghs Princes St. staff were the friendliest and the meals and service were excelent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARiva1, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street), responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Gareth G,

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences.

I am delighted with your feedback, as are my team. I can't tell you how rewarding it is for them when our guests recognise the hard work that they do, I'm sure you can see why I am very proud of them all.

At Premier Inn we strive to deliver clean and comfortable rooms, great value and a team that really care about your experience and it really means a tremendous amount to us to receive such lovely feedback, thank you.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Ailsa Riva
Operations Manager
opsmgr.edinburghprincesstreet@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    376
    72
    17
    10
See reviews for
370
538
35
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel is very central and provides a great place to stay whilst enjoying Edinburgh. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great value for money but only had evening meal on one occasion and did feel the menu was a little limited. The food was very tasty though. Room was clean and comfortable but did show signs of a bit of wear and tear. Probably due to the fact the place is well used. All in all had a great time and very pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARiva1, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street), responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Kazri,

Thanks for your lovely review, I'm pleased you had a great stay with us.

It's lovely to hear that you found our team to be very friendly and helpful, they really do work hard to welcome our guests. I agree that breakfast is great value for money, particularly for those travelling with children, there is so much to choose from and really does set you up for the day ahead. I'm sorry that you felt the evening menu is somewhat limited, the menu at our Premier Inn is a little smaller than most with the emphasis on high quality, freshly prepared produce. I will of course share your comments with our Food Development team for consideration in our next menu refresh. I am pleased that your meal was very tasty, our chef's do take a lot of pride in their work and it's lovely when our guests recognise their efforts.

Please be assured our Maintenance Team do invest a tremendous amount of time trying to maintain the paintwork in the bedrooms, however you are right in that as we are a very busy hotel it can be difficult to get into every room, every week. We are trying to review how best to approach this to keep our rooms looking as fresh as possible.

Thank you again for the time you have taken to share your feedback, I am delighted you had a great time and were very pleased overall with our hotel.

Kind regards
Ailsa Riva
Operations Manager
opsmgr.edinburghprincesstreet@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Location of this hotel on Princess Street is ideal for all the tourist bits and shopping. Staff fantastic and the rooms very comfortable and clean, the choice of breakfast exceptional We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Good central location around 15 minutes from Waverley station. Entrance lobby was a doorway between two shops which we missed in the dark. We were looking for something more substantial. Whilst guided ably through the process, not a big fan of self check in. I appreciate the need to improve efficiency but machines have no personality. Rooms were good and a standard you would expect from this chain. Dining area had a great view of castle. Only had breakfast and was as expected.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

As everyone has wrote - great location. Very central - easy to get around.

It you are looking for a nofrills weekend away then this place is perfect.

It has a nice little bar for pre-drinks. Which we look advantage on for our hen weekend. The rooms are modern and well kept and some have the most amazing views of the city.

The breakfast was surprisingly fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARiva1, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street), responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Tade12345,

Thank you for your lovely review. I really do appreciate the time that you have taken to share you experiences.

I'm delighted you had a great weekend with us and that you found our breakfast fantastic - I have to agree, it is a great way to start the day and sets you up for a busy day around the city. Thank you for noting that our rooms are modern and well kept, our Housekeeping and Maintenance teams work really hard to deliver high standards and it's lovely for them to have that recognised.

Thank you again for your comments and I do hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Ailsa Riva
Operations Manager
opsmgr.edinburghprincesstreet@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great central location, very clean, comfortable bed, hot shower and breakfast was fine.
Ideal for the Playhouse or city centre, plenty of shops, bars and restaurants within stumbling distance!
Does exactly what it says on the tin - if you're looking for 5 star don't stay here, if your looking for comfort, functionality and value - difficult to see past this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great location-so central, great view of the castle from the bar really friendly staff, comfortable clean room with all the facilities you will need. Before & after check in leave luggage facility which was so useful as didn't have to lug our bags around. Please consider some gluten free options on the menu for coeliacs like me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARiva1, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street), responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Jane_K,

I really appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us, it really helps us to review our services when guests share valuable feedback.

It's so lovely to hear that you found our team to be helpful and your room clean and comfortable, at Premier Inn we strive to deliver great value, great standards and a helpful team on hand to help you to make the most of your time with us. I am really pleased that you found this to be the case.

I'm glad we were able to help by storing your bags on arrival and departure, it makes such a difference to not have to carry luggage around when you are out and about in the city.

I will make sure to share your comments regarding gluten free products with our Food Development team. For your future comfort, please do not hesitate to discuss your dietary requirements with the team as more often than not we can work together to provide something suitable.

Thank you for your comments, I hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn again in the future.

Kind regards
Ailsa Riva
Operations Manager
opsmgr.edinburghprincesstreet@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street)

Address: 121 - 123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.