We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to city hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) to your Saves list
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Lochside Court, Edinburgh EH12 9FX, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #10 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charente Maritime
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great alternative to city hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Super clean, friendly, comfortable. With a train next door which is only two stops from Waverley, this hotel is a great place to spend a night or more without the hassle of parking in central Edinburgh. For those of you flying, the airport is only 10 minutes away by car. I would not hesitate to stay here again.Well done Premier Inn yet again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle), responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear fraire

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with in our hotel as well as our great location. Our team do all that they can to be as friendly as possible. They strive to ensure our guests are well looked after and comfortable during their stay.

Being right next to Edinburgh Park train station it couldn’t be easier to reach our city centre and only costing £3.90 for a peak time return ticket. With 10 minutes to reach Edinburgh Waverly it doesn’t take long to start exploring our wonderful city. Thank you for your great review.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    243
    54
    9
    9
See reviews for
343
297
30
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The hotel is new and clean. The rooms are spacious, quiet, and well kept. The hotel is an extremely good value if visiting Edinburgh.

There is a train station just across the street that is two stops from downtown Edinburgh. The trains run every 15 minutes or so into and out of the city. Return tickets are cheaper than using the Edinburgh park and rides. Will be returning to Edinburgh in a few months and plan to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle), responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Rush1985

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m pleased you have taken the time to give us feedback. It’s great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our great location.

Being placed in the Edinburgh park we are very lucky to have such a quiet location. As well as providing free parking its great for those who don’t fancy taking their car to the city centre. With the trains being every 15 minutes and taking only 10 minutes to reach the centre it can’t get any easier.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel is perfectly placed for travelling in and around Edinburgh without having to pay the earth to stay near the city centre. The hotel is 2 train stops away from Edinburgh itself and takes 10 mins by train. There's free parking and shops over the road so if you forget anything you are not far away from being able to buy toiletries etc.
Hotel is clean and comfortable and although the food is a tad expensive it is of excellent standard so happy to pay that bit more.

Room Tip: The hotel is right next to the train station but the noise if not too bad from passing trains. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle), responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear JCandfamily

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our excellent location. With the trains only costing £3.90 for a peak time return ticket it’s perfect for quick trips into our beautiful city. As you said we don’t charge for car parking this is ideal for Edinburgh as city centre parking can be quite expensive.

Across the train station is Hermiston gait retail Park as well as having a large Tesco supermarket they have recently added a TK Max as well. Meaning our location keeps improving.

Thank you for your great review. I’m happy you have enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms. I’m sorry to hear one of your nights sleep was disturbed, however I am very pleased that our receptionists resolved this with our Good Night Guarantee.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen,Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Wow, congratulations!! A lot of thought and planning gone in to this hotel. Been at various premier inns and this is the best. Where to start, air con brilliant, self service check in brilliant, great staff, great food..........perfect. Could not fault anything. Will definitely be back and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle), responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear babsmaclaughlinm

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

It’s great to hear that you feel that we are the best Premier Inn ever. We are all pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Being a newer Premier Inn we have the ‘Quick+Easy Check-in’. This ensures all our guests can check in quickly and efficiently. Giving our recveption team more time to talk to our guests and help with any questions they may have about our hotel or Edinburgh City.

I’m pleased that you have enjoyed our Thyme restaurant and that our team left a great impression. Thank you for your review.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

One of the best Premier Inn's I have ever stayed at. They have the best team of receptionist's and restaurant staff ever. They couldn't to do any more for you, as always there for you to help you.

Excellent rooms, Ideal location when on visit to Edinburgh as city centre is only a short train ride away. Restaurant and Breakfast also excellent. Car park ideal.

We will be back for sure!!! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle), responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear RobTA61

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

What a fantastic review! Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. Our team are thrilled to see what you have wrote. They all thrive to ensure our guests have a great stay and over all experience in our hotel and I’m pleased at your lovely recognition of their efforts.

I’m glad that you have enjoyed our excellent rooms, our Thyme restaurant and our as much as you like Premier breakfast. I hope you have enjoyed your time in Edinburgh as much as you enjoyed our hotel!

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit with our hotel.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Everyone here is really friendly and helpful.

We had some spare time and went into Edinburgh it was a easy outing as the train and tram lines were opposite the hotel.

Excellent stop over and hotel was good value and the resturant very nice too.i

Room Tip: If you want to explore edinburgh this is a good venue to park the car at and take the train into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle), responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear sally p

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I’m delighted that you found our team really friendly and helpful. They all do what they can to look after our guests and ensure an enjoyable stay.

With our location reaching the city centre couldn’t be any easier. With the trains every 15 minutes to the city centre I’m pleased to hear that you took advantage of this. Thank you for taking the time review our hotel.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Not stayed in a premier inn for a long time as never been that happy. However this hotel was excellent very clean helpful staff and the fact there was a restraint on site was great. Only disappointment was that the wifi was painfully slow which meant I could not do any work in the evening.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H H, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle), responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Shaunkirsty

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Premier Inn during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I am happy you have enjoyed your stay in our clean hotel and that our team have made such a great impression. They do all that they can to be as helpful as possible and do it well.

I’m sorry to hear that our Wi-Fi was slow during your stay. We have spoke with our Wi-Fi supplier and the issue has been resolved. If you stay with us again or at any other Premier Inn site let our 24 hour Reception Team know if you have any issues. We are always here to help.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely

Tony Horan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle)

Address: 1 Lochside Court, Edinburgh EH12 9FX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Hotel located in a fantastic location. Only 10 minutes to Edinburgh Airport & 10 minutes to City Centre on a train, from train station which is located 50yds from the Hotel.There is an integral hotel restaurant, thyme which opens daily from 6-10om for dinner, & there is also a Costa Coffee store within the hotel.Although we do not have leisure facilities, we have a local gym that offers a great price for our guests to use their facilities, which includes a modern gym, gym classes & saunas for all to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.