We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right Location, Right Price, Right Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle)

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle)
1 Lochside Court, Edinburgh EH12 9FX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Melbourne.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Right Location, Right Price, Right Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We chose this hotel for its proximity to Edinburgh Airport and the suburban trains.

It makes a tourist's visit to Edinburgh easy. We arrived at the airport in the evening, picked up hire car from the airport on arrival, stayed overnight at the hotel, left the car at the hotel car park [free] while visiting Edinburgh city next day. One more night at the hotel then well placed for exit across the Firth of Forth road bridge heading north next morning.

Restaurant in the hotel and it 'fits the bill' too.

Hotel facilities were all we wished for and the staff were very attentive. It was so good we forward booked Premier Inn for our next nights stop over.

Check the road route to the hotel before hand. Good shopping centre nearby at Gyle.

All in all a good package.

Room Tip: Pre book, we needed a family room for three pax. Check road directions to hotel prior to arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    480
    174
    38
    6
    7
See reviews for
257
214
15
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was a great trip with partner and grandchildren. The hotel was very modern and the location was ideal being right next to the train station that was two stops from the centre of Edinburgh. As always with Premier the breakfast was fantastic and the kids ate free. The staff were really helpful and I would recommend this to everybody who is visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked this hotel in the November for an April stay - three nights for £107.00 which we thought was good value for money. Its in a great location - a small train station right next door to in (we were in room 312 around the back, the trains coming and going didn't really disturb us), a retail park that contains a Tescos Express which is open late sits beyond the train station and around a 1/2 mile behind there is a small shopping centre with a food court, supermarket etc although this isn't open very late.

The hotel generally was very clean and tidy. Staff were very helpful, allowing us to book in 2 hours earlier than the normal time.

The room was a standard size - nothing out of the ordinary but as expected.

Two options for breakfast - all you can eat for £8.25 or a continental for £5.75. There wasn't any other option, so for someting such as egg on toast you'd end up paying £5.75 - we went to eat in the supermarket in the end.

Walking to the car park on Monday, we noticed that someone had let their dog foul the pavement and also lots of general rubbish floating around (it had been very windy!) - we just thought the outside area didn't match the cleanliness of the inside.

All in all though, great location for visiting Edinburgh. Trains were cheap (£3.00 return), plenty of food options available locally if you don't want to eat-in. If I could get a good price, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a new build Premier Inn which I would recommend to everyone.

Spacious reception area and attentive staff. Also has a Costa Coffee on Site as well as the The Thym Restaurant and Bar.

Rooms are spacious and well appointed with double glazing to keep the noise of the trains to a minimum.

Plenty of free car parking available and is directly across the road from Edinburgh Park Train Station so is only a 10 minute journey into the City Centre.

All the staff we encountered seemed to be happy with their job and it was pleasant to see that nothing was too much hassle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Location
The hotel is located on the outskirts of the city center on the Gyle business park, next to Edinburgh Park railway station, We found this a good spot for us with easy access to the city with trains every 15 min and only a short walk to a local retail park. Its isolated from any night life unless you are will to travel by train or taxi into the city, trains run until about 12 mid-night. kids travel for free on the train "off peak only" £3.50 off peak adult return.

Check in "lobby"
Fast check in with the option to self check in with two online ATM type machines.

Room "family room"
Our room was very modern looking clean and well maintained, the beds are out of this world best we have stayed in in any of the hotels we have stopped in.The wardrobe space is a little on the small side for a family room but nothing to complain about. Room service came each day and replaced towel etc and coffee and tea making facilities were topped up each day. We had a large screen wall mounted flat TV with basic free view channels and overall the room was faultless. The bath and shower were clean and in good order, filling the bath only takes a few minutes with extra taps and the shower was nice and hot with plenty of water flow.

Dinning room
Our first night we booked a table for dinner I would advise booking if you think you will be eating here as it soon gets filled up, the food was good and service was quick staff were polite and helpful, the dinning area was clean and modern.
Breakfast was very good with full English or cereal and fruit and yogurts etc we paid for breakfast in with the room but you could just pay on entering the dinning room. kids eat free

Bar
The hotel bar is located next to the dinning room its small but there are plenty of table and chairs to sit at prices are what you would expect from a hotel bar.


Overall i would recommend this hotel we had a good three nights stay here the staff were excellent very helpful polite and professional and will be re-booking with this hotel chain again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have stayed at the Gyle twice now and each time it has been a good experience. The last time, a week ago, was esspecially memorable as my husband had inadvertantly left his camera in the taxi on leaving the hotel for the airport. Our flight was imminent when we discovered this so had no time to go back. We phoned the hotel who were immediately concerned and wanted to help in any way they could. They got in touch with the taxi firm who contacted the driver who in turn returned the camera to the hotel. When we got back home to Shetland we contacted the hotel again to arrange, we hoped for the return of the camera. The girl on the phone was very helpful and said it would be no trouble to put the camera in the post that day. We recieved the camera, in tact nicely boxed a few days later.
I can't praise the staff enough. We will always use this hotel whenever we are in Edinburgh. The food is good and the staff in the restrante are lovely too....Thank you one and all !!

Room Tip: They have all been good so far....maybe the ground floor air con is a little noisier though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a great stay in the Edinburgh Park Premier Inn. The room was exceptionally clean and the king sixed bed was very comfortable. The staff was helpful when we needed help. The postal code would not take us there because of construction at the train station, but the adjacent trane station made trips to Edinburgh very easy. Get the hotel to givre you the postal code for the bib RBS bank building next to the hotel. We plan to use this hotel in July and August with visiting children. We were very satisfied with our stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle)

Address: 1 Lochside Court, Edinburgh EH12 9FX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Hotel located in a fantastic location. Only 10 minutes to Edinburgh Airport & 10 minutes to City Centre on a train, from train station which is located 50yds from the Hotel.There is an integral hotel restaurant, thyme which opens daily from 6-10om for dinner, & there is also a Costa Coffee store within the hotel.Although we do not have leisure facilities, we have a local gym that offers a great price for our guests to use their facilities, which includes a modern gym, gym classes & saunas for all to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.