We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming venue close to the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle)

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle)
1 Lochside Court, Edinburgh EH12 9FX, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online
Ranked #9 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A welcoming venue close to the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We visited Edinburgh with our family (4 adults and 2 children in total). Our intention was to see as much of Edinburgh as possible - this venue was a superb base for this type of break. Very friendly staff and great breakfasts (kids words). Two minutes from the Edinburgh Park station and a 10-minute ride to Waverley station just £3 return for adults and kids free!! Why drive.
For a weeks break the evening meals can get a little boring - but hey you are 10-minutes from the city and the choice of eateries is amazing.

Room Tip: For family gatherings they have a number of joining rooms but very popular so get in early. Room nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    509
    195
    44
    6
    7
See reviews for
278
226
19
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Friendly, clean and quiet - restaurant very good. The rail platform is just 25 yards away, 10 minutes into the city, trains run frequently. Retail park opposite with a tesco store nad cafe. We stayed for 3 nights and have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just back from a long weekend stay at the hotel. It was an excellent base for us and saved us from having to take the car into the centre of Edinburgh and tackling the nightmare one-ways and parking....bonus (especially when you are not familiar with the area)!!! Edinburgh Park train stop was right on the doorway and only around £3.50 rtn per adult off-peak, straight into Haymarket or Waverley :-)
The Glye shopping centre was 5 mins away by car or around 15 mins by foot. Also across the train line from the hotel (via a covered bridge...with lift available) was a Krispy Kreme Doughnut shop.....delish! Also the Hermiston Gait Retail Park was in this area.
The hotel itself was modern, well maintained and clean. All the staff we encountered were very friendly, efficient and helpful and always with a smile on their face. I would definatley stay here again and highly recommend it to others :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
433 helpful votes 433 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Having previously stayed at another Edinburgh Park hotel on trips to Edinburgh we were curious to see how it’s new near-neighbour, the Premier Inn, would compare.

The location is out of town but near to the airport, city by-pass, Edinburgh Business Park, Gyle & Hermiston Shopping Centres and Ingliston Showground. It’s not a scenic setting.

On this occasion we were attending the Six Nations Rugby game between Scotland & Ireland at Murrayfield and it was handy to have the train connection literally across the road from the hotel entrance. Haymarket station, the nearest to Murrayfield, is one stop away (5 minutes) and a £3 off peak return adult fare. The stadium is approximately 20 minutes walk from there. Waverley station is only a further stop down the line if you wish to go to the city centre. Trains are regular although on Sundays not quite as frequent. The car was therefore safely left in the hotel’s free car park for the duration of our stay. Edinburgh city centre roads are effected by closures and diversions due to the continuing tram works and parking is expensive.

The hotel has only recently opened and everything inside is spic & span. The first thing to greet you at the entrance are a few machines for automatic check-in. Fortunately when our attempt failed there was a member of staff on hand to assist - it would have been easier just to have gone to them in the first place.

Our room #401 on the fourth floor overlooked the railway station. Sound proofing is good however we did hear some trains go past during our stay which is something we personally had not experienced previously at it’s near-neighbour.

We found the room quite spacious and fairly typical of what you’d expect for a Premier Inn décor-wise - plain and simple. Storage is fine and there are tea/coffee making facilities and a flat screen television. The double bed was very comfortable as was the lounge chair. A feature which my wife liked in this new hotel was the mirror with built-in lights and hairdryer alongside for ease of use when getting prepared to go out.

The ensuite had quality fittings and the shower above the bath had good water pressure.

The dining area and bar is tastefully decorated and has a relaxing feel to it. We only had breakfast but found the service here was friendly and attentive. We were welcomed by a local member of staff who explained what was available and quickly obtained our requested porridge which was one of the options to order - it tasted very good. The member of staff frequently checked to see that we were satisfied with everything and had a pleasant professional manner. Needless to say a warm buffet breakfast has its limitations regardless of where you obtain one - and the Premier Inn is no exception. We long for the day when cooked to order returns everywhere! There was a reasonable choice of items and we thought it was a good idea to have the serving spoon containers labelled to avoid cross-contamination of products which happens many places. Self serve ground Costa coffee, a selection of teas and real orange juice were available, as was a toaster.

There is also a Costa Coffee shop within the building however we didn’t visit that on this occasion.

There are no leisure facilities at Premier Inn whereas their near neighbour has a gym, pool and spa facilities on site which are free for guests to use if that‘s something of interest.

We found the staff at the hotel to be friendly, approachable and helpful - and many were Scottish which is a bonus in our eyes.

In summary we would say that the neighbouring hotels have many similarities and we’d happily stay in either. The big decider for us would be which was most favourably priced. On this occasion we obtained a rate of £85.50 for B&B for two adults at Premier Inn which during a Six Nations weekend we felt was reasonable (booked in August 2012, paid on arrival).

Room Tip: Request one on opposite side of the building from the rail tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I live in Edinburgh and needed a place for 5 family member to stay when visiting, This place is perfect, it is right beside Edinburgh Park train station with regular trains in and out of town, The place is spotless and it has a Costa Coffee latched on to the side (also a Whitbread company). The staff really helpful and the Thyme Restaurant had really good grub, you may think this is a business hotel, but it is also the perfect place for a regular traveller who wants a great deal in a quieter part of town. Which is 10 mins train to the city centre. Ideal and a bargain for anyone in town for business or pleasure, Edinburgh Waverley and Haymarket only a few minutes away!

Room Tip: Don't be worried about the nearby train tracks, you cannot hear a thing yet have the convenience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

stayed here recently for a couple nights as working in Edinburgh and found htis hotel to be just as nice as the first time I was there, last May.
check in was very quick and the chap who checked me in was very helpful. I asked for an iron and ironing board and it was bought up to the room which I was happy with. It is a shame they dont have the facility in the room but glad it didnt take a number of phone calls to get this.
didnt have breakfast so unable to comment.
However, a couple of colleagues who stayed with me, did and they enjoyed it.
the hotel does not do room service. I didnt fancy eating in the restaurant as had a really long day and just wanted to eat and ket an early night. You can order the food and they will call you in your room (if you dont want to wait in the bar) and you can collect and take it back to your room. Food is the usual hotel selection and nothing to complain about. I was hungry and it filled me up !!!

there is not much to eat around the hotel from what Isaw, so you may need to get a car or taxi to get into the centre where there are lots more options.
We did venture into the centre on our last night and it cose approx £15 one way.

Check out was very efficient too. There are 4 floors in the hotel and it is a new hotel. Right next to the train station. I believe it was the Edinburgh Park station so it is very convenient.
I would certainly stay here again and would recommend this to others too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie, Scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This new and large Premier Inn on the western outskirts of Edinburgh looks at first sight a little isolated. However, that impression is wrong. It is located next to Edinburgh Park rail station with direct, quick and low cost access to the city centre. In future you will also be able to access the new tram system with connections to the city and airport. There is also plenty of parking with easy access to the A8 and the city bypass via the South Gyle roundabout about 1/2 mile to the north. Beware that this can become very busy during the morning and evening rush hours. A South Gyle you will find the large shopping centre including M&S. The hotel itself is to the standard you would expect of Premier Inn with large clean rooms over 4 floors. Check in done using the ATM style machines but the friendly receptionist was on hand. Access to the lifts is via the door key. My only disappointment was the special dinner and breakfast rate evening meal; the boiled potatoes were uncooked. There is also a Costa Coffee outlet which was closed in the evening.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle)

Address: 1 Lochside Court, Edinburgh EH12 9FX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Hotel located in a fantastic location. Only 10 minutes to Edinburgh Airport & 10 minutes to City Centre on a train, from train station which is located 50yds from the Hotel.There is an integral hotel restaurant, thyme which opens daily from 6-10om for dinner, & there is also a Costa Coffee store within the hotel.Although we do not have leisure facilities, we have a local gym that offers a great price for our guests to use their facilities, which includes a modern gym, gym classes & saunas for all to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.