We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) to your Saves list
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle)
1 Lochside Court, Edinburgh EH12 9FX, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £51
Ranked #10 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Excellent hotel as you would expect from a brand new building. Rooms are clean as is the whole hotel. The train station next door is not a problem as you dont hear it. The staff are excellent from Kelly or Kerry (sorry) at check in to Laura in the restaurant and Jordon in the bar. Those are the few i remember. It is minutes from the city centre by car or the train. All in all an excellent choice of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    223
    51
    8
    8
See reviews for
313
262
25
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thurso, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

finding the hotel [without satnav] was easy excellent location [avoids the city hassle] staff excellent check in efficient nothing was aproblem even when the door keycards decided to stop working the courtesy call is a nice touch the whole family ate inthe restaurant saturday night as it was my grandaughters 2nd birthday the maitre,d made a fuss of her [gracious thankyou] will stay there again as it is a quiet location didn,t even hear the trains and its only minutes from edinburgh centre and all the attractions without the hassles of finding parking

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

29 apr - as per title above a brand new premier on outskirts of edinburgh on a business park so is lovely & quiet. Staff all excellent & attentive even though we only stayed for 2 nights.
Had 3 rooms & we all ate in restaurant on the fri nite. We were late arrivals but even tho restaurant officially stopped serving at 9.45pm the staff happily kept serving us till we finished off with our desserts at 10.45pm & as 2 of our party having birthdays on same night they were given freebie HUGE portion sundaes.
But the very best thing about the hotel is location location location - it has the edinburgh park TRAIN station right outside the front door - no need for expensive taxis into town centre. Just £2.90 fare & trains run several times an hour - that made our sightseeing on saturday so easy.

Room Tip: ALL the rooms are good & quiet as hotel is in a business park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Travelled by train from London for a family long weekend stay. Hotel, rooms, staff and food were all excellent. Restaurant service was a little slow but nothing to be concerned about.

I chose the Premier Inn at The Gyle because I could not find a reasonably priced family hotel in central Edinburgh. The only downside is that the otherwise frequent train service from Edinburgh Park station (directly next door to the hotel) into central Edinburgh had some 40 - 45 minute gaps on a Sunday morning between 0800 - 1100. Otherwise services were frequent and quick into central Edinburgh via Haymarket (5 minutes) and Waverley (7 minutes). A family day return ticket into central Edinburgh for 2 adults and up to 4 children was a very reasonable £5.80.
Also, a tram stop going one way to Edinburgh airport and the other to central Edinburgh and onto Leith is being constructed next to Edinburgh Park rail station. This will make the location even better and travel worries lessen when it is completed in mid 2014.

A great choice if you have young children and are not too worried about venturing out late in Edinburgh after a days sightseeing. We will be returning!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJSmart
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

As others have said, by car this is hideous to find, but I did receive a courtesy call earlier in the day to see if I was okay finding it. I thought I was!

TomTom users, your nav will pick up Lochside Court, but will try to send you in the wrong way. Best to find Edinburgh Parkway station and head for that. Otherwise use the directions from Morissons that are a few reviews down.

The hotel IS spotlessly clean, and has the new automated check in desks which work perfectly well.

My first gripe was the WiFi not working, closely followed by being told to fetch the pizza that was meant to be delivered to the room. Small things, but after a long drive, and the faff of finding it became bigger issues.
If I didn't have a lot of work to do I wouldn't have bothered, to be fair to the helpful lady on reception she was happy to let me work in the meeting room as the WiFi worked in there.
I suggested maybe an alternative room seeing as not all the network was down. This was sorted, new room on the top floor was quiet and clean with working WiFi. Job done.

Breakfast was a buffet type, which is fine as long as someone monitors it and doesn't let things become dried out and soggy. It didn't appear that was done here unfortunately, and now the breakfasts are over 8 quid (with the addition of hash browns?) It starts to look less value for money.

Summary - hotel staff, spot on couldn't fault them.
Restaurant staff - stressed - busy so service suffers.
Hotel condition - perfect
Location - once you find it is very good, and you can't really hear the trains.
Once the maps have caught up, and the initial teething troubles have been worked out it'll be a cracking hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

i stayed here on business, first we have the good things about the hotel, its location is excellent, the town centre is just minutes away on the train ( the train station is next door). It also has a Costa coffee attatched and has some very up to date check in services. the reception staff were excellent on arrival and even were still able to deal with requests day or night.

Now the bad things- we waited a very long time in their thyme restaurant between starter and main, and didnt stay for dessert just because of this. The service provided was average due to staff being stressed about the restuarant being busy. This definatly made the expierence put on a bad note. But the restaurant manager made our night, Ritchie was proffesional and sympathetic which was a nice touch. He obviously had realised the staff were stressed as it was new staff in the morning, a spanish man and a guy with glasses, made us feel like friends rather than just guests. very nicely done Ritchie.

I will be back because of managment and breakfast team. hopefully without waiting for courses.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed here with my family and a family of friends for easter and what a great experience we had! Dont be put off with how hard it is to find, its a brand new building so its gonna have some teathing with directions but we found it no problem.

On arrival we could see straight awayhow fresh and vibrant this hotel was. The staff, particulary hanne were most helpful on check in.

The rooms were spotless and the beds were so comfy! I find it hard to sleep in other places but this was not a problem here!

This premier inn is not your average and the staff go above and beyond their job roles to make sure of that. They really did make the hotel what it is. Theres a few worth a mention and a look out for. Alex, the chap who seated us was very friendly and knew what he was doing. he was great with us and the kids. Richie (i think a manager) also made chat with us and gave the kids some nachos to keep them going until the food came. Debbie the girl that served us (every night) was very genuine and remembered us each time asking how our days were and what we had been up to. She actually took an interest in us and the kids, very nice touch!

The food in this hotel is great! Theres never a long wait and its always very tasty, including breakfast. Go for the meal deal - 3 course dinner and a drink and an all you can eat breakfast in the morning! We loved our server there, Angel he was adorable! Debbie was on breakfast one morning too much to my 10 year old sons delight! We had an amazing time and theres not one single fault witht his hotel. The staff made our stay and we will be back in summer hoping to see them all again. Thank you all for a great weekend!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle)

Address: 1 Lochside Court, Edinburgh EH12 9FX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Hotel located in a fantastic location. Only 10 minutes to Edinburgh Airport & 10 minutes to City Centre on a train, from train station which is located 50yds from the Hotel.There is an integral hotel restaurant, thyme which opens daily from 6-10om for dinner, & there is also a Costa Coffee store within the hotel.Although we do not have leisure facilities, we have a local gym that offers a great price for our guests to use their facilities, which includes a modern gym, gym classes & saunas for all to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle) Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Edinburgh Park (The Gyle), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.