We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downgraded then refused a refund (but charged for drinks)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Edinburgh

Save Saved
You added Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Edinburgh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 York Buildings, Queen Street, Edinburgh EH2 1HY, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Downgraded then refused a refund (but charged for drinks)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was telephoned and told that I would be downgraded from a two-bedroom to a one-bedroom apartment. I was told that I would receive 'compensation'. This turned out to be no more than the difference in price between the 2-bedroom and 1-bedroom apartment. Hotel refused to refund to give me my compensation and over 2-weeks later, I still have not received it. I was, however, required to pay my £11 drinks bill on the spot.



Reception is often empty. Lift didn't work for 24-hours. Wifi was a very poor signal so often didn't work (majority of the time).

Cleaning is only once a week.

Good location and nice views from the apartment. Nice beds. Be prepared for basic service and poor management.

Room Tip: Corner two-bedroom apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRainbowApart, General Manager at Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Posthoc1,

I am very sorry to hear your stay was less than brilliant. I hope you have now received your refund, if not please do contact our Head Office so this can be rectified.

As of October 2013 there is a new Management team overseeing the Edinburgh apartments, which you will see the benefit of if you were to stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    158
    38
    17
    22
See reviews for
119
150
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had a great stay. Not luxurious but clean, spacious and comfortable and very well located. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend as a place to stay in Edinburgh and would stay there again. We were impressed with the amount of space we had and liked having our own kitchen even if the only thing we made was Martinis!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRainbowApart, General Manager at Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
This is a wonderful review Maggie. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, our facilities and the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here on the 05/09/13 in the penthouse, it was for my birthday and I had stayed before but in the executive apartments. The penthouse was lovely but one of the sinks in one of the bathrooms was cracked. The rooms were lovely and clean and the views from the apartment were gorgeous. Cereal, bread and butter and milk, tea and coffee were provided for us. What let it down was the call from reception to say we were late checking out as I had booked a late checkout. On phoning reception back was told as long as you have paid???? At that point the cleaner walked in, saw us there and said "oh s...t" and walked out. We reported this to reception who said oh she didn't mean it. Think the staff need a lesson in how to deal with the public. There was no apology from the cleaner or the receptionist, but this was the only disappointment.

Room Tip: The penthouse rooms were very comfortable, didn't hear any noise from the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRainbowApart, General Manager at Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Rosie,

Thank you for your response. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in the main and would like to pass on our apologies on behalf of the housekeeper and receptionist.

Following the change of Management I can confirm the sink in the Penthouse has been replaced and we have a new cleaning team. This should result in a perfect stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Mary Bourne
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment for 4 nights during the fringe. Great location but strangely not that easy to find! Having said that location is good for the sights, rooms were spacious and reasonably equipped. They were very keen to have you sign the T&Cs which had some fairly ridiculous penalty charges for damages you may cause to the apartment. When we got in there there was (of course) a whole list of damages already occurred. Being in insurance I made a list and went off downstairs to report these, they told me the apartments were due for refurbishment and it did not matter as we would not be billed for anything - slightly frustrating. No on site coffee available, as advertised. Internet worked well as did TV.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRainbowApart, General Manager at Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Mike,

We do publish a list of replacement cost, this is in the interest of transparency for that small minority of guest who cause malicious damage to our property.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location, apartments and amenities. Coffee should have been in your apartment on arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have just returned from a bank holiday weekend stay at this hotel and would certainly return if my pockets would allow. It's a great central location to explore Edinburgh and all the key sites, particularly during the Fringe and Arts festival, which are a walkable distance.

The apartment was more than spacious with a hallway, two bedrooms, a bathroom, living room/kitchen area. I was told on check-out that it was one of the smaller apartments which is amazing in my mind as it was really big. We quickly fell into the habit of referring to it as home as it really did feel like a home from home where we could cook breakfast, lounge on the sofas after a day out exploring watching TV and get a fantastic sleep on one of the best beds I have ever laid on.

They were very clean and well maintained and despite the odd nicks here and there I certainly felt like I had not been scammed considering it was approx £150 per night for the room. At the end we even took pics of the place to use as inspiration for our upcoming flat redecoration.

Finally the staff were very amenable and helpful - providing us with guidance to our various questions etc. The only thing that I would say is that beware you will have to pay a £100 deposit upon check-in, something I had no idea about when I booked via ebookers. Also, as the card I had booked with had been replaced with another card we spent about 20 minutes after a six hour train journey having a staff member refund money onto my old card and charge me again for the payment for my stay on my new one - even though I had booked months ago and already paid - as the person who checked me in said I had to pay my £100 deposit with the same credit card I had booked my hotel stay on!? Bit odd but was exhausted so didn't bother to argue. Luckily had brought my credit card to do this, if I hadn't or it had been maxed out I wonder if I would've been refused check-in despite paying?!

Overall it was a nice stay and whilst very expensive think, considering that Edinburgh has a very expensive hotel rate, that we got a nice little taste of luxury to our stay and from now on will look for similar - but hopefully cheaper! - accommodation when I go on holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRainbowApart, General Manager at Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for a fabulous review.

We are glad you were able to relax in comfort during your stay and made the most of the kitchen facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Clean, comfortable, well furnished apartment. Excellent location and we were able to walk everywhere. Stuart at the reception desk was very helpful in guiding us on where to go and what to see. The only downfall is there is no a/c, which is common in all of Edinburgh, so windows were open at night and it would get a bit noisy when the bars let out. Within a few blocks there are countless restaurants, bars, bistro's and shops ,a nice grocery store and a health food store. About a mile walk to the old city and the castle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRainbowApart, General Manager at Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review Kimberly.

We have passed your lovely feedback on to Stuart, who is a great concierge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. If you were to return ask for a garden view room which is away from the street so would provide a quieter night if you have the windows open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel/apartment was the ideal place to stay as a family and to explore everything that the city had to offer on terms of historical buildings and visually stunning vistas. Most of the touristic sites were within walking distance and the choice for meals was abundant and good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRainbowApart, General Manager at Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review, we are glad to hear you and your family had a great stay with ourselves and enjoyed your time in Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Edinburgh

Address: 2 York Buildings, Queen Street, Edinburgh EH2 1HY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Edinburgh 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Garden Apartments is Edinburgh's best located Aparthotel, offering a fantastic base from which to conduct both business and pleasure. Choose from spacious one and two bedroom apartments with a lounge/dining area, kitchen and en-suite bathrooms, or one of our two penthouse apartments each with its own balcony, perfect for a family or romantic break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Apartments Edinburgh
Royal Garden Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.