We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Coffee Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cramond Falls Cafe

Cramond Falls Cafe
10 School Brae, Edinburgh, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 1,826 restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Scotland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Welcome Coffee Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After a long hike down the River Almond this place was a welcome find. Delicious home-made, piping hot scones had just been freshly baked and brought into the cafe. A log fire was burning in a cast iron stove; interesting decor surrounded us - and the cappucinos, accompanying the scones, went down a treat. We didn't stop for lunch (although the lentil and lavender soup looked interesting!) We'll be back. We bought our sustenance at the entrance servery and carried into the indoor seating area- so we didn't really experience any 'service'. The coffee maker was 'foreign' - and not that welcoming but the female 'owner' was very pleasant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    201
    62
    6
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect place for baby's first outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

After deciding to take a trip to the Falls Cafe with our newborn son, we were very impressed with the extra service we received.
As I'm recovering from a c section, the owner and her daughter helped my husband to carry the pram through to the warmer room (even though we were happy to stay in the first room, we were more comfortable once we'd moved) and they carried our food and drinks through too.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not consistent in service/food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Maybe I am unlucky but I had a previous poor experience at this cafe, but thought I would give it another try based on the reviews, however this visit was as poor as previous visit. Very slow service, expensive for quality of food and drinks and tables dirty, sticky and in need of a good clean!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elaine s, Owner at Cramond Falls Cafe, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi,
I remember your last visit and your terrible review
You were served very fast last time and its not the end of the world that chutney was missed out
remember it is a 5 pound meal we are talking about
I disagree with you about our tables as we were recovering 50 of them yesterday with new covers
I had wiped down all the tables twice or three times
We pride ourselves with fast service and very good service
We serve 100"s of people every week with no complaint
If you think I am expensive vote with your feet I understand fully
I would rather serve people who enjoy the cafe than people who hate it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“mmmm fabulous cake and coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I recently stopped here for a coffee as part of a sunday hike. It's a fabulous cafe selling delicious home make cakes and wonderful coffee. It's larger than you think with an indoor and outdoor seating area and a fabulous selection of sweet and savoury offerings. The setting is idylic - right on the water front and yet sheltered from the elements. I woudl high;ly recommend you stop by the next time you take a walk in Crammond. It's a ideal place to stop and smell the roses... and induldge in a piece of delicious homebaking ...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“AN OASIS ON THE RIVER ALMOND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The reason and driver that motivates our family to take a wander along the River Almond; knowing that there is the 'deliciousness' of the 'Cramond Falls Cafe' at the end of our daddy walk! If you're a chocoholic the hot chocolate with the works is a must; and the rocky road is amazing...infact, all of the home baking is brill!! Thanks to all at Cramond Falls Cafe!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cramond Falls Cafe also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cramond Falls Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cramond Falls Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.