We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cramond Falls Cafe

Cramond Falls Cafe
10 School Brae, Edinburgh, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 143 Coffee & Tea in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

What a lovely discovery a couple of weekends ago. Must go back in the summer when I expect the outdoor areas are adorable :-)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    88
    10
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“cafe experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

what a super welcome we received on a cold day whilst walking our dog with my wife and daughter.Elaine the owner invited us for a warm by the fire and we had super coffee and chees scones - definately on our next walk we shall call again !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great character & coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Well worth making the effort to find this cosy cafe beside the River Almond. Perfect antidote to the manufactured experience of international chains - quirky fittings, fantastic outlook, a personal welcome, great scones and coffee ... what more could you ask for!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fine if you want to eat indoors with other people's dirty dogs running around unrestrained.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We popped in here for a quick coffee and cake as we have a few times before..... This will probably be the last time we go as other customers were allowed to bring their dirty wet dogs into the indoor dining area and let them roam around unchecked while we ate. The single toilet provided for all customers had only a damp communal hand towel for drying your hands which was also pretty disgusting.

On previous visits we've found the place a bit quirky but not unpleasant. On one occasion the place was strewn with the owners washing (sheets, towels etc) as it had been hung around the indoor dining area to dry. On another visit the owner was sat across the room arranging some sort of "therapy" session in great detail with a prospective client over the phone....

While it's nice to have a relaxed atmosphere, I do feel that the hippy ethos has maybe gone a little far now and letting dirty animals in amongst paying customers is one step too far.

Pity. The coffee is decent, as are the cakes.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elaine s, Owner at Cramond Falls Cafe, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I am sorry you were not happy on your 3 rd visit with us
We have a dedicated room which is for dogs which is reached through the lounge
Unfortunately some people dont realise and stay in the lounge
Also if dogs are wet we ask people to stay outside in the garden with them.

Being a Listed building we have been waitng 5 years for permission to build 3 new toilets
The hand towels are checked and are fresh each day
I dont want to use paper towels as being
a HIppy I want to be as green as possible.
However we are fitting a hand dryer.

I ask every table if everything is ok I am sure you said yes
I wish you had the courage to talk face to face and I could have made your time more enjoyable
but I have to accept that you dont enjoy the relaxed and homely feel of Cramond Falls
Thanks again for your comments as it can only helpus provide even better service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Chanced upon this quirky place during a wintery outing on the bike and being just a short detour from route 76 it was a most welcome discovery! Great coffee, delicious homemade scones and a log burner by which to warm the feet. All in all a gem of a place with very friendly staff and a warm and welcoming atmosphere, will certainly be visiting again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cramond Falls Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cramond Falls Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cramond Falls Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.