We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murrayfield Stadium

Murrayfield Stadium
Edinburgh EH12 5PJ, Scotland
+44(0)131 346 5250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 156 Attractions in Edinburgh
Type: Convention Centers, Sports Complexes, Other
Attraction details
Great Cumbrae, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I have been to the rugby many times at murrayfield. It is a great day out. The last time I was there they had flyovers by the RAF, assailing the ball in to the ground, the red hot chilli pipers, pipe bands , stalls and much more. I convinced my wife to go to a game and after such a great experience we try and go very time we can. There I only to things that are not good the price and it is always cold you MUST wrap up warm.

Murrayfield for the rugby is a must. But be warned you will be hooked and want to go back over and over!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    39
    5
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Been here many times - rugby, concerts, parties. Facilities are good - plenty of toilets and very clean. Having been there as part of a corporate dinner I can say the food was very good and came out quickly and hot.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“murrayfield stadium tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Two adults and 2 rugby playing teenagers. What a experience. Over in edinburgh to see leinster play edinburgh at murrayfield. Decided to do tour on the day of the match. Our tour guide was Sergio. A fab asset to murrayfield stadium. We were the only people on the tour that day but Sergio had loads of patience with us taking photos, asking questions etc. Would highly recommend this tour for rugby fans. U get to see all the behind the scenes areas only accessible to the priviledged few. Very reasonable cost. A lovely way to while away a few hours. Very good rugby shop at the stadium also. Other jerseys available other than scotland and edinburgh

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Xmas party nite”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Had works night out on the 1st .
The place is so so overpriced.
The meal was sparce to say the least,enough to feed a child.
Drinks where shockingly expensive.
The layout is dreadful, a very small dance floor set in the middle as you enter, then at each end a long,long corridor to your table.

Due to the poor layout, the venue is very impersonal,with bright lighting,and a strange atmosphere,almost as if people couldn't settle.
We arrived at 7, and I seen loads leave before 11,
This could be a good night out,if drink prices where reasonable for one and there was better choice of food and quantity, to give you an idea.....1 small roast potato, a slice of turkey with stuffing in middle, 1 Brussel sprout,1 small bit of carrot. Pudding was a mouse, with smidge of cream....
A bottle of wine 20 quid....
We will be going somewhere else next year...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“An atmosphere you'd struggle to match!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

First things first - when it comes to rugby, I'm England fan. So this review is completely neutral (wouldn't be able to write it "neutrally" following any of the previous visits, when I came up for England's 6 Nations away matches) and if you are looking for one amazing experience relating to sport, you should try Murrayfield for Scotland international game.

We went up for All Black's game and yes, the weather was kind. I don't remember it being kind many many times before during 6 nations (usually February or March), but whilst it was cold, the sky was lovely blue. The atmosphere at the stadium itself is just amazing, it was good to see Red Hot Chilli Pipers do their stuff again and there is just something about the last verse of Flower of Scotland being sung by tens of thousands A capella (us included - we brushed up on words in advance :) that makes the hair at the back of your neck stand up. Haka was a poor match for this. Shame about the result, but a very good effort against what really currently is an out of this world quality team.

The only reason Murrayfield does not get 5* is because as anyone that's ever been to Twickenham will vouch, HQ just ridiculously spoils the visitors, for what seems miles around the grounds too. The bars are just a tad too limited (and why, oh why, do they think nobody WOULD drink champagne...?) as are food options, the toilets (for girls, at least) are just a tad too spaced apart and there isn't much to buy for those not so lucky to have made it to the game. In any case, we have Scotland at home in 2013, but 6 Nations 2014 will definitely see me back!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murrayfield Stadium also viewed

 

Been to Murrayfield Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murrayfield Stadium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.