We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the festival” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holyrood apartHOTEL

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holyrood apartHOTEL to your Saves list
Holyrood apartHOTEL
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland (Castle / Royal Mile / High St)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Greetham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great location for the festival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

This two bedroom apartment was perfect for us and our two teenage grandchildren, while at the festival for five days. it was central and comfortable. The Tesco round the corner was perfect for breakfast needs and we were out the rest of the day.

Yes, the water system is noisy and odd, as previously mentioned, but it did not really cause any problem for us. The street noise from morning dustcarts was audible but again we were already awake and nothing stirs a teenager!

Having two bathrooms made it all so much nicer! And the housekeeping was excellent. We returned each evening to a clean flat with fresh towels and made beds. I would definitely recommend this accommodation for a family. Free wifi would have been nice though.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your high rating of our apartments. I am more than happy to see that our facilities and amenities were up to you standard and that you had a comfortable stay with your grandchildren. Please be sure I will pass your comments about house keeping to the rest of our team. Thank you for finding us recommendation worthy and please note that we do provide free wifi if you book directly with the hotel via: http://www.holyroodaparthotel.com/
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    207
    40
    14
    10
See reviews for
238
147
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We were so lucky to find this wonderful hotel - for our night in Edinburgh. The apartment was clean, modern and situated in a superb location. Loved it - will definitely stay there again when visiting Edinburgh. Staff were delightful - and so helpful.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Gary,

Thank you for your high rating and recent review of our serviced apartments. We do hope you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This hotel is well located, a stone's throw from the Royal Mile, and easy walking distance to Holyrood Palace and the Scottish Parliament house. It is well furnished and equipped, with a full kitchen and with some 2 bedroom units is ideal for families. It is less suitable for senior citizens with mobility problems, being located on a slope. Unless they occupy the 'ground-level units, they will also have deal with many fire doors along the corridors as they move luggage to and from their rooms.

Room Tip: Senior citizens should ask for rooms at the reception level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your recent review of our Holyrood apartHotel. It is great to see that you found our location and amenities suitable to your needs. We do hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed in a studio room for 8 nights in early July and the place certainly ticked all the boxes. Location is good with most major attractions and plenty of places to eat within walking distance. Good quality shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion is provided so you need not bother wasting luggage space & weight on those items. For those of you who like face cloths, you will need to bring your own. The coffee that is provided is instant (there is no coffee maker, just a kettle) but there is a Starbucks just down the Royal Mile (take a right when exiting Bakehouse Close) if need be. There is no dresser in the room and the closet is really tiny (can only hang 6-8 items) so be prepared to live out of your suitcase. Wi-Fi is charged per device and is on the expensive side but there is a computer and printer for guest use in the lobby area which may be a better option for many.

A couple of issues: We arrived early in the morning way before check-in and stored our bags in the luggage room/closet which was great. However, this space is not locked & is away from the sight lines of the front desk staff which isn't so great. The washing machine was missing its door and after a number of days when we were needing to run a load we reported this to the front desk and the machine was replaced the next day. However, in the name of customer service we probably should have been told upon check-in that the machine was out of order and would be fixed by such in such a day instead of having to call down ourselves. A light was out over the vanity in the washroom and stayed that way for 8 days. None of these issues however are big enough to prevent me from staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Last minute booking at 4pm for the night and all went really smoothly.
Studio apartment was clean and very comfortable. Nice touch of a breakfast with cereals, loaf of bread etc. great location and will def use again. Polite and professional staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your great feedback about our accommodation and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Agree with previous reviewers. We were there in the midst of summer tourism for a family reunion. Couldn't have been a better fit for us. Different sizes of rooms and mini apartments. Clean, comfortable and a very helpful staff. Parking area was small but secure. Excellent value which was a major plus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Dorothy,

Thank you for your high rating of our Holyrood Aparthotel. I am extremely happy that our apartments were suitable to you and your family and that you find our accommodation recommendation worthy. I do hope that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Well located accommodation, after finding short-cut to Royal Mile. Apartment well stocked with necessities. Very convenient late-night store and breakfast/lunch restaurant and for the evening two very good restaurants close by. Lovely long walks around Holyrood Park. Wi-Fi not great hence 1 star dropped, but staff helpful and accommodation clean. First visit to Edinburgh and I loved it! Everything I imagined and more - stunning views from castle and good shopping. Would recommend highly and would visit again using same accommodation.

Room Tip: No great views from windows due to being located up side road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Janet,

Thank you for your high rating of our serviced apartments. It is a great pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and that you favour our location and apartments. Like you have pointed out there are multiple restaurants near the apartments should you choose not to cook in our apartments. If you seek recommendations about Edinburgh's restaurants please ask at the reception for a special leaflet pointing out culinary hidden gems in our beautiful city.
Thank you once again for your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holyrood apartHOTEL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.