We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holyrood apartHOTEL

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holyrood apartHOTEL to your Saves list
Holyrood apartHOTEL
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This would be a great home base while visiting Edinburgh and area. We only stayed two nights but found we could walk to everything. The front desk staff were very helpful. You are very close to the hop on hop off bus stop. Waverly rail station is nearby. I would recommend this aparthotel to everyone!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your high rating of the Holyrood Aparthotel. It is with great pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you find our property recommendation worthy. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    220
    44
    16
    10
See reviews for
249
154
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Ok, fast review. Rooms spacious and clean, restaurants and a Tesco's metro really close. Secure parking for £15 a night. Cheapest to book direct. Perfect base, not Central Edinburgh as in a long walk but access is easy. Cannot fault it for being exactly what it portrays itself as. If you want a base rather than an experience, go for it. I am a bit fussy but would not hesitate to go again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Marcus,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is great to see that you find out apartments recommendation worthy and that you would choose to stay with us again. Like you have mentioned the best rate can be found when you book directly with the hotel also with added extras like free Wifi. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We went in this hotel for our week stay in Scotland, we really loved apartment where we had a great time and for sure we will be back very soon easy to park and everything are so close to hotel, very friendly staffs, easy to check in and out, I like to recommend this hotel apartment to all!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your great review, I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recommending our apartments and we do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Thank you Holyrood Aparthotel as you made our 30th anniversary celebration very memorable. Husband and I were first time travelers to the UK, This location became our Home for 4 nights. The location is excellent for travel. Near Waverly rail station , right off the ‘Royal Mile”, next to Holyrood Castle ,and adjacent to student housing .

We appreciated the breakfast arrival supplies, and did make use of the Tesco location behind the Aparthotel. After 2+ weeks of travel, the washer/dryer laundry was helpful, but think more detailed- visual instructions would be helpful for so many people. Kitchen cooking equipment was more than expected. The extra space with couch was welcomed too. All our expectations were met.

Explore the neighborhoods, walk and discover, but a grand ‘Thank You “ to the Holyrood Aparthotel for our introduction to Edinburgh

Room Tip: If you need to print out flight boarding tickets , a computer and printer is available next to recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of our serviced apartments in Edinburgh. It is with pleasure to hear that you've found our apartments up to your standards and that we could be your host in Edinburgh for your anniversary. Thank you for praising our location and please note that we have taken into consideration your suggestion about the visual instructions for the washing machine and and dryer.
We are very grateful for your review and we would like to say grand 'Thank you' for choosing us and finding us recommendation worthy. We hope we will welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Met all of our expectations - great check in - lovely service - nothing was too much trouble - noises ground floor but funny CRAC at 4am - right on royal mile - tesco round the corner - good takeaways 5mins away - we will be back - have stayed in many 5 star hotels in Edinburgh centre - this was better on all fronts - well done all :0)

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated. I am more than happy to see that our staff and apartments exceeded your expectations. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you on your future visits to Edinburgh.

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was a very "corporate" style apartment hotel. It was well equipped and serviced daily. It was much bigger than I expected, but it was also more expensive than I planned. It turned out to be a luxury for the end of our trip. Wifi was an extra cost and my back up plan to use starbucks a few doors down didn't work out because reception there was terrible. It was a problem because I needed to check in for flights. I was able to use lobby computer.

Room Tip: I enjoyed using the stairs rather than wait for the elevator, so I would choose 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We were booked here by a travel agency that required land in order to give the airfare deal, so the price was higher than I would have chosen ... But the location just off the Royal Mile made it a breeze to economize with a lunch or dinner at home. If bed layout is important call in advance - both of our rooms had 2 single beds. Combo washer/dryer was nice once we figured it out. Living area was comfy. Charge for wifi per unit was too high so we waited to go to the restaurant down the alley. All in all, this was WAY better than being in two hotel rooms, as we could all be together in a nice homey environment. The location also meant we could walk anywhere along the Royal Mile - Castle, Palace, Arthur's Seat, Parliament (weekday debates were great!) ... Save bus fare for trips farther afar. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our apartments near Holyrood Palace. It is great to hear that you appreciate the location and the facilities in our apartments. I would like to point out that we only charge for Wifi if you have booked our rooms not on our website or through a travel agent. When you book directly with the hotel you are guaranteed the best available rate and no wifi charge.
It is the biggest compliment when guests mention they would stay with us again, hence many thanks to you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holyrood apartHOTEL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.