We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A best bet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holyrood apartHOTEL

Save Saved
You added Holyrood apartHOTEL to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holyrood apartHOTEL
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland (Castle / Royal Mile / High St)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Big Lake, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A best bet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Nothing beats booking an apartment rather than a hotel room, particularly if you need to book multiple rooms. This apartment was clean and spacious, with a hardwood floor in the living area and view of Salisbury Crags. It came complete with dishes, towels and linens, and even coffee and tea with a container of milk in the fridge. And unlike some other apartments I have booked, it had daily maid service. Some of the utilities took a bit of time to figure out (like having to turn on the hot water for showers outside the bathroom door) but once figured out, it became second nature. The combined washer/dryer for laundry didn't really dry, but we hear that this is typical. Conveniently located one block from the Starbuck's at the lower end of the Royal Mile. I can't say enough good things about this place!

Room Tip: The two bedroom two bath facing the Crags was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    319
    193
    37
    13
    10
See reviews for
228
137
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I was really impressed with these apartments and the facilities they offered. They were spacious enough for the four of us with two bedrooms and bathrooms. The apartments have everything you need and extras included for breakfast, tea, coffee & juice etc. We were in an executive room on the 5th floor which was quiet and out of the way of people coming and going. My ONLY negative comment was the creaking of the doors and floor boards. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The house keeping staff deserve a mention as these rooms and the whole place was immaculate.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor as you won't get any noise from below as our floors were very creaky as were t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for your recent review of Holyrood apartHOTEL. It is with pleasure to hear that our serviced apartments met your expectations and you had a positive stay with us. We have noted your remarks about our floors and I would like to assure you that we are working on this issue.
We are glad to hear that our house keeping and reception staff added to a memorable visit to Edinburgh. Please be sure that all your comments will be shared with the rest of our team.

We are looking forward to welcoming on your next visit to Scotland's capital.

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The apartment was excellent- equipped with everything you could need, would be perfect for someone travelling with kids. It's located about a 10 minute walk from the centre of Edinburgh. Would definitely recommend and will be staying here again.

The only downside and the reason for only 4 stars is the lady who checked us out on the Sunday morning, she was incredibly rude. The rest of the staff were great- friendly, polite and very helpful. It's a shame one member of staff can let the whole team down.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback and we are very glad to hear that you praise the perfect location and our fully equipped apartments.
We would like to apologise for the check out service that you have received and to assure you that this is not typical for our reception staff. We hope that this incident will not change your mind about staying at Holyrood apartHOTEL in the future.
Looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Edinburgh and hoping we can prove our high standard of hospitality next time.

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

These apartments were perfect for our hen weekend. Clean, comfortable, great location. Staff very friendly, nothing was a problem. Beds very comfortable and kitchens really well equipped (dishwasher, washing machine etc). Tea bags, coffee, sugar, milk provided which I thought was a lovely touch! Will def recommend to friends for future visits!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We really appreciated this flat, especially because it was spacious, modern and well equipped with everything you may need for a short or even longer stay, including dish washer, microwave and washing machine. There were two bedrooms and even two bathrooms, one with a bath tub and another one with a shower. The room service cleaned and changed the towels every day. Furthermore, the location was also very good, just a few steps from the Royal Mile but nevertheless very quiet.

The only thing we didn't like was the flush of both toilets; they both needed quite a long time to get filled up again after flushing.

All in all we can really recommend both the apart hotel and the city of Edinburgh!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, Daegu, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed 4 nights in May 2013. I enjoyed the stay in Edinburgh very much.
The location is a little off the Royal mile, so the first day I had difficulties to find this hotel.
I had to make several phone call to get some information about the location but the old, male staff was not very helpful.
You have to find the small 'close' (i forgot the name) which is just next to Starbucks coffee shop,
just 1 minute walk will lead u to this cosy and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

If you like to have an apartment rather than a hotel room, then this will be a great choice for the city of Edinburgh. It is just off the Royal Mile, and within a 10 min walk from Waverley Station and 20 mins up the hill to the castle. The location may be tricky for some to find, however check it out on the map before travelling and then you shouldn't have too much trouble. We had the Penthouse 2 bedroom apartment, which is big enough for 4 people, and makes for a great hangout with a fully fitted kitchen, 2 bathrooms and a large lounge and dinning area. I recommend it for families, friends on holiday, or for a couple looking for somewhere nice to chill out.

Room Tip: It was my birthday, so in the booking I asked for something nice... that (I cannot guarantee) meant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Castle / Royal Mile / High St , Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holyrood apartHOTEL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.