We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holyrood apartHOTEL

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holyrood apartHOTEL to your Saves list
Holyrood apartHOTEL
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Melbourne
2 reviews
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Had a lovely time staying here. Perfect for our needs (apartment rather than a hotel room) and its location is well within walking distance of the Castle and Princes St for all the shopping. It is also right on the doorstep of the sights and sounds of the Royal Mile where the choice of restaurants, cafe's and pubs is very extensive.
The Aparthotel itself is very clean, comes with all kitchen utilities (apart from wine glasses for some reason, if they were there, I couldn't see them). But coffee, tea, sugar and fresh milk was provided on arrival.
There is a carpark which comes at 10 pounds per night which I think is reasonable considering that car parking in Edinburgh appears to be at a premium. The car park is small so can imagine at peak season, or festival time it would be full. However parking can be reserved on booking.
Overall, if I ever come back to Edinburgh I would be looking to come back so no more to be said, very satisfied with the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Many thanks to this guest for a super review of the Holyrood Aparthotel and I am glad to read they will be coming back to us at some point. When they do -and for the benefit of future guests - they will find the wine glasses in the sideboard unit in the lounge (under the TV).
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    220
    45
    16
    10
See reviews for
250
154
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hotel: location is close enough to castle and main streets to walk to unless you are handicapped. We took a bus from the airport, but then had to hike quite a ways with our luggage. Might be best to take a cab from the airport if you have lots of things to carry.

Check in is 2pm but our flight put us at the hotel at 10. We were so jet lagged and tired that we would have slept on the floor, but no rooms were ready, so we left our bags and walked around until we couldn't function anymore. The attendant (Jess I think) was really kind and managed to let us check in by noon so we could go to bed. The lobby has a computer and printer if you need it. There wasn't any wifi, but I had full internet service through my cell enabled ipad and our phones. We made a few local calls and the fee was super reasonable. 2 of us checked out before the other 3 and it was a very easy process.

We had a double/double with a fold out sofa for a 5th guest. The 2 bathrooms were nice and there was plenty of hot water. The beds were hard as rocks, but I think that's the euro standard and something Americans might not be used to. The kitchen had a mini fridge, washer/dryer combo, and dishwasher. There was a tea kettle and they stocked the kitchen with black tea and sugar. There was a lot of outside noise- seagulls, people yelling from the festival and tattoo, but I had earplugs and was fine. There was a little mouse in the kitchen, but the staff responded immediately and I'm sure that wont be the case for the next people. The rooms are a bit like college dorm living with fire doors and separation.

There is a tesco express right around the corner as well as the Queen's Museum, plenty of pubs, shops, a Starbucks, etc.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify double/double vs single/single for 2 bedrooms and confirm before arriving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
A smashing review of the Holyrood Aparthotel - much appreciated!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed in this place for 3 nihts.
We had a great stay,the apartment is clean,in Old Town,at the beginning of Cannongate street,3 minutes walk from the centre,and 15 from the Castle.
Edinburgh is a nice place for walk,and this is the perfect place in which you can begin your Edinburgh walking tour

Room Tip: Ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Location difficult to find initially. Superb facility only marred by lack of air-con. That meant windows needed to be open and noise was a problem at night. High prices reflect Festival demand - same everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
A superb review and my thanks to this reviewer for their warm words on the Holyrood Aparthotel. Please note that we do indeed have some rooms with air conditioning - just make a request with us at the time of booking to see if one is available/suitable.

Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked a number of rooms here for the week of my wedding and our room was supposed to be a superior suite. We paid extra for this room but after seeing our other guests rooms we were pushed to figure out why our room was supposed to be more superior. It was a nice apartment, but the master bedroom was tiny and it was a struggle to get around the bed.Also, the living room was much smaller. In the end we aasked to me moved to a normal apartment and were much happier and did get a refund for the difference. The staff seemed to struggle with the amount of questions/complaints by other guests, maybe that is something that could be worked on. I would stay here again but it would not be my first choice. It is ideal for families who are self catering and is in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Many thanks for the positive review for the Holyrood Aparthotel, but I must point out we do not have superior suites nor do we sell any as such. We do have Executive Apartments on the top floor which are not sold because of their size, although our Penthouse is larger than the rest, but because they come with an executive package; bathrobes, fruit, mineral water, free car parking and much more.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Perfectly good for a visit to Edinburgh during the Fringe and as a family we were glad of separate rooms and the washing machine.

The place was clean and the location could not have been better (out of the hotel, left, under and arch and straight onto the Royal Mile).

There is a charge for WIFI which seems churlish and the bins can be noisy in the morning, but then you are in a city. The seagulls were worse to be honest! The staff were fairly apathetic and seemed surprised when I asked for Fringe information (even though we stayed during the Festival).

Room Tip: Care with ground floor rooms - pedestrians can look straight in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
A great review for the Holyrood Aparthotel and my thanks to this reviewer - but I was sorry to hear you were disturbed by the seagulls - one of the disadvantages of living so near to the sea.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tain, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Three generations shared 2 apartments which were well appointed. The kitchens had everything we needed including dishwasher and washing machine powders and plenty tea, coffee, milk and sugar which was a bonus. Super location within walking distance as we were in Edinburgh for the Military Tattoo. Our two young grandchildren were delighted with it all and enjoyed the DVDs from reception. The staff were so helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
A superb review for the Holyrood Aparthotel - many, many thanks!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holyrood apartHOTEL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.