We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, convenient place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holyrood apartHOTEL

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holyrood apartHOTEL to your Saves list
Holyrood apartHOTEL
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland (Castle / Royal Mile / High St)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Birmingham, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, convenient place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We really appreciated having a separate living room and kitchen to call home during our several day stay in Edinburgh. There is a grocery store close by and we enjoyed sandwiches at the Foodies at Holyrood just around the corner as well as their wonderful scones for breakfast . The location of Holyrood ApartHotel is very central if you don’t mind a bit of uphill walking and we liked that the location near Holyrood Palace was on the quieter end of the Royal Mile. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The only negative was remembering to turn on the kitchen fan before making toast so the fire alarm didn’t go off.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
A super review - glad to read this guest had such a good time in Edinburgh, and at the Old Waverley Hotel. Many thanks to them for sharing their experiences..
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    207
    40
    14
    10
See reviews for
238
146
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Booked here because of good reviews on TA but ended up disappointed with the quality of service. Rooms are okay - clean enough but they have creaky floors and get really hot (no fans or air conditioning, and the windows have no screens so the bugs come in, nevermind all the noise from the street and back lot, where the garbage trucks are in the morning). The hotel is in a great location, right off the Royal Mile and a 10-15 minute walk from the North Bridge.

Several people at the front desk were incredibly unhelpful and could not provide any assistance when there was a problem. For example, they overbooked the parking lot and left those without spaces to fend for themselves (in a city with limited parking in the area). Another guest had no hot water but was not allowed to switch rooms, and the water was never fixed.

The front desk had no idea how to manage multiple parties at the front desk at one time -- I was first in line but somehow the two parties after me were seen to before I could finish checking out.

If you get lucky and have no problems with your room or reservation, then this hotel would be fine. But if there are any kinks, the problem won't be fixed. There are so many other options in the city, so I wouldn't waste your time or money on booking here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there with my fiancé in August. The hotel is good, not too expensive, extremely well located and the staff is good. Really no issues, maybe the stairway and elevator could be a little broader.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

It's my second time at the Holyrood apartHOTEL and certainly not my last. The staff are really friendly, especially the receptionists. The setting of making the hotel much like home is one of the best features of the hotel. The apartHotel provided me with breakfast, ready in the fridge. Also you have your own washing machine, dishwasher (apartHOTEL Provides us with glasses) and microwave. Even though the apartHotel doesn't provide you with a pen, you can ask the receptionists and they will be happy to help.
I Highly recommend...

The Holyrood apartHOTEL

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

As a family we were looking for somewhere near the Palace of Holyrood, as we were attending an event at the palace. What a great find the Holyrood Aparthotel turned out to be. An excellent welcome at the reception, room was ready for us at the appointed time, staff were informative and helpful, even finding me a space in there car park for my stay at a reasonable cost. Our two bedroomed apartment was very spacious, clean and well laid out, meeting all our requirements. The breakfast pack was substantial, lots of tea and coffee. The nearby Tesco express meant that anything else we needed was only a short walk away. The Aparthotel is located a few minutes walk from the Royal Mile in the quieter section of the Old Town, but a pleasant stroll to the busier St Giles area.

Room Tip: rooms above floor 2 have more natural light due to the design of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The reason to choose this place is that you can get a nice apartment in a super location for the price of a hotel room. Easy walking distance to all the main attractions. Right next to Holyrood Park, my favorite attraction in Edinburgh. The lobby is a little scary, and it doesn't quite have the personal service of a true hotel. But you do get a huge place. Ours had a full kitchen and a living room with two full bedrooms and two full bathrooms. All for the price of a hotel room. I would call it clean. There were noticeable maintenance issues throughout the place. Ideal for a large party.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We used this accommodation in July for a first trip to Edinburgh, and it met our family needs perfectly. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit, and found it overall well equipped and comfortable for 4. The breakfast supplied was helpful, and we also ordered the fruit basket, which was delicious. The hotel is well situated with respect to the Royal Mile and the conveniences of the area. We did find it a little run down and struggled a bit with the windows as we needed the airflow during the recent heatwave. Also had some trouble with the WiFi service. Overall, though, it worked for us and we would return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holyrood apartHOTEL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.