We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holyrood apartHOTEL

Save Saved
You added Holyrood apartHOTEL to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holyrood apartHOTEL
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland (Castle / Royal Mile / High St)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

As our flight was delayed and we opted to fly into Glasgow and took a bus to Edinburgh, arriving at the central bus station.It was about 12.30pm so I rang the hotel, who said that our room wasn't ready but that we could leave our bags at reception.
Arriving by taxi (about £5.50 from bus station), the hotel seemed further away than I expected, but at reception they explained that walking through a lane we were on the Royal Mile.
The hotel is wonderfully placed - close to Holyrood Palace, Arthur's Seat, the Royal Mile and within walking distance of almost everything in Edinburgh.
When we arrived, we were told our room was ready and we were delighted with our apartment of 2 bedrooms, one en-suite, one main bathroom, lounge and kitchen.
As others have mentioned, we were provided with ample welcome pack which included a full loaf, milk, yogurts, orange juice, loads of butter and jams, biscuits and tea and coffee.
The kitchen was beautifully clean and there was a washing machine and dishwasher as well as cooking facilities.
As others have said - there are no views - take a walk down the road and up Arthur's Seat for the most amazing views. We did hear some noises from loud revellers - but it's a Capital city - if you want peace go to the country. We slept like babies with all the walking we did.

Downsides: minor, but in our room (306) there were a number of patches on the ceiling - presumably caused by rooms above. I know this is an issue with all hotels, but don't they have a pot of white paint on stand-by?
Also the bed cover was so damaged at the edges (probably by washing etc) but it really let the look of the place down as everything else looked so good.

Make sure when you book that you don't get trapped by the Cookie Monster! Booking.com had registered my interest through Trip Advisor and the price was shown as £180 per night!
I used my OH's laptop and halved the price. However reading other people's comments, I'll be looking to go to the Penthouse next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
A super and throughly comprehensive review and my thanks to this guest. I was disappointed to read that they noticed patches on the ceiling in their apartment - we have a team devoted to an ongoing program of maintenance throughout the apartments and I am sorry they had not attended to this ceiling in time.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    193
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
224
133
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed - 2 adults and 2 teens in the Penthouse of this apartHotel for 3 nights.
As previous reviewers have mentioned, it's at the bottom of the Royal Mile (Holyrood Palace end), but it is tucked away amidst office buildings so really no picturesque outlook. A few glimpses of Arthur's seat out of the window. Very handy Starbucks, mini Tesco and Pizza Express within a minutes walk.
Believe all you read about the noisy plumbing/extractor fan situation. Add to that doors which are all designed to close firmly behind you. I don't really know what they could do about any of this though so not worth complaining about and after a few days it does seem less obvious.
Despite this it still gets a well-deserved 5 stars from us.
Spacious, spotlessly clean, well-thought out kitchen and a very relaxing lounge area. We all loved getting ready for a days sightseeing and returning in the late afternoon/evening to relax and watch a DVD with a bite to eat from the kitchen. Two double bedrooms, one ensuite and the sofa in the lounge could sleep another 2. Both bedrooms had TVs. Rooms serviced every day and done very thoroughly.
Very handy for sightseeing, in under a minute we were on the Royal Mile and could hail one of the Hop-on-Hop Off buses.
Parked the car in their basement car park - £10 a day. Was thankful it was my husband who was parking.....quite a bit of squeezing and reversing but he thought it was no trouble at all.
All in all we all enjoyed our Easter stay. Paid £80 a night through Booking.com and would return again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: We requested a top floor room. Paid for a 2 bedroom apartment and were upgraded to a Penthouse. Wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
A great review from this guest and although I was thrilled to read that they were able to get such a wonderful rate from one of our partners, I feel obliged to point out that potential bookers will always get a better rate on our own website.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment (sleeps a maximum of five)

Pros:-
Spacious bedrooms (a queen size bed and twin beds) and living area with sofa bed
Decent TV channels - BBC, Channel 4, QVC UK, etc on a flat screen TV
Two clean and modern bathrooms (shower and bathtub) with toiletries
Fully equipped - washer / dryer, dishwasher, utensils, plates, pots and pans oven, stove-top, microwave, fridge, safe, DVD player (with option to rent DVD), coffee, tea provided
Located off the Royal Mile
Nearby Tesco available
Quick and speedy check-in and check-out, reception staff were friendly

Cons:-
Shower flow could have been better
Not sure if WiFi was provided (did not check)
Lift was small and slow

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My family of four (2 adults, 2 older teens) loved the Aparthotel! We wanted accommodation that would give us the freedom to cook for ourselves while traveling, and Holyrood Aparthotel undoubtedly delivered.

When we arrived, our room was not only stocked with breakfast staples and the cutest tower of jam imaginable, but also featured a collection of Edinburgh guidebooks. Other useful written material included detailed instructions on how to use the shower & washing machine--very useful for foreign visitors unaccustomed to the foibles of UK appliances! Laundry detergent, dishwasher soap, and cutlery (from tea cups to egg cups) were all neatly arranged in the kitchen cabinets. The flat itself was enormous, and offered two full bathrooms and bedrooms in addition to the spacious kitchen/living room. We found it a little strange that neither bedroom had a chest of drawers to store clothes, but the closets were large and packed with hangers.

Our aparthotel was serviced each day, usually quickly and well before we returned from the morning's activities (a welcome difference from our stay at a similar place in London, where we'd often come back late in the afternoon to find someone only starting to make our beds!). The reception staff were very helpful, and assisted us with a taxi booking to the airport and dinner delivery from a local restaurant. The location was equally excellent: we were directly across from Holyrood Park, and could even see a bit of Arthur's Seat from our window (if only nearby apartments weren't in the way...). There's a Tesco Express just down the road, and the Canongate side of the Royal Mile is also nearby.

WiFi (5 pounds per device for a 24-hour access code) was a bit problematic: I could only manage to stay connected to the Internet for short intervals. Someone suggested this might have been because we were down on the 'basement' floor--still, this was the only real downside of the aparthotel, and certainly doesn't matter overmuch when there's a beautiful city to see outside!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is in a very reasonable location, which is one of the overriding reasons we decided to book it. It can be a little hard to find initially, but this is made easier once you learn the shortcuts from the main streets. The appliances are also decent and well maintained.

Unfortunately, this is where the positives about the hotel abruptly end. We arrived at the hotel to be told that the Studio Room we had booked was not available since all of them were “already occupied by long term residents.” An exact quote from the girl on the desk. This was quite confusing since we explicitly booked this room and at no point were we told they weren’t available.

We were therefore given a bigger room, which sounded okay. We also booked on the understanding that there would be a bath in the room, as per the description on Booking.com for the Studio Room (Standard Double Room). Unfortunately this bigger room didn’t have a bath, so we asked at reception if we could change it, which they dutifully obliged. Unfortunately, it became readily apparent that for a couple these bigger apartments quickly become isolating, empty and lack any of the intimacy we were looking for from the Standard Double Room. With a kitchen, lounge, 2 double rooms and 2 bathrooms it became an eerie experience, which only served to underline the fact that we had been lied to about the rooms. Holyrood clearly doesn’t value the experience of their guests, we explicitly booked the Studio because it didn’t have lots of separating rooms. Honestly, with so much of the apartment empty, it gave our time there a creepy feel.

We talked with reception again about it and they informed us that a Studio Room had become newly available. We decided to view the apartment before moving since we didn’t trust the hotel. Seriously, it was so lived in it looked like the previous occupant had been bundled out of the window as we entered. There was rubbish everywhere, the kitchen was a mess and hastily made bed was clearly dirty. And we were expected to say, “yes, we want to stay here!” We returned to our soulless chambers upstairs - room 307. This was like a slap in the face.

As others have commented, there are some issues with the plumbing. The showers were acceptable, but the toilet can only be flushed once in any 15-20 minute period. We also experienced dirty floors and towels, even after they were replaced. We observed the 2 day replacement rule.

I'm absolutely flabbergasted that this apartment hotel has such positive reviews. It was a horrible experience for us and we won't be returning.

Room Tip: Larger rooms would be good for a family, but they are definitely too much for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Although it is always disppointing to receive anything but the most positive of reviews, I really must take issue with the substance of this one in particular. The guest in question is complaining beacuse we upgraded them at no extra cost to a two bedroom apartment when only a studio had been purchased. I have never received any negative feedback for offering a complimentary upgrade before and cannot foresee this happening again. However, in this instance I can only apologise that this guest did not receive exactly what they had booked but would hope other potential travellers will view this review in context.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have just returned from my Hen weekend stay in Edinburgh at the Holyrood Aparthotel and have to say it was a brilliant place to stay. We rented 3 apartments and each had 2 x double rooms (1 with en suite) a small living room with plasma TV, DVD player and CD player and galley kitchen which was so well equipped. It had a washing machine, dishwasher, microwave and hob and all the utensils you could need plus, included in our deal was a free breakfast hamper. This even included fresh OJ, milk and bread. All of the apartments were serviced whilst we were there and everything was clean. All this for a cheap weekend and 5 mins walk from the Royal Mile, plus secure parking too! To say we were a group of 10, you couldn't hear us, or any other guests staying and were only woken up by the seagulls in the morning! Brilliant place to stay!

Room Tip: Its a little hard to find. If you go down the street after Tesco Metro, keep going round and you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here recently with my mum and sisters in a two bed apartment and really enjoyed it. Apartment was beautiful and spotlessly clean. Everything you could need was provided, from tea, coffee and milk to big fully white towels and toiletries. Rooms serviced each day just like a hotel. Kitchen/cooking facilities were excellent. Location is great too, just at the bottom of the royal mile near the royal palace. Quite quiet which I liked bur close to all the action. You can easily walk to everything. Only negative was that the water pump was a little noisy but good showers and lovely hot water so we didnt really mind. Had a wonderful holiday and would definitely stay here again. Good value too but maybe we were lucky because of the time of year and no big events on.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
A superb review and my thanks to this traveler for sharing such positive experiences. I am sorry to learn they were disturbed by a water pump but will endeavour to get this investigated immediately.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Castle / Royal Mile / High St , Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holyrood apartHOTEL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.