We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for groups, good location, ample spaces, and unbeatable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holyrood apartHOTEL

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holyrood apartHOTEL to your Saves list
Holyrood apartHOTEL
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland (Castle / Royal Mile / High St)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great for groups, good location, ample spaces, and unbeatable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at the Holyrood Aparthotel in December 2012 together with three members of my family. In my opinion the hotel offers an excellent option for people traveling in groups since you don't need to book two separate rooms (as in most other hotels) and the spaces provided are ample enough to provide for two fully separate rooms with decently sized beds, a desk, and a closet, plus one ensuite and one bathroom near the hall, both with showers, a fully furnished kitchen, a dining room, and a tv/sitting room.

As other reviewers have commented the location is very good, close enough to the royal mile (right under it), minutes away from Parliament and Holyrood Park (for arthur's seat), right next to a Tesco's for grocery shopping, and a short 15 minute walk to the center of town for dining out and sightseeing.

Unlike what other commentators experienced, we did not have any issue with linens and the apartment's cleanliness was very good so no complaints there. The price is remarkable for a highly tourist-oriented city in the UK and perhaps the only element i would be missing is a fitness room and a restaurant on site for whenever you do not want to go out or cook in your apartment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
A fantastic review for the Holyrood Aparthotel and my thanks to this guest for taking such time to list all our selling points. I would, however, like to point out the we DO in fact have a fitness room on the 1st floor, and my apologies to this guest as this was obviously not made clear enough whilst they were here.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    207
    40
    14
    10
See reviews for
237
146
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was my first time in an 'aparthotel' - our apartment had two rooms, two bathrooms, a lounge/dining area and a small kitchen. Well stocked with appliances and utilities. Comfortable and clean. Location was excellent, just off the Royal mile and around the corner from the Parliament building.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hopefully, this will not be this reviewer's only time at an aparthotel - I hope we have managed to convert them. That aside, a wonderful review, so, many thanks!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were in town for a week and this worked great for a family of four. The location was perfect for walking into town/high street, but tucked away enough to not overwhelmed with touristy stuff. We wished the window would have shut properly so we didn't hear the noise outside. I would normally like more soundproofing, but perhaps it was Hogmany that caused the extra noise. The staff was extremely helpful and kind. The beds and sofa not so comfy, but liveable. There were many little maintenance issues that make it look tatty rather than luxurious (flaky paint, carpet coming up from the floor, water stains on the ceiling, etc). Would have loved some more creature comforts, fluffy soft cushions, and more newer (unholey linens).

Room Tip: ask for an upper floor for non-smoking ask for a room in the front for more peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My family and I stayed for one night midweek. The apartment was clean, comfortable with good facilities. It is situated just off the Royal Mile in the Old Town. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was also access to a private car park which had easy access to the apartments. Good value for money. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I can't say enough good things about my weeklong stay at Holyrood Aparthotel. The location is terrific just in a quiet close off of the Royal Mile, just across from then lovely church where the Queen's daughter was wed. The furnishings and fittings were very modern. I enjoyed having a washer/dryer in the room (all apartments have a w/d). It was well laid out and there were ample electrical outlets for your devices. Finally, the staff was very accomodating with my questions and housekeeping was above average. See my photos.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Great value, good location (near the Scottish Parliament building, but only a 10 minute walk from Waverley Station), and a spacious, comfortable room.

There's 24 hour reception, and luggage storage.

Best value in the Old Town!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
A wonderful review for the Holyrood Aparthotel and it is great to read that we are "cannily priced" as this is certainly what we aim for...
I think our location does often go unappreciated, as our main selling points are the usually the high standard of accommodation and the quality of our service, but it is certainly worth bearing in mind how close we are to the High Street, the Station, Scottish Parliament etc.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monikie, Angus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was travelling with a small group for a weekend in Edinburgh and we booked this Aparthotel for its convenience and good price.

The apartment itself was very comfortable and the facilities were excellent, and the location was very central.

The rooms were VERY noisy. Firstly it was the neighbours which I appreciate is unavoidable, but the walls were paperthin and there did seem to be a number of groups on Stag/Hen weekends who partied until all hours. Secondly, and more unavoidable, was the waterworks of the hotel. Through the night there was a continual noise of running water in pipes just behind the walls and what sounded like very noisy pumps going on and off all night. Both factors led to pretty disturbed sleep on both nights.

Also, we needed to use the sofa bed and were told that bedding would be provided. None was there on arrival and after asking for some at reception, we arrived back in at midnight only to find that 4 cushion covers had been provided for us. How we were meant to sleep with that was beyond us!

The reception staff were also a bit disorganised. There was a mix up with parking bookings, we were told that the Friday night was full and Saturday available. We parked our car elsewhere on the Friday and then in their car park on the Saturday - only to be charged two nights. When we queried this we were told that we had booked the two nights, even although the girl who was spoken to took the booking and remembered telling us there was only one night free! The manager, Leon I think, never contacted us about this - even after two phone calls to the hotel and being told that he would be in contact. No refund for unused night was given.

Poor & unefficient service, noisy and lack of customer consideration. It's a shame as it is a good facility. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Sorry to hear there were a couple of minor niggles that left this guest feeling anything but completeley satisfied- I did call the number provided a couple of times as soon as I received the feedback on the Monday but was unable to leave a message and nobody called me back. Although I am sorry this guest felt compelled to leave negative feedback, I hope future travellers will look at all the other responses on this page (universally positive) for a balanced impression of the Holyrood Aparthotel.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holyrood apartHOTEL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.