We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, didn't feel like a hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holyrood apartHOTEL

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holyrood apartHOTEL to your Saves list
Holyrood apartHOTEL
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland (Castle / Royal Mile / High St)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Johannesburg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant, didn't feel like a hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was my first time in an 'aparthotel' - our apartment had two rooms, two bathrooms, a lounge/dining area and a small kitchen. Well stocked with appliances and utilities. Comfortable and clean. Location was excellent, just off the Royal mile and around the corner from the Parliament building.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hopefully, this will not be this reviewer's only time at an aparthotel - I hope we have managed to convert them. That aside, a wonderful review, so, many thanks!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    200
    39
    13
    10
See reviews for
232
142
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were in town for a week and this worked great for a family of four. The location was perfect for walking into town/high street, but tucked away enough to not overwhelmed with touristy stuff. We wished the window would have shut properly so we didn't hear the noise outside. I would normally like more soundproofing, but perhaps it was Hogmany that caused the extra noise. The staff was extremely helpful and kind. The beds and sofa not so comfy, but liveable. There were many little maintenance issues that make it look tatty rather than luxurious (flaky paint, carpet coming up from the floor, water stains on the ceiling, etc). Would have loved some more creature comforts, fluffy soft cushions, and more newer (unholey linens).

Room Tip: ask for an upper floor for non-smoking ask for a room in the front for more peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My family and I stayed for one night midweek. The apartment was clean, comfortable with good facilities. It is situated just off the Royal Mile in the Old Town. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was also access to a private car park which had easy access to the apartments. Good value for money. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I can't say enough good things about my weeklong stay at Holyrood Aparthotel. The location is terrific just in a quiet close off of the Royal Mile, just across from then lovely church where the Queen's daughter was wed. The furnishings and fittings were very modern. I enjoyed having a washer/dryer in the room (all apartments have a w/d). It was well laid out and there were ample electrical outlets for your devices. Finally, the staff was very accomodating with my questions and housekeeping was above average. See my photos.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Great value, good location (near the Scottish Parliament building, but only a 10 minute walk from Waverley Station), and a spacious, comfortable room.

There's 24 hour reception, and luggage storage.

Best value in the Old Town!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
A wonderful review for the Holyrood Aparthotel and it is great to read that we are "cannily priced" as this is certainly what we aim for...
I think our location does often go unappreciated, as our main selling points are the usually the high standard of accommodation and the quality of our service, but it is certainly worth bearing in mind how close we are to the High Street, the Station, Scottish Parliament etc.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monikie, Angus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was travelling with a small group for a weekend in Edinburgh and we booked this Aparthotel for its convenience and good price.

The apartment itself was very comfortable and the facilities were excellent, and the location was very central.

The rooms were VERY noisy. Firstly it was the neighbours which I appreciate is unavoidable, but the walls were paperthin and there did seem to be a number of groups on Stag/Hen weekends who partied until all hours. Secondly, and more unavoidable, was the waterworks of the hotel. Through the night there was a continual noise of running water in pipes just behind the walls and what sounded like very noisy pumps going on and off all night. Both factors led to pretty disturbed sleep on both nights.

Also, we needed to use the sofa bed and were told that bedding would be provided. None was there on arrival and after asking for some at reception, we arrived back in at midnight only to find that 4 cushion covers had been provided for us. How we were meant to sleep with that was beyond us!

The reception staff were also a bit disorganised. There was a mix up with parking bookings, we were told that the Friday night was full and Saturday available. We parked our car elsewhere on the Friday and then in their car park on the Saturday - only to be charged two nights. When we queried this we were told that we had booked the two nights, even although the girl who was spoken to took the booking and remembered telling us there was only one night free! The manager, Leon I think, never contacted us about this - even after two phone calls to the hotel and being told that he would be in contact. No refund for unused night was given.

Poor & unefficient service, noisy and lack of customer consideration. It's a shame as it is a good facility. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Sorry to hear there were a couple of minor niggles that left this guest feeling anything but completeley satisfied- I did call the number provided a couple of times as soon as I received the feedback on the Monday but was unable to leave a message and nobody called me back. Although I am sorry this guest felt compelled to leave negative feedback, I hope future travellers will look at all the other responses on this page (universally positive) for a balanced impression of the Holyrood Aparthotel.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere in the Pacific
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

By any standard Hollyrood Aparthotel deserves its excellent reputation. The hotel offers well equipped apartment style rooms with every amenity I would expect in a long term residence. More importantly the staff are professional, attentive, and friendly. The location is quiet, convenient to most of the Royal Mile, and easy to find for a tourist new to town.
My only complaint, if it even approaches a complaint, is that providing the high quality of service seems to have come at the cost of cutting some corners in the maintenance and installation work of some of the fixtures. In particular, our flat had a water pump under the kitchen sink which was not secured, or mounted to the floor or wall. When we used the shower, the kitchen sink, or any system which drained water, we were subject to 10-15 minutes of loud, aggravating noise from the pump rattling under the sink. Also, the main bathroom had a handicap accessible sink which was placed about 3 feet off of the ground; while this is very convenient for someone in a wheel chair, no one with back problems or difficulties bending would be able to use it. Other than these minor issues, the Holyrood Aparthotel was excellent.

Room Tip: Room 402 has a noisy water pump, but is otherwise an amazingly great place to catch a night's re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Overall another fantastic review but I was sorry to read that there was a minor niggle that deprived us of that all important five star review. I have addressed the issue of the noisy water pump in the room in question but rest assured this was no cost cutting measure: due to the very porr water pressure in the area, every two bedroomed apartment has such a pump and you will notice rarely the issue of noise is raised by other travellers.
That aside, my sincerest thanks to this guest for their kind words about our team and our apartments.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Castle / Royal Mile / High St , Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holyrood apartHOTEL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.