We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holyrood apartHOTEL

Save Saved
You added Holyrood apartHOTEL to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holyrood apartHOTEL
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland (Castle / Royal Mile / High St)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Monikie, Angus
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was travelling with a small group for a weekend in Edinburgh and we booked this Aparthotel for its convenience and good price.

The apartment itself was very comfortable and the facilities were excellent, and the location was very central.

The rooms were VERY noisy. Firstly it was the neighbours which I appreciate is unavoidable, but the walls were paperthin and there did seem to be a number of groups on Stag/Hen weekends who partied until all hours. Secondly, and more unavoidable, was the waterworks of the hotel. Through the night there was a continual noise of running water in pipes just behind the walls and what sounded like very noisy pumps going on and off all night. Both factors led to pretty disturbed sleep on both nights.

Also, we needed to use the sofa bed and were told that bedding would be provided. None was there on arrival and after asking for some at reception, we arrived back in at midnight only to find that 4 cushion covers had been provided for us. How we were meant to sleep with that was beyond us!

The reception staff were also a bit disorganised. There was a mix up with parking bookings, we were told that the Friday night was full and Saturday available. We parked our car elsewhere on the Friday and then in their car park on the Saturday - only to be charged two nights. When we queried this we were told that we had booked the two nights, even although the girl who was spoken to took the booking and remembered telling us there was only one night free! The manager, Leon I think, never contacted us about this - even after two phone calls to the hotel and being told that he would be in contact. No refund for unused night was given.

Poor & unefficient service, noisy and lack of customer consideration. It's a shame as it is a good facility. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Sorry to hear there were a couple of minor niggles that left this guest feeling anything but completeley satisfied- I did call the number provided a couple of times as soon as I received the feedback on the Monday but was unable to leave a message and nobody called me back. Although I am sorry this guest felt compelled to leave negative feedback, I hope future travellers will look at all the other responses on this page (universally positive) for a balanced impression of the Holyrood Aparthotel.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    190
    36
    13
    10
See reviews for
225
133
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somewhere in the Pacific
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

By any standard Hollyrood Aparthotel deserves its excellent reputation. The hotel offers well equipped apartment style rooms with every amenity I would expect in a long term residence. More importantly the staff are professional, attentive, and friendly. The location is quiet, convenient to most of the Royal Mile, and easy to find for a tourist new to town.
My only complaint, if it even approaches a complaint, is that providing the high quality of service seems to have come at the cost of cutting some corners in the maintenance and installation work of some of the fixtures. In particular, our flat had a water pump under the kitchen sink which was not secured, or mounted to the floor or wall. When we used the shower, the kitchen sink, or any system which drained water, we were subject to 10-15 minutes of loud, aggravating noise from the pump rattling under the sink. Also, the main bathroom had a handicap accessible sink which was placed about 3 feet off of the ground; while this is very convenient for someone in a wheel chair, no one with back problems or difficulties bending would be able to use it. Other than these minor issues, the Holyrood Aparthotel was excellent.

Room Tip: Room 402 has a noisy water pump, but is otherwise an amazingly great place to catch a night's re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Overall another fantastic review but I was sorry to read that there was a minor niggle that deprived us of that all important five star review. I have addressed the issue of the noisy water pump in the room in question but rest assured this was no cost cutting measure: due to the very porr water pressure in the area, every two bedroomed apartment has such a pump and you will notice rarely the issue of noise is raised by other travellers.
That aside, my sincerest thanks to this guest for their kind words about our team and our apartments.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I honestly didnt want to leave Edinburgh. It didnt help that i already fell in love with the countryside, what with the different Lochs and Glens. And to add to that; HolyRood Aparthotel provided an excellent recluse for a tourist like me.

Perfect
Holyrood Aparthotel is located not far from King Arthur's Seat, and Prince street, and so it is very conveniently located. It is perfect for families, business conferences, as theres a kitchen where one can save a lot in terms of food. The bathrooms are clean, and the beds are extremely comfortable.

Wifi is available, theres also a communal computer with internet in the ground floor.

The staff are all eager to help.

Home away from Home.

Given the chance I would come back over and over.

Room Tip: I dont think theres a restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
A great review wth some wonderful sentiments - it is fantastic to hear the Holyrood Apathotel being referred to as a "home away from home". Hope to welcome this guest again soon.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The two bedroom apartment was enormous and spotless. Daily maid service. Full large kitchen was completely stocked. Excellent location for walking the Royal Mile.
Small side street which very quiet.
Very difficult to find. Use a taxi or GPS.
You wont be sorry with this choice.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visting Edinburgh. We booked a studio apartment as there were only the two of us, but were upgraded at no extra cost to a 2-bed 2-bath apartment. This had a fully fitted kitchen with everything one might need - TVs in sitting room and bedrooms, dvd player (and DVD's to hire), CD player, really clean and modern rooms, and in fact it was almost home from home (but tidier!). The hotel is situated a few yards from the Royal Mile, and so centrally placed for everything we wanted to do; in fact we left the car in the hotel car park all the time and walked everywhere. Breakfast was available but we didn't have it as we ate in the apartment. The only slight downer was a rather grumpy receptionist on our first night, but all the other staff were charming. Two words of advice - firstly, read the small print on your booking confirmation and book your car park space in advance; there is secure parking but there aren't as many spaces as rooms, and if you have to park elsewhere it will be in an NCP at huge costs, or well out of the town centre. Secondly, the access to the hotel is not off the Royal Mile as some maps suggest, as this is only an alleyway, but off Holyrood road, up a small turning just before Hutton Road if you are driving from west to east. It's easy to miss and driving in Edinburgh is not easy! We will definitely go back again, possibly to a 2 bed apartment with friends for the Festival. It's a great hotel and location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Another fantastic and wonderfully comprehensive review for the Holyrood Aparthotel and I am indebted to this reviewer for their efforts. I am sure all travellers will be grateful for the helpful hints when booking the hotel and I must re-iterate the need to reserve a car parking space with us in advance!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for a week during our last trip to the UK in 2010 and were very impressed with it then, so we booked again this year and stayed for six nights in October this year … we were similarly impressed. This is an excellent apartment / hotel within 10/15 minutes walk from central Edinburgh and has a well stocked Tesco Express and a couple of cafes / restaurants only two minutes away (and an excellent chip shop!). Very comfortable, well designed apartment and fitted with everything you will need and all in working order … also the welcome pack was generous.

Two very minor criticisms - the (lack of) pressure in the showers and the excessive charge for parking, but don’t let these detract you from staying here, overall it is very good apartment and good value for money.

We will definitely stay here next time we are in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Some wonderful comments and it is always particularly gratifying to hear from repeat guests. I look forward to seeing them again soon in the near future and in the meantime I will have our maintenance department check out the pressure in the showers.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very well maintained, clean and comfortable three room apartment with excellent location. 5 min walk to the nearest grocery shop, 10 min walk to the Royal mile and Princes Mall and 20 min to the Edinghbour castle. Stayed there for three days last Nov. Very satisfied with the place

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
A great review - although short and sweet - but my sincerest thanks for such kind words!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Castle / Royal Mile / High St , Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holyrood apartHOTEL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.