We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous Accomodations, with some Corner Cutting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holyrood apartHOTEL

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holyrood apartHOTEL to your Saves list
Holyrood apartHOTEL
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Somewhere in the Pacific
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Generous Accomodations, with some Corner Cutting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

By any standard Hollyrood Aparthotel deserves its excellent reputation. The hotel offers well equipped apartment style rooms with every amenity I would expect in a long term residence. More importantly the staff are professional, attentive, and friendly. The location is quiet, convenient to most of the Royal Mile, and easy to find for a tourist new to town.
My only complaint, if it even approaches a complaint, is that providing the high quality of service seems to have come at the cost of cutting some corners in the maintenance and installation work of some of the fixtures. In particular, our flat had a water pump under the kitchen sink which was not secured, or mounted to the floor or wall. When we used the shower, the kitchen sink, or any system which drained water, we were subject to 10-15 minutes of loud, aggravating noise from the pump rattling under the sink. Also, the main bathroom had a handicap accessible sink which was placed about 3 feet off of the ground; while this is very convenient for someone in a wheel chair, no one with back problems or difficulties bending would be able to use it. Other than these minor issues, the Holyrood Aparthotel was excellent.

Room Tip: Room 402 has a noisy water pump, but is otherwise an amazingly great place to catch a night's re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Overall another fantastic review but I was sorry to read that there was a minor niggle that deprived us of that all important five star review. I have addressed the issue of the noisy water pump in the room in question but rest assured this was no cost cutting measure: due to the very porr water pressure in the area, every two bedroomed apartment has such a pump and you will notice rarely the issue of noise is raised by other travellers.
That aside, my sincerest thanks to this guest for their kind words about our team and our apartments.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    232
    53
    17
    11
See reviews for
266
164
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I honestly didnt want to leave Edinburgh. It didnt help that i already fell in love with the countryside, what with the different Lochs and Glens. And to add to that; HolyRood Aparthotel provided an excellent recluse for a tourist like me.

Perfect
Holyrood Aparthotel is located not far from King Arthur's Seat, and Prince street, and so it is very conveniently located. It is perfect for families, business conferences, as theres a kitchen where one can save a lot in terms of food. The bathrooms are clean, and the beds are extremely comfortable.

Wifi is available, theres also a communal computer with internet in the ground floor.

The staff are all eager to help.

Home away from Home.

Given the chance I would come back over and over.

Room Tip: I dont think theres a restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
A great review wth some wonderful sentiments - it is fantastic to hear the Holyrood Apathotel being referred to as a "home away from home". Hope to welcome this guest again soon.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
152 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The two bedroom apartment was enormous and spotless. Daily maid service. Full large kitchen was completely stocked. Excellent location for walking the Royal Mile.
Small side street which very quiet.
Very difficult to find. Use a taxi or GPS.
You wont be sorry with this choice.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visting Edinburgh. We booked a studio apartment as there were only the two of us, but were upgraded at no extra cost to a 2-bed 2-bath apartment. This had a fully fitted kitchen with everything one might need - TVs in sitting room and bedrooms, dvd player (and DVD's to hire), CD player, really clean and modern rooms, and in fact it was almost home from home (but tidier!). The hotel is situated a few yards from the Royal Mile, and so centrally placed for everything we wanted to do; in fact we left the car in the hotel car park all the time and walked everywhere. Breakfast was available but we didn't have it as we ate in the apartment. The only slight downer was a rather grumpy receptionist on our first night, but all the other staff were charming. Two words of advice - firstly, read the small print on your booking confirmation and book your car park space in advance; there is secure parking but there aren't as many spaces as rooms, and if you have to park elsewhere it will be in an NCP at huge costs, or well out of the town centre. Secondly, the access to the hotel is not off the Royal Mile as some maps suggest, as this is only an alleyway, but off Holyrood road, up a small turning just before Hutton Road if you are driving from west to east. It's easy to miss and driving in Edinburgh is not easy! We will definitely go back again, possibly to a 2 bed apartment with friends for the Festival. It's a great hotel and location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Another fantastic and wonderfully comprehensive review for the Holyrood Aparthotel and I am indebted to this reviewer for their efforts. I am sure all travellers will be grateful for the helpful hints when booking the hotel and I must re-iterate the need to reserve a car parking space with us in advance!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for a week during our last trip to the UK in 2010 and were very impressed with it then, so we booked again this year and stayed for six nights in October this year … we were similarly impressed. This is an excellent apartment / hotel within 10/15 minutes walk from central Edinburgh and has a well stocked Tesco Express and a couple of cafes / restaurants only two minutes away (and an excellent chip shop!). Very comfortable, well designed apartment and fitted with everything you will need and all in working order … also the welcome pack was generous.

Two very minor criticisms - the (lack of) pressure in the showers and the excessive charge for parking, but don’t let these detract you from staying here, overall it is very good apartment and good value for money.

We will definitely stay here next time we are in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Some wonderful comments and it is always particularly gratifying to hear from repeat guests. I look forward to seeing them again soon in the near future and in the meantime I will have our maintenance department check out the pressure in the showers.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Very well maintained, clean and comfortable three room apartment with excellent location. 5 min walk to the nearest grocery shop, 10 min walk to the Royal mile and Princes Mall and 20 min to the Edinghbour castle. Stayed there for three days last Nov. Very satisfied with the place

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
A great review - although short and sweet - but my sincerest thanks for such kind words!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Brilliant value: huge apartments and really friendly staff. The rooms are clean, well-decorated and very comfortable. Better value than a hotel of comparable standard and much more space. And they have smokng rooms"

A fantastic choice: just a shame that the wifi connection, whilst reasonable, relates to just one device.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Many thanks for such a positive review and I am thrilled to read that you had such a good time at the Holyrood Aparthotel - I note that you were unhappy with the wifi charges so I will look at these again in the New Year to ensure we are competetive.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#71 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#62 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,793 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#35 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holyrood apartHOTEL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.