We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kew House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kew House to your Saves list
Kew House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Kew Terrace | Murrayfield, Edinburgh EH12 5JE, Scotland (West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 guests from £99.00 B&B
Ranked #10 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Still the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is about the 5th time we have stayed at Kew House and it could not be better.

Relaxing, everything you need and more and the beds are so comty. Fantastic relaxing atmosphere spotlessly clean and the best breakfast anywhere. We had the full breakfast each morning and it is perfection everything cooked perfectley and it really sets you up for the day.

Ian and Alan are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble.

We stayed in December for my 60th Birthday and could not have been in better surroundings.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants the perfect stay in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Have stayed in a different room each time and all have been as good as each other all beautifully de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianEdinburgh, Owner at Kew House, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
It is always flattering when guests return time after time and a joy for us to see them again when they do. I am so pleased you feel that we maintain our standards and we had a great deal of fun looking after you once more. Thanks again (until the next time?)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    32
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
95
253
55
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore River, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Great hosts, great food, great rooms. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and am very pleased with how we were offered the superior room for the 3rd night upon our return from the highland tour at no extra charge. We truly appreciate the gesture. Dinner at Howie's based on Ian and Alan's recommendation was just fantastic too. We will be back! The B and B made our stay in Edinburgh all the more memorable.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianEdinburgh, Owner at Kew House, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
It's always a pleasure to look after guests who are out to enjoy themselves (no matter the time of year) and it was fun and a great pleasure to have you staying with us as you made the most of Edinburgh (and Scotland). Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I cannot praise the accommodation highly enough. It is quite central for good restaurants and visitor attractions. The breakfasts are exceptional. Ian and Allan are so helpful and wonderful hosts.We were forced to stay another night due to the weather and were presented with a bottle of champage. A nice touch I thought, we will return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianEdinburgh, Owner at Kew House, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank for for your comments. I'm so glad that you managed to enjoy your "enforced" extra night caused by the railway problems. It was a great pleasure to see you again and hopefully it will not be long before you are back at Kew House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urquhart, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at Kew House for just one night to attend a orchestral concert . I have stayed at Kew House on business on and off since 2007. The owners Ian and Allan offer a five star service, the rooms are immaculate and equipped and furnished only to the highest quality . They refresh the rooms regularly to maintain the standard. Breakfast is made from fresh quality produce, no cheap sliced white bread or sawdust sausages. Kew House is consistently delivers a friendly helpful and comfortable product which puts the guest first . One us never disappointed and while not cheap offers value for money

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianEdinburgh, Owner at Kew House, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of Kew House. It was a great pleasure seeing yourself and your wife again after quite some time. I'm glad we still "tick the boxes" for regular guests as well as new ones. I always think it can be harder to keep regular guests satisfied once the novelty of staying wears off so it's great to find we still can deliver an enjoyable stay for guests who have been coming for years as well as new visitors.
Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at Kew House for 3 nights to celebrate a special birthday in November 2013. It was our first visit to Edinburgh. We cannot recommend this place or staff highly enough. The quality to details is superb. The owners are so caring and helpful and make sure you are happy with every aspect of your stay. We love to try local restaurants rather than chains when we are on holiday and they had many suggestions to help us. In fact all three nights we went to their personal favourites. Every night was superb. They pre-booked tables for us (which is essential!). Ian & Alan are full of genuine and helpful advice and ideas. Kew House is a nice 10 minute walk from the heart of Edinburgh and Princes Street. There are lots of buses you can jump on but we preferred to walk and look at all the Georgian houses ! Breakfast was a delight - traditional scottish to suit you (and so much besides). Fresh fruits, cereals, cooked, eggs in every way you could wish. You will not want to leave. We stayed in the superior room and feel it was excellent value for money. It was immaculate. Lovely furnishings and fittings throughout. Our trip to Edinburgh was for a special birthday, and this short break certainly has gone down as one our most special breaks away ever. Thank you so much - we really did not want to come home !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianEdinburgh, Owner at Kew House, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's always a bit nerve racking when guests take our restaurant recommendations completely just in case our taste in food is different but I'm glad you agreed with us on all three places we recommended. Trust we when I say that for every one we find and recommend there are two which we would not so I'm glad you agreed with our choices.
Hopefully we'll see you again on the next special birthday!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I spent 3 nights at Kew House.
On arrival I was welcomed by Ian the welcome is warm and friendly.
Ian give me a map of Edinburgh with the bus numbers to the city on it.
I was then shown to my room a single at the back of the house with a view of the Pentland Hills.
The room is well decorated and coordinated you have everything you need for a comfortable stay.
The single bed is very comfortable which made for a good nights sleep, the bedding is of a good quality.
There is a Lcd tv with a good selection of channels and wifi available throughout the house with no signal issues.
Plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate with a chocolate brownie regularly replenished.
There was sherry with a box of chocolates in the room, also when I came back to the room in the evening there was a chocolate on the pillow a nice touch.
The breakfast is excellent you have a choice from a continental to full cooked, the food is excellent quality you will not go hungry here.
Ian and Allan are excellent hosts friendly welcoming and considerate they run a first class establishment, they have a beautiful home it is well kept immaculately clean with good levels of service.
You pay a bit more for Kew House but what you get in return is worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms would be of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianEdinburgh, Owner at Kew House, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here during the week over Halloween and would definitely recommend it.
It is a ten minute stroll into Edinburgh, which we liked, but you can also jump on the very frequent buses which take you into Edinburgh in just a few minutes.

The room was lovely and clean as was the rest of the guest house there was also free, secure parking which we needed. Ian and Alan were the perfect hosts, recommending places for us to eat and visit and cooking us a lovely Scottish breakfast in the morning.

I have already recommended Kew house to friends given how expensive it is to stay in the well known hotels in Edinburgh city centre these days.

Thanks for looking after us Ian & Alan!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kew House

Address: 1 Kew Terrace | Murrayfield, Edinburgh EH12 5JE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kew House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kew House has been awarded the prestigious AA 5 Star Gold rating as well as being one of few guest houses in both the Michelin UK and Europe Guide. We are just 15 minutes walk West of Princes Street and have easy bus access to Edinburgh Airport. Our 6 bedrooms and 1 serviced apartment are stylish and contemporary with everything all guests need whether on business or leisure travel. Kew House has free secure parking and free hi-speed wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kew House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kew House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kew House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.