We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's basic and then there's the Britannia” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Edinburgh Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Edinburgh Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Belford Rd, Edinburgh EH4 3DG, Scotland (Formerly Belford Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“There's basic and then there's the Britannia”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I understand that this is budget hotel with a great location,but come on.This hotel does not even meet the basic standard required for a over night stay.The rooms were drab and cold wih sick stained carpets.The reception and dining area resembled a school dinner hall and the parking was inadequate fo a hotel of its size.,On a more postive note the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    182
    198
    170
    242
See reviews for
119
393
47
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Would never stay here again.

1. I opened the window to let in some fresh air as it was very stuffy in this tinny room would say my bathroom at home is bigger ! When I tried to close the window before we went out the handle came off in my hand - took it to reception and they told me there is nothing they can do ! had to sleep with the window semi open

2. Ironing board was disgusting burned and dirty and I had to carry it to the room No house keeping service
3. Mattress springs where stabbing us all night
4. When I complained they offered us a cup of coffee for not sleeping WTF
5. floors was dirty in the bathroom

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

ok here's our review!
Booked through groupon voucher so it was a pretty cheap deal! read reviews so was prepared to be shocked but for the sake of two nights for less than £45 each with breakfast i wasn't too worried.
To be fair it looks like a prison from the outside, but the reception area and restaurant are ok, clean, modern and tidy!
We were greeted by Nathan who sorted out our rooms and was very polite and helpful throughout our stay even sorting out directions and maps for us, he also went out of his way to find a couple of bottles of wine which were included in our deal too!
we had two rooms as i was travelling with my teenage kids. the rooms we were offered were next to each other but when i went in my daughters room i noticed there was an adjoining door to the room next to it, so i asked to move to that room so we could open it! this was no problem and was sorted within the hour!
Rooms are basic..but the two we had were clean, the sheets were spotless as were the mattresses, plenty of pillows too!. free toiletries and fluffy white towels. tea and coffee,
it was warm and the location on the first floor it was quiet.
there are a few cosmetic things that need sorting ie coving missing above window and plug missing from bath, it needs a bit of tlc but hey it was £45 for two nights! way better than we expected!
Breakfast was included in our deal and it was substantial, plenty of fruit, yogurt, the usual full English buffet, my only criticism was they could have cooked fried eggs to order instead of rubbery scrambled but it was a banging brekkie and we enjoyed it!
TO SUM UP! There is no glorious view, it's not a posh hotel, it's a basic travelodge!
you do pay for what you get but i think some people have over exaggerated the bad points, honestly its ok for a short break and somewhere to base yourself.
we would stay again! and i am a fussy person so this was a pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

As we were in the area buying last minute bits and bobs and wanted a quick snack we popped into this hotel which has changed hands.

I wish we had not ordered our refreshments as seating was very basic and dining area looked poor as was the menu.

Certainly would not have stayed here if a visitor to Edinburgh!!

We did not finish the refreshments and decided to go to a favourite eating place of 'ours'

Possibly suitable for a low budget young person who only needs a room for the night as near to the centre of Edinburgh.

Will not be back!! .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I am writing this review from the room of Britannia Edinburgh, I have just paid £40 for one night now thinking could have paid more and chosen some other place or a b&b. Very smelly washroom and as a result room too, reported it to reception only to be told that the extractor fans in the whole hotel aren't working so had to live with. Filthy corridors, shabby washrooms, dirty kettle but the best thing is size of the actual room. It's a fairly decent sized room but certainly needs attention. It is an old Travelodge as previously mentioned and to us it looked like ruins of one. Definitely not the kind of place where one could stay for a longer holiday. I'm glad it's one night we are staying. I have definitely learnt to read reviews before booking for future.
Beware...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

After reading some of the reviews I was dreading my trip to Edinburgh, for a poor hotel can spoil the whole experience.
SURPRISE number 1. Staff were very friendly and efficient.
SURPRISE number 2. Entrance, hallways AND room were spotless. Sure there were marks on a wall here and there, but at the end of the day it is generally a guest who causes these marks.
Breakfast was more than adaquate and the staff never stopped cleaning after the guest left.
For the price, which included a bottle of wine, it was well worth the money.
Convenient for the city. All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just arrived back from a Groupon deal to the above hotel. On our arrival we found the room to be the most basic we've ever stated in. Room walls were dirty, there was a plastic bag placed around the shower head to prevent leaks. The bed was just awful, so noisy, not in a good way. So hard, creaky. Any movements would cause the other person to wake up. We never slept a wink. Corridors were dirty, cracked, damaged where the cleaning carts have hit against them. Breakfast was ok, bit dried up but edible . Car parking costs £3 for up to 24hrs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Edinburgh Hotel

Address: 69 Belford Rd, Edinburgh EH4 3DG, Scotland (Formerly Belford Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Edinburgh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waters of Leith in the West end of Edinburgh City Centre, the Britannia Hotel Edinburgh has 178 bedrooms and is conveniently located within easy reach of many of the cities major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh West End Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Edinburgh Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.