We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mardale Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mardale Guest House
Save
You added Mardale Guest House to your Saves list
11 Hartington Place, Edinburgh EH10 4LF, Scotland (Bruntsfield)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #386 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Sunderland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

Me and my husband stayed here for a two night weekend break in May 2007. It is set about 5-10 mins taxi/bus ride from center in a nice friendly area. The owners were quite friendly and gave some good advice during our stay. Breakfast ok, our room (2) small with separate bathroom, both could do with updating. No good for people with mobility problems as lots of stairs. Overall ok, could have been worse but have stayed in better.

  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
1
2
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Lizard, Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2005

My wife and I stayed for three nights as we were in Edinburgh to watch the Military Tattoo. Communication prior to and during our stay with the proprieters was excellent and very friendly and helpful advice at all times.
My wife is pregnant so cannot eat certain things or needs particular foods cooked well and this was not a problem. The owners even washed and lent my wife an additional coat for the tattoo as it was going to be far colder than we were banking on coming from Cornwall.
The room was very clean and tidy and made up well each day and the breakfast was more than adequate. Cereals, fruit, yoghurts, Scottish Oatcakes, Juice, Fried English (Ooops...Scottish Breakfast!), as much toast as you would like and tea or coffee. More than enough.
My wife and I walked everywhere and depending on the route you take and the speed you walk you can get into the City Centre within 30 mins, either via the Canal and Quay (nice Italian Restaurant..ZIZIS I think it was) or The Meadows.
If you have a car be aware that parking is not ideal but then what would you expect from a Victorian House/Street when cars did not exist.
There are more than enough restaurants within 10 mins walk at the top of the hill and in Morningside.
Overall, excellent 3 night stay. We were looked after nothing was too much trouble and the only downside was the price of the room but then what do you expect in Festival Week, everywhere was expensive.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limavady, Northern Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2005

My partner and I stayed at the Mardale Guest House and thought the rooms couldve been a bit bigger than stated on the websites photos. The hospitality was ok but the breakfast was far too early considering we were on holiday and most people like a lye in!! The breakfast was 8.00- 8.45 and the fry consisted of 2 rashers of bacon 1 egg 1 sausage 4 mushrooms and a whole tomato which I think coming from Northern Ireland is pretty bad!! Be prepared to walk about 20-30 mins to a nearest half decent pub!! So get your walking shoes on!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2003

Accomodations are good but the proprietor (though to be fair, only the husband and not the wife) is incredibly rude and inhospitable. We had to terminate our stay there due to his abominably ornery manner and upon request of a receipt of our payment for the one night we did stay refused to procure one; we actually had to report him to the Scottish police! I would avoid this one at all costs. As I found out, the hard way unfortunately, there are other much better Guest Houses or B&B's in Edinburgh, at better prices and closer to the center of town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2003

Very friendly and relaxed, with good Scottish breakfasts (including a vegetarian option). Our en-suite double room was clean and cosy. Good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mardale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardale Guest House

Address: 11 Hartington Place, Edinburgh EH10 4LF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Bruntsfield , South Side
Hotel Style:
Ranked #386 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Mardale Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mardale Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.