We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Office Christmas Party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AQ, Scotland (Formerly Le Meridien Edinburgh) (Broughton & Calton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #76 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Office Christmas Party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Enjoyable night and stay. Staff were excellent, busy when we checked in so were offered complimentary glass of wine while we waited which was a nice touch. Buffet breakfast was lovely, although had to queue for table when there seemed to be a alternative room down the stairs set for breakfast which was empty.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    131
    50
    17
    4
See reviews for
65
142
11
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second visit to this hotel and it was even better than the first!!
All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. The room was pleasant and the bed extremely comfortable. Thoroughly enjoyed breakfast with the generous selection of quality food in relaxing surroundings. Also enjoyed the pool.
We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Superb review Elaine!
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, it is great to hear that you came back and had an even better stay. We can't wait for you to come again, but don't know how you will be able to give us 6 stars next time!?
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarpsborg, Norway
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is located a bit from the hustle and bustle of mid town, but you'll get there within a 10-15 minute walk. The rooms are very clean and contemporary decorated, staff is very friendly and helpful and breakfast has a wide selection of baked goods, fruits, cereal, hot/cold dishes and juices.

We had a room facing the back, a lovely park area with the sound of birds when we opened the window in the morning. I didn't expect that when I went to a big city like Edinburgh. Nice,

A taxi to and from city centre is cheap if you think the distance to the different attractions is to far.

We would def og back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Great to hear about your fantastic stay with us, and that you enjoyed being away from the hustle and bustle yet close enough. Our delightful gardens are certainly a hidden oasis in the city and a fantastic asset of the hotel. So pleased you enjoyed it all and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Converted terrace housing, old, solid building that means quiet rooms!! Very comfortable bed, great pressure in the shower. Nice little lounge bar, Raymond was there the two times we stayed and he is a very good bartender, although they do seem to run him ragged. Has a five month old daughter called Rosie, if you stay here, tell him we said hello from Seattle and to keep up the good work.

NO on site parking, so if you are driving, be prepared to pay for parking on the street, it is free after 5pm Mon-Fri though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the "quiet zone" which will be well away from the one elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Wonderful to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. I will certainly pass on your thanks to Raymond and we will make sure he is not run off his feet.
Enjoy the rest of your travels and we hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I accompanied my hubby in ediburgh as he had a official assignment n i stayed there for 1 week.
It is the best hotel that i have came across.. They have a vry helpful staff n most imp is there club lounge... which is super best...

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
What a super review! Great to hear that you had such a wonderful time, here's hoping your hubby gets another reason to visit and you can come along too.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I just spent three nights here and had a very pleasant stay. The location is ideal and the staff could not have been more helpful or pleasant.

I see someone was rather scathing about the gym and pool facilities but I think that is a bit harsh. Granted the pool is small but it's still large enough for swimming in, and the treadmill and cross-trainer were modern. (If you have a Virgin Active membership bring it along, because there is a huge pool and hundreds of machines about a 5-minute walk from the hotel.)

The club lunge is small but comfortable, with wine and other drinks and a small selection of hot nibbles in the early evening.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for the excellent review. So pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and made good use of the leisure facilities as well. I totally agree that the facilities are great, and if you are after a big style gym, Virgin Active is literally around the corner.
Hopefully we will see you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leith
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stay at much reduced price (thanks to Amoma) rating would be one to two points lower if we had paid full rate. Great central location and pleasant situation with gardens to rear and open outlook to front - easy walking distance to city centre. Breakfast fair.




Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Great to read that you enjoyed our central location and the lovely private gardens. We hope to see you again next time you are visiting Edinburgh
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace

Address: 18 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AQ, Scotland (Formerly Le Meridien Edinburgh)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#61 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.We have recently undergone a refurbishment of our property and rebranded as Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (previously known as Royal Terrace Hotel part of Prima Hotels) on the 15th August 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Terrace Edinburgh
Hotel Royal Terrace
Royal Terrace Hotel Edinburgh
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.