We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local, good pub food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Waiting Room

The Waiting Room
7-8 Belhaven Terrace | EH10 5HZ, Edinburgh, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #999 of 1,790 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: It's a pub serving food.
Belfast
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice local, good pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I like the Waiting Room because it is rarely jam-packed, meaning it's great to go for a quiet drink or some tasty pub grub. The prices are reasonable for both the food and drinks and the staff are very friendly.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    7
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Good choice for brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This pub offers a reasonable choice of nicely presented food. Various offers are on, depending on the day of the week. Burgers are a good choice and good value, particularly when they are on offer!

The breakfast is a good deal, especially Mon-Fri before noon, when a full breakfast, including orange juice and tea or coffee, is on offer for £5 (at time of writing!).

The pub is obviously popular with locals popping in for elevenses or a meal, and has a friendly ambience. Waiting staff are helpful, pleasant and friendly.

The pub also serves a small selection of real ales.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

all day brekkie lovely and good price too the service was pleasant and surroundings were comfortable

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

The food is fresh and always tasty!
The manager called Christine could be more friendly towards her paying guests!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Top notch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Just tried out the Waiting Room for the first time and have to say I'm very impressed! By far the best pub food I've had in a long time, you could tell my pasta had been cooked from fresh rather than whizzed around a microwave. My partner had a burger which he thoroughly enjoyed, the atmosphere was nice, a little roudy with the football, but we still sat and had a bottle of wine, which was pretty nice for a house wine. We enjoyed our time there so much we returned the next day for a breakfast, which was £5 for a full one! It was delicious and set us up for the day! Very enjoyable, staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was lovely. A real find for a pub in Morningside!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waiting Room also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Waiting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waiting Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.