We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never go here again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gurkha Brigade Nepalese Restaurant - CLOSED

Gurkha Brigade Nepalese Restaurant
9a Antigua Street, Edinburgh EH1 3NH, Scotland (Broughton & Calton)
0131 556 6446
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Broughton & Calton
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Will never go here again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The food was nowhere close to what Nepaleese food tastes like. The service was non existent and Prices were too high compared to other Restraunts in the Vicinity. Overall a very bad experience, Will never visit again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    22
    19
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Average meal, to be honest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have been here a few times now. A very small restaurant that can feel overly cramped and hot. The curries are tasty, but not completely out of the ordinary. A good beer selection and an extensive menu in general, but definitely not the best in Edinburgh.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Ive had better but not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I went here recently on a saturday night and no problem getting a table at around 9pm. The staff are friendly but the meal took a long time to arrive. I had gurkha chicken in a medium hot sauce but it wasnt actually that hot, you do have the option of a hotter and milder dish though so if you like spicier or milder food you can be catered for. The chicken was a little dry but luckily i had plenty of sauce and as got through my meal i enjoyed it more. The ambience is ok but the decor is not brilliant, just a few adornments on crudely painted walls.

All in all not bad but the fact there is a lot choice at other places in the area leaves me thinking i probably wouldnt go back. 2 main meals, 2 side dishes, bottle of wine and a tip was about £45-50.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Nepalese flavours on a Groupon but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Visited on a Groupon voucher, I like to try these places out and I cannot say I was disappointed. The service was very good, the food had really excellent flavours, nans were very good, very different to traditional curry houses, so I would recommend this place. Cobra and Kingsisher on tap which is very good and all reasonably priced.
So why the 4 stars? The voucher states clearly £3 extra for mixed grill (which we had and it was superb, so no problems there), and for King Prawn. We had a "Prawn" dish and were still charged £3... The owner should not moan about the Groupon deal, they got a few hundred people through the door and I am sure many of them like us, paid a few £10's extra. If you sign up for these deals Gurkha B, then honour the deal in black and white.
All being said I will still go back...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good location for Playhouse Theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The menu was varied and tasty and the service was efficient but my wife didn't really enjoy our visit though I would go back

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Brigade Nepalese Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gurkha Brigade Nepalese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.