We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place on a rainy day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edinburgh International Climbing Arena

Edinburgh International Climbing Arena
South Platt Hill, Newbridge, Edinburgh, Scotland
0131 333 6333.
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 269 Activities in Edinburgh
Type: Sports Complexes, Sports
Attraction details
Bo'ness, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place on a rainy day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This place is great for some fun climbing on a rainy day. It's less than a tenner to get in and you can spend the whole day there (assuming your stamina is up to the task!) I learned to climb here and go fairly regularly in the winter months though it should be noted it can get quite chilly so wrap up warm!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    23
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Freshwater, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Top Knotch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Climbing facilities beyond compare. Give the Aerial Assault Course a go if you dare!!! Only marked down as it is slightly expensive and the cafe is mediocre, but everything else - FAB.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lacking in customer service and pricing ridiculous!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

In June 2013 I took my 3 week old baby to Scrambles along with my friends 2 3 year old children. Rightfully at the time we were not charged for entry for my baby. He is now 3 months when i went back with him and the 2 3 year olds last week I was charged £1.50 for him. I explained to the girl that firstly he was sleeping and secondly he can't walk, crawl or bum shuffle nor can he can't hold anything therefore he won't be playing with anything. I was met with a stone face and told everyone has to pay for their space and use of facilities. I again explained he would not be using any space as he's sitting in his own buggy and wont be playing with anything. To which I was told yeah but there's a cafe everyone needs to pay for their space. I thought if i use the cafe ill be paying for anything i purchase anyway I realised at that time there was no point arguing with such a person so I paid. My son did sleep through the entire 90 minutes. I did use the cafe facilities but funnily enough I paid for that as I would have expected...even if it was overpriced. A soup, half a cheese sandwich and a drink for £6.00. I note that the management have stated 0-6months is free with a sibling.....why only a sibling??? So the fact that my child is not related to the other two children I go with means I have to pay £1.50. Ridiculous. I see I'm not the only to be appalled by this. I live locally but would rather travel further a field than deal with this type of customer service.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt T, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh International Climbing Arena, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hi Saw2009
Unfotuantely it looks as though our pricing structure may have been explained slightly wrong. We charge for babies rather than charging for adults like a lot of other soft plays do. While your child may not be playing they still take up a space in the overall capacity of the place as do any dults that accompany children.
I appreciate your comments and it will raise some discussion as to whether we offer money back should you spend so much in our cafe.
I hope you can understand why we have to put some charges in but if you wish to contact me directly you can do mattildesley@edinburghleisure.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great for kids and adults!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Super facility near Ratho for climbers and for those who just want to watch. Younger kids fun area in basement but main attraction is the climbing arena made out of the old quarry. Wonderful for the adventurous and great cafe allowing the less adventurous to watch and enjoy refreshments. Highly recommended even if just for coffee in an amazing setting!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Phenomenal indoor climbing opportunity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This has to be one of the nicest (and largest?) indoor climbing facilities in the world! To be fair, I have only climbed a 6 other indoor facilities, but this one is far and away the most remarkable. There are so many routes available both for top roping and lead climbing. The routes are well set, although I might argue that there are too many bolts on the lead climbing walls. The cost of entry is very reasonable as well.

To top it off, the cafe in the centre has great food and cakes at a reasonable price!

If you're a climber and you live in Scotland, you should definitely check this place out for indoor training. Also, if you're just visiting Edinburgh/Glasgow and fancy some indoor sporting activity (because it's likely raining outside!), you can hire shoes and a harness, so you'll be all set, even if you didn't plan ahead when packing! :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh International Climbing Arena, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your review! We're glad you've enjoyed your visit to the centre, and the cake!comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edinburgh International Climbing Arena also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Edinburgh International Climbing Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edinburgh International Climbing Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.