We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hanging in there!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edinburgh International Climbing Arena

Edinburgh International Climbing Arena
South Platt Hill, Newbridge, Edinburgh, Scotland
0131 333 6333.
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 270 Activities in Edinburgh
Type: Sports Complexes, Sports
Attraction details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“hanging in there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A favourite with my sons, they get to climb, I drink coffee. My boys have been coming from Glasgow to the climb centre since it opened, great place for familes, impressive very civilized place for mums that taxi kids to activities.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma O, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh International Climbing Arena, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi Fiona
Thank you for your lovely comments. We enjoy having kids of all ages getting involved in the sport of climbing and glad that we seem to be getting it right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    23
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“lots to do but expensive catering”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

plenty to do with gym and climbing arena for teens and adults plus lovely softplay for the little ones. Felt the cafe upstairs was a bit expensive and didnt cater for those who had completed a hard climb. Needs more carbs and protiens

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma O, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh International Climbing Arena, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Lynn
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We do have many actvities to keep all ages busy and it is agreat place for familes.
Regarding the cafe - I have passed your comments on about catering to the cafe manager. We will look in to what we can do for the future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent facility and a great cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Whenever and wherever we are in Scotland, the kids (aged 10 and 15) insist that we come here. It's not that I mind it's just that sometimes they forget how BIG Scotland is!

We have been venturing here ever since it opened and on this visit we got free entry as a car manufacturer was trying to attract interest in a new vehicle. Even better value than usual.

There are climbing and bouldering routes for all levels and abilities. As it is much bigger than anywhere else we have been we always leave pretty tired....

We have never tried any of the courses or lessons as we can all climb, so can't comment on those, but the staff have always been pleasant and helpful when we asked anything. Can't wait to get back!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma O, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh International Climbing Arena, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us great feedback.
We are delighted that your children want to you come here while in Scotland and it was good fortune that you were here while we were running the car promotion which gave some customers free entry.
We will look forwrad to seeing you again sometime soon, we hope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We took our 12 year old daughter for a one to one taster session while on holiday in October. We booked in advance as the sessions are not available as a walk- in option. The Arena is a bit off the beaten track ( about 30 minutes from City Centre) but well worth it if you are a climbing enthusiast. Climbing shoes and safety kit are supplied. Instructor was really friendly and gave our daughter lots of support and advice as this was only her third time on a climbing wall and these were the highest she had tackled. She was soon at the top of several walls and had a great time. Would suggest an hour is long enough for a beginner. Looked to have lots of variety and more challenging walls for experienced climbers. Good facilities and tea shop with view of the climbing arena. Not expensive for a personalised lesson.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma O, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh International Climbing Arena, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We are really happy that you had such a good time here with your family. We do have other courses and classes for children that might suit if you are looking to get your daughter climbing regularly. Please check out our website. Hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
“Great Climbing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have been climbing for 6 and a half years. I have climbed indoors and outdoors and Ratho still remains one of the best climbing experiences I've ever had. The facility has incredible bouldering walls with cracks going up them that simulate more realistic rock. Overall the staff seemed really nice and the walls had plenty of variety and fun climbs. When all was said and done there was a great little cafe with nice drinks and snacks to choose from. A great place for an active person.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma O, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh International Climbing Arena, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Stephen, thank you for such positive fedback. We are delighted to hear that you are enjoyiong visiting EICA. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edinburgh International Climbing Arena also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Edinburgh International Climbing Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edinburgh International Climbing Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.