We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely authentic Italian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asti

Asti
Broughton Street, Edinburgh, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #182 of 1,900 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely authentic Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have visited this delightful Italian restaurant 4 times in the last month (twice each lunch and dinner) and can not fault anything. The food is delicious, Fiona and the rest of the staff very attentive and friendly, nothing is too much trouble even down to preparing special items not on the menu....love this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    62
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a popular restaurant but they managed to find us a table on a busy Friday night. Very glad they did because the food was well worth it. Loved the Affogato for dessert.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairneyhill, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“More, more, more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had booked for a Saturday night with 5 of us aged from 12 to well a bit older. Loved the fact that we could request and receive something not listed on the main menu. Quality and freshness of the food was very good. Friendliness and attentiveness of the staff was excellent. Only one toilet for men and one for women not ideal, but the quality of the food and the fantastic staff managed to make it a very minor issue. Would recommend this for quality, value and friendliness

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Even though we hadn't made a reservation, and it was a Saturday night, members of the staff were very helpful and managed to get us a table and we only had to wait for ten minutes. The food was delicious and the place is cozy. Also, they mention that, if you don't feel like having anything on the menu, the Chef can prepare something different for you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markinch
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Trusting reviews, my Wife and I plus another couple tipped up on a Saturday evening. Although fully booked at the time, we were given a thirty minute indication of time for a free table which we booked.
On returning we were given a table and from there on we were well looked after by the staff who were very pleasant.
The food was excellent and well presented and all four of us were in agreement that it was the equal of any Italian restaurant we've eaten in. The only quibble I'd have is that there was too little pasta - I could easily have eaten twice what was in the plate (and I'm not the biggest of eaters!) otherwise I'd have awarded a rating of five.
All in all I'd recommend a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asti also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Asti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.