We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wide eyed in wonder.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Scotland

National Museum of Scotland
Chambers Street, Edinburgh EH1 1JF, Scotland (Old Town)
+44(0)300 1236789
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 460 things to do in Edinburgh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore the diversity of the natural world, world cultures, science and technology, art and design and Scottish history, all under one roof.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Fife
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wide eyed in wonder.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Just home after a wee trip to the NMS. It was my 4yr old's first visit and whilst he was in awe of many of the exhibits it was his dad who wandered round like the kid who first went 40 or so years ago.
I have visited the museum many times over the years and have to say it gets better every time. I like how they are continually improving the building and the exhibits are still as fresh as ever.
It may be free but a few nuggets from your pocket would not go amiss to keep this place fully funded.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,381
    1,462
    310
    53
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

If you're in Edinburgh, this is a must-see. It's gone through massive renovations in recent years - and it's definitely one of the most impressive museums I've been to in Britain.

Nice little cafe as well, with some very tasty cakes. Even if you're not interested in the displays, go to the top for great views of Edinburgh.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Newly renovated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The last time we were in Scotland this museum was closed for renovation so we stopped in to see the completed article. They have done a spectacular job with this place, the main hall is now light, bright and airy- a sight to behold. An amazing free day out, not to be missed.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Go on the free tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Met our friendly tour guide at 11 o'clock in the vaulted entrance hall (which took a bit of finding). You need someone who knows her onions when you are faced with such a large building. Her humour and expertise gave us a taster. (I've come to the conclusion that a 3 day break in Edinburgh is not enough to take in all the delights of the city!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Exceptional value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We spent all day in this museum and all for free! Nice cafe area and so much to see both for adults and children - lots of interactive displays. Well worth the visit

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Scotland also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Scotland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.