We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good even on a bad day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Scotland

National Museum of Scotland
Chambers Street, Edinburgh EH1 1JF, Scotland (Old Town)
+44(0)300 1236789
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$22*
and up
City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #5 of 288 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore the diversity of the natural world, world cultures, science and technology, art and design and Scottish history, all under one roof.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good even on a bad day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went to look at the medieval Scotland side. The Museum is large and consists of a Scottish side and an International (including Scotland in part). I learnt plenty and saw much about medieval Scotland and in particular Norse Vikings. I also recommend the free guided tours which summarise the main things about what you could have seen. To see the whole musuem would take far too long and too much mental effort but three hours will enable you to see enough and enjoy it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,096
    1,724
    372
    62
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Go to the Terrace!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The best part of this vibrant and exhaustive museum is neither the taxidermied lions nor the excellent art galleries - but the terrace atop the building on floor 7. On a clear day, you can see for miles around the city (including a supreme view of Edinburgh castle!). Plus, it's free. Sometimes i just pop in here now to take my lunch and drink in the sites.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“terrific experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The museum is pretty large and covers all kind of interests. From ancient findings to modern science. Very often it hosts exhibitions dedicated to different areas and eras.

Would definitely recommend it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Museum to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

very well spaced out building with several floors- one needs to allow time to view all the exhibits & appreciate this Museum

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fantastic day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We spent a morning at the Viking exhibition with our three year old. The artefact were well laid out with all the information you would need to know about Vikings. Our three year old enjoyed it but I think it is really aimed at a much older audience and children would benefit more if they are able to read the info independently. We also had a flying visit to the Egyptian and stuff animal section. The animal part was very busy but was Saturday so it was expected. We love the museum, the building has a wonderful feeling of calm and we'll be back to have a closer look at the other sections soon. If you are going with a few people I would suggest taking a bag to put all your coats in as the cloakroom charges by item and it all adds up if you have to hang each coat separately when you can get away with just putting one bag in.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Scotland also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Scotland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.