We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the nice view from the terrace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Scotland

National Museum of Scotland
Chambers Street, Edinburgh EH1 1JF, Scotland (Cowgate)
+44(0)300 1236789
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 203 attractions in Edinburgh
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore the diversity of the natural world, world cultures, science and technology, art and design and Scottish history, all under one roof.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Clausthal-Zellerfeld, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't miss the nice view from the terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

++ stunning view from terrace
+ friendly staff (helping and explaining things)

Other than that it is a museum where you can find a bit of everything (astronomy, stuffed animals, bits of scottish history etc.). Entry is free so there is no mistake in going there... I had (like others here mentioned before) also some trouble to find my way around but that is just a small drawback for me.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,245
    1,034
    200
    34
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interactive fun for the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I loved the new kids section, it includes heaps of tactile exhibits...cause kids just love to touch! My daughter loved the projection of fish. I loved the animals sections, still fun 30 years later!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“So much!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I enjoyed everything about this museum. I had to ask where Dolly the sheep was at, but the guide was friendly and seemed to anticipate that I might ask this question.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“My 8 y/o grandson loves this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I've spent a lot of happy hours wandering around this museum with my grandson. Lot of kid friendly things to do. He loves it. Great refurbishment.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“And it's free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I love this place! It's so interesting & full of treasures & you can wander at your leisure! The geology section is particularly wonderful. The gift shop is great too :)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Scotland also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Scotland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added National Museum of Scotland to your Saves list