We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interactive fun for the kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Scotland

National Museum of Scotland
Chambers Street, Edinburgh EH1 1JF, Scotland
+44(0)300 1236789
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 195 Attractions in Edinburgh
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore the diversity of the natural world, world cultures, science and technology, art and design and Scottish history, all under one roof.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interactive fun for the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I loved the new kids section, it includes heaps of tactile exhibits...cause kids just love to touch! My daughter loved the projection of fish. I loved the animals sections, still fun 30 years later!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,114
    1,358
    283
    46
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“So much!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I enjoyed everything about this museum. I had to ask where Dolly the sheep was at, but the guide was friendly and seemed to anticipate that I might ask this question.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“My 8 y/o grandson loves this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I've spent a lot of happy hours wandering around this museum with my grandson. Lot of kid friendly things to do. He loves it. Great refurbishment.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“And it's free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I love this place! It's so interesting & full of treasures & you can wander at your leisure! The geology section is particularly wonderful. The gift shop is great too :)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great experience, interesting museum, for families with children or just adults looking for interactive fun.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Scotland also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to National Museum of Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Scotland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.