We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interactive fun for the kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Scotland

National Museum of Scotland
Chambers Street, Edinburgh EH1 1JF, Scotland (Cowgate)
+44(0)300 1236789
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #4 of 198 attractions in Edinburgh
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore the diversity of the natural world, world cultures, science and technology, art and design and Scottish history, all under one roof.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interactive fun for the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I loved the new kids section, it includes heaps of tactile exhibits...cause kids just love to touch! My daughter loved the projection of fish. I loved the animals sections, still fun 30 years later!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,933
    946
    189
    31
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“So much!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I enjoyed everything about this museum. I had to ask where Dolly the sheep was at, but the guide was friendly and seemed to anticipate that I might ask this question.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“My 8 y/o grandson loves this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I've spent a lot of happy hours wandering around this museum with my grandson. Lot of kid friendly things to do. He loves it. Great refurbishment.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“And it's free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I love this place! It's so interesting & full of treasures & you can wander at your leisure! The geology section is particularly wonderful. The gift shop is great too :)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great experience, interesting museum, for families with children or just adults looking for interactive fun.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Scotland also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to National Museum of Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Scotland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.