We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for an overnight stay, spotlessly clean.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St Bernards House

St Bernards House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St Bernards House to your Saves list
St Bernards House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   22 St Bernards Crescent | Stockbridge, Edinburgh EH4 1NS, Scotland (Stockbridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #336 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fine for an overnight stay, spotlessly clean.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I was required to travel to Edinburgh for work at short notice and due to the festival this was the cheapest room I could find . It was perfectly comfortable and adequate for an overnight stay. First impressions of the guest house weren't that great, as I had to ring the bell about three times to get in, and was greeted by an attendant who was polite but I got the impression my arrival was something of an inconvenience for her (same when I left). Didn't exactly result in warm fuzzy feelings about the place after a 4 hour train journey! The entrance and stairs are a little shabby. I was in room 7 which was sweet with high ceilings, a lovely fireplace, a view overlooking a little garden and it was spotlessly clean. However it was really small, with little storage and an en suite unit had been built as part of the room, which made it seem even smaller (great to have ensuite though obviously - and it had a nice shower and like the room was spotlessly clean). The curtains didn't close properly and whilst the bed was a bit harder than I like, it was perfectly comfortable for one night. The guest house is in a quiet street and the area surrounding proved nice for a stroll around, as I didn't want to go into town. I did not encounter any of the noisy plumbing as mentioned by other reviewers.

Last time I stayed overnight for work in Edinburgh it was in one of the Travel lodges and whilst St Bernard's House wasn't perfect, it was preferable to the soulless rooms the TL have to offer. I would stay here again, if the price was right, but probably not for any longer than a night. Certainly no longer in room 7.

Room Tip: Room 7 is very quiet, though also very small. I don't have any knowledge of any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    15
    17
    10
See reviews for
8
28
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Okay, first about positive things. The B&B is situated in a lovely green area next to one of the most expensive streets in Edinburgh. There is a beautiful park just next to the hotel and the walk to the city centre is fairly short (15 minutes). The house itself is quite atmospheric - you can literally feel the old vibe there - very tall ceilings, nice decorations, for those who love history and old traditions - they will certainly like it. Also it is clean and pleasant. Now, there are certain drawbacks that did affect our stay after all. First, we had a long story with the hot water, to be more exact the lack of it. We didn't have it for two days (out of 4), and had to go to speak to management every time we wanted to have a shower so they could "turn it on". They explained that the pipe was broken but promised it would work. There is no reception as such, so you have to call the staff from downstairs and they come. The staff was quite average in communication, I wouldn't describe them as extremely helpful. They made us feel as if we were bothering them and the hot water issue was not their fault really. Hmm .. is that the way it should be? After two days of attempts to fix the hot water they agreed to change our room which did have hot water so this problem was solved. Still, it did affect our stay sadly. Among other things, room number 6 is extremely small and the toilet makes a crazy sound after you flush it. So, on the whole, it was a contradictory experience. The place is good but the staff could have been more welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

For a city centre hotel charging very expensive rates I was very disappointed that while one room for my party was a good size and spacious, my own room was barely larger than a cupboard with almost no storage so my clothes had to sit awkwardly on the floor. There was no discount for sleeping in this cupboard either.

On top of this there were other problems. The hotel website states Wi-Fi is free for guests but when we arrived we were told we'd have to pay extra for it. There's no included breakfast and the staff make you feel like your bothering them when you ask for something. When I asked to change rooms there was no "we're very sorry, we really want to make your stay comfortable" just a flat out "No" instead. Not very good customer service.

It's in a good location though with modern fittings (I think it's fairly recently been refitted) and a nice look to the rooms. Just don't get the box rooms!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the top rooms at the back of the hotel. The front rooms are tiny and on a cobbled ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Well done to St Bernards B&B. Was there for total of 6 days 5 nights(beginning the 3rd of June 2013) on a course in Queens Street, Very close to center of town.15 minute walk or you can always take the bus a stone throws away from the house. I got the view facing the cresent (which basically is a park) and it was gorgeous.Very reasonably priced and i hope they maintain it with a fair breakfast including. Didnt see a single cockroach nor any holes in the walls. The caretakers are extremely helpful and keen to attend to any needs I had. Wi-fi connection was also good and smooth. Bathroom was clean. I am very happy with the service. would recommend it to anyone on a vist to Edinburgh!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I kindly encourage clients to fermly refuse room Nr 9 and Nr 10. These rooms are at the entrance level and room Nr 10's bathroom has been built on the other room space without any consideration for the clients next room. The pipes are terribly noisy and the bathroom air extractor is located on the roof of the bathroom, that is to say, inside room Nr 9. Each time your neighbour goes to the toilet or uses the shower, except the view you perfectly share its occupation.
Moreover, it is not an actual B&B. The landower has two or three B&B and you only have access to employees who can do nothing but apologize and put you through to an anonymous "manager". Even she had been told our desagreement about the bad night we had, she did not propose any compensation. She barely apologized.
Except the location in the city which is very suitable for visiting the old town, I shall not return here until pipes and the room organization have been reviewed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurgan, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Top room was great, waking up to birds in the mornings, garden view, tea, hair drier, clean towels, clean bathroom, although some bugs. Abalaha was friendly & helpful. Great location. Taxi home costs £6 from town centre. Nearby parking most of the time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Low price hotel with spacious high ceiling rooms, very comfortable beds, nice period looking furniture and quite relaxed atmosphere. The location is very quiet and the price is well worth it. I'd go again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Bernards House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Bernards House

Address: 22 St Bernards Crescent | Stockbridge, Edinburgh EH4 1NS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St Bernards House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your St Bernards House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Bernards House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Bernards House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.