We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of St Bernards House

St Bernards House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St Bernards House to your Saves list
St Bernards House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   22 St Bernards Crescent | Stockbridge, Edinburgh EH4 1NS, Scotland (Stockbridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #336 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Paris, France
1 review
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I kindly encourage clients to fermly refuse room Nr 9 and Nr 10. These rooms are at the entrance level and room Nr 10's bathroom has been built on the other room space without any consideration for the clients next room. The pipes are terribly noisy and the bathroom air extractor is located on the roof of the bathroom, that is to say, inside room Nr 9. Each time your neighbour goes to the toilet or uses the shower, except the view you perfectly share its occupation.
Moreover, it is not an actual B&B. The landower has two or three B&B and you only have access to employees who can do nothing but apologize and put you through to an anonymous "manager". Even she had been told our desagreement about the bad night we had, she did not propose any compensation. She barely apologized.
Except the location in the city which is very suitable for visiting the old town, I shall not return here until pipes and the room organization have been reviewed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    15
    17
    10
See reviews for
8
28
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kurgan, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Top room was great, waking up to birds in the mornings, garden view, tea, hair drier, clean towels, clean bathroom, although some bugs. Abalaha was friendly & helpful. Great location. Taxi home costs £6 from town centre. Nearby parking most of the time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Low price hotel with spacious high ceiling rooms, very comfortable beds, nice period looking furniture and quite relaxed atmosphere. The location is very quiet and the price is well worth it. I'd go again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The BB is located near the main city attractions and there is a bus stop not far away. The breakfast was basic and the quality could have been much better for the price asked. We felt like we were actually bothering the host when we requested breakfast. When traveling, the best thing for me is to merge with the locals, I was unable to do that here, but the worst part was the host provided us no guidance nor directions whatsoever and we had to find out everything for ourselves. On the bright side, the room was clean, even if a bit worn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here Feb half term with my boyfriend. As a young student couple I opted here for a cheap week and wasn't too fussed about decor etc.. we came to see the sights and use it simply as somewhere to sleep! On first arrival I glanced to see the 'hole in the ceiling' that I had heard about on other reviews (maybe from a different site), and was reassured to see no sign of any hole. Decor was homely, not state of the art modern but didn't bother us. We were shown to our room, number 6, it was.. cosy. Although our room was cosy we saw the opposite room sneakily as the cleaners went in, looked a lot more roomy! obviously given to those who paid a bit more (got ours cheap, £30 a night) but had tv, hairdryer, kettle and tea bags etc (refreshed everyday), slim wardrobe and an en suit which was tight but not too close (we could both brush our teeth at the same time). Shower was an average size, however temperature varied daily. Comfy bed! Was a bit chilly at times, heater was timed apparently but on arrival we were told we could ask for a heater whenever if we wanted.
As we came here to sight see we didn't opt for breakfast, 8-9am was an awkward time and didn't sound as if it was a fry up or anything so used the Sainsburys at the bottom of the road daily, cheaper than a fiver each morning. Also a bit disappointed that wifi wasnt free (£3 per day).
However it is in a fab location! You can see the bus stop from the room, literally 30 steps?! 36 bus from there takes you straight to royal mile or a parallel street off the main street where princes mall and scotts monument are (2min walk from stop). We usually got the bus in and walked back (20mins leisurely pace)
Only saw the owner twice though, once checking in and once as we left one day, but we didnt have breakfast in fairness, but not when we checked out.. just left the keys which felt a bit odd.
No noise, quiet area, clean.. all i asked for really

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Value for money - could not be better!
Service always with a smile and helpful to the end.
I think the staff is what makes this place - when things go wrong they sort it out -quickly and efficiently.
Very central location for everything in town.
Stockbridge great area.
Handy at all times of day and night but NOT noisy.

Room Tip: I have tried them all and find ground floor and first floor best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Tried to book plenty of places in Edinburgh one weekend to see my sis who had just moved there for her Nursing degree...accomodation..or lack of is crazy even though it was a few weeks in advance. Saw this place & my boyf convinced me to take a chance as we were only staying the night..The area its in, Stockbridge, is great, bohemian area, quirky shops & restaurants on the way up, few pubs..(not as special as the shops). When we did find the place (its hard to find but in an ok area) we could see the house is being renovated, which was mentioned in previous reviews, and we were early, but we were led into a lovely high ceilinged breakfast room that badly needs attention. I can see what they want to do but they're doing it bit by bit. But what looked like the breakfast area - yuk..How anyone would, or could eat breakfast from the amenities there..you would have to be mad.Smelly damp area, a warm water heater with a tin of hot chocolate and a tin of coffee.

We were given a room on the second floor, think it was 7 or 8 and it was fine. Bed was comfortable & room clean but very compact. Was one of the renovated rooms & fine for what we paid for. Great shower. Unfortunately, two things woke us up in the wee hours..and we weren't home TOO early. One was the plumbing system..which seemed to run through our room for the whole house. And the next, which is weirder, is that it seems the room next to us was a 'knocking shop'. We were woken up by the antics of next door - not a major deal if its not going all night right?? Went on all night, about half hourly from about 2-6 and was very obvious it was different callers from the mobile phone calls, doors opening, people up and down the stairs. Was too late & a bit too scary to do or say anything..next morning we got up, showered & to leave, went to give the keys to the 'manager' but he looked at us as if he had no idea who we were so we got out..and will never be back..Thank God

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Bernards House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Bernards House

Address: 22 St Bernards Crescent | Stockbridge, Edinburgh EH4 1NS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St Bernards House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your St Bernards House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Bernards House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Bernards House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.