We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel b&b edinburgh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of B+B Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added B+B Edinburgh to your Saves list
B+B Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off 2 nights or more
Ranked #81 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
1 review
“hotel b&b edinburgh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

hotel nice,room comfortable but not enough wardrobe space for a family and lots of dust on surrounding furniture when we arrived at the room.breakfast excellent,staff friendly and very helpful.
enjoyed our stay thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Apologies there was a little dust when you arrived - I trust this was rectified during your stay and did not hinder enjoyment too much.

All the best

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    96
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
56
159
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

A truly lovely Hotel situated in a good area with easy walking distance to city centre. Breakfasts were excellent. Staff were ever so friendly and so willing to make your stay a memorable one. The room we had, had a mervellous view across the Forth Estuary. The room was spotless and decorated in a lovely boutiquey style. Will come again.

Room Tip: They are all pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you, Mr Buckinghamshire - we really appreciate a review form such a Senior TripAdvisor contributor. As you are considering staying with us again - please join our Belong + Benefit club - we will reward your stay with a lovely bottle of fizz for the first night of your stay and you can 'save up' for free nights stay at any of our sister properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here two weeks ago and couldn't fault the hotel. Our room was lovely with twin beds, an amazing view over the Firth of Forth and a bath in the room as well as a separate shower room. The staff were helpful and couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was comfortable . Breakfast was good, catering for my gluten intolerance without any problem . Just a minor point is a need for more than one high chair . No problem on the first morning but on the Sunday it was already in use so my granddaughter had to sit on her mum's knee until it was free. Loved the library on the first floor and the free drinks while you sat and read a book. Lovely relaxed atmosphere. Look forward to visiting one of their other B+B'S and we'll certainly be back to this one

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for reviewing - we really want to appeal to all generations and thank you for the useful feedback regarding high chairs - we could certainly do with another to help at busy times. It is great that you are planning to visit our sister properties - Belgravia is a perfect spot for exploring London and you cannot beat the Dorset for quintessential English seaside fun! We very much look forward to welcoming the family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menasha,Wi
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Interesting old building decorated with contemporary furnishings. Our room was clean, comfortable, quiet. The food was great! Breakfast each day was wonderful..My husband enjoyed Haggis each day. The staff was so nice and kind. Transit was within short walk. Views out our window beautiful. We would return if had the chance. Lift for our luggage made it so nice...tea and coffee and internet complimentary all day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to review.Breakfast is a massively important part of our offering and we are thrilled you have enjoyed yours! No stay in Scotland is complete without haggis - it is full of all the 'right stuff' and the way perfect start to the day! When you visit any of the B+B's in the Collection there is always something tasty for breakfast that is unique to the region. We hope you can explore them all! Thank you, once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I've just come back from a three-night stay at B+B Edinburgh and I'm really happy with my choice of a hotel. It's a five-minute walk from the bus stop from and to the airport. It's within walking distance of the main landmarks of the city and it's very quiet at the same time.The building and the interior are charming and romantic and the view on the castle amazing. the staff are very friendly and the service excellent. The room was lovely and immaculate, the library comfortable with free coffee, tea and biscuits, the breakfast hearty with a great choice of food. Should I go back to Edinburgh, that's the accommodation I would pick without any hesitation.

Room Tip: the rooms in the upper floors have a better view on the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to review B+B Edinburgh - we are really pleased you have soaked the ambience of our beautiful home and we look forward to welcoming you again. Please join our Belong + Benefit club before you visit again - there will be a super bottle of bubbly awaiting your arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have just spent 5 days in this excellent hotel? We travel to visit family in Edinburgh several times a year and I cannot recommend this B + B highly enough. Every member of staff we met was friendly and made a fuss over our dog.

This is a extremely dog friendly hotel and the only place they are not allowed is the dining room. Even though it is a city centre hotel there is a lovely Private garden just across from the hotel which you can access. There are also some lovely dog friendly places to eat within walking distance of the hotel.

People are also well catered for. The room was spacious, clean and warm. The bathroom was also spotless. The hospitality tray was also welcome, as was the lounge with an endless supply of hot drinks and water. The breakfast was also faultless. Always served with a smile. It would be very difficult to fault this hotel ( B+B) and I am unable to think of any cons.

If anyone is looking to stay in a hotel near the centre of Edinburgh, within walking distance of many of the attractions, which is extremely welcoming, look no further. Over the years I have stayed in many Edinburgh hotels and none have impressed me as much as the B+B Edinburgh, given the location, cost, cleanliness and superb breakfast. Thomas the dog also urges his doggie friends to stay there too, as they will be made very welcome.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review especially form a doggy eyed view! We agree, our Private Garden opposite is a real plus although at the back of our house is the famous Water of Leith which is a fab little early morning stroll. We have made many friends throughout the city that welcome dogs and we can whole heartedly recommend Edinburgh as dog-friendly. Thank - you, once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I went with the on line reviews - and was not disappointed. Lovely clean room, very comfortable bed and great shower. Breakfast equally good. Bargain as well. Charming staff. I am returning to Edinburgh in May and will stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Room 3 - perfect for a couple or a business traveller
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Great to hear you are returning and we are thrilled you have loved B+B Edinburgh. As a business travellor there are some great eateries within 5 minutes walk - from independent pubs to the usual high street pizza, pasta chains. But if you venture a little further - there are some super fine dining rooms. See you soon and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B+B Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Edinburgh

Address: 3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your B+B Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B+B Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.