We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B+B Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added B+B Edinburgh to your Saves list
B+B Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel) (West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just back from a one night stay at the B + B and cannot recomend the place any higher.
Was there with friends for a show and to celebrate a birthday and from the moment we arrived we felt so welcolme. The staff are so friendly and helpful the rooms are immaculate and the whole building is so beautiful with so many original features it's like taking a step back in time .The breakfast was cooked to order not like those horrible buffets swimming in grease and the lounge had free tea,coffee,hot chocolate & shortbread. It is the only place I will stay in Edinburgh from now on.

Room Tip: Family rooms are great value even for 4 adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are so pleased you have enjoyed B+B Edinburgh - we are really proud of our beautiful buidling and all the history it contains. The location is fab for exploring but equally, you could enjoy a good couple of days just soaking up the B+B! We have sisters in Belgravia and Weymouth if you fancy ...?! Thanks again and if you are to be a frequent visitor - join Belong + Benefit - champagne with first visit...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    110
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
63
185
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
587 reviews 587 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
350 helpful votes 350 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

A winter rate of £65 with breakfast near the west end of central Edinburgh is good!
Lots of 1880's carved wood and a spectacular galleried library.Ask for the house history sheet.
We were very kindly upgraded to huge room 5 on the third floor,rear.
Most spacious and attractive.
Unfortunately the wonderful bath (in the bedroom) could not be filled due to very poor water pressure.
Breakfast was included and had some good food but the cooked part was not so great.
Because of the huge windows there are some cool areas around the building in winter.
Helpful staff and a very small,slow lift.

Room Tip: Great views from rear rooms.Number 5 is huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest - thank you for taking the time to review B+B Edinburgh. Our aim within the B+B Collection is to provide functional, design-led accommodation with a great breakfast - we hope to do these two things really well allowing you to truly enjoy your experience of the city you are travelling in. There are quirks with an old property and we appreciate your feedback regarding chilly spots etc! Without our guest's help - we cannot improve - thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed for one night on 16th Feb. I have to admit that I was a bit dubious about the name and have made a few judgements. It turns out I was completely wrong. The B+B Hotel is a beautiful building with amazing rooms full of period details and amazing views. The bed was huge and comfortable with beautifully smelling pillows and quilt. The room had everything we needed and the bathroom just had a shower (no bath but that was fine with me!) with a cute little dome skylight.

The staff were so friendly and smiley- even when they were very busy at breakfast. The breakfast was gorgeous. There was a small buffet arrangement with pastries, cheeses, yoghurts, fruit, cereal, juices etc which was well topped up even at 10.20 when breakfast was due to finish at 10.30. I am not a fan of cooked breakfasts in hotels as they tend to be quite greasy. Not here! Everything was grilled (apart from fried egg) and all ingredients were of a high quality. It was very yummy indeed!

there was only a few tiny issues- water pressure on fourth floor meant shower wasn't great. Also I am not a huge fan of the white hairdryers that are hidden in drawer. However these things would not stop us from going back.

Compared to budget hotels in Edinburgh the price of staying at B+B was really good and why would you stay in a boring chain hotel when you could stay here?! The hotel is a great location to walk into town and base yourself if you are in Edinburgh for a few days. I would love to return to spend a few days enjoying the hotel and meandering through that part of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing and we are so pleased you enjoyed B+B Edinburgh. We are a Bed + Breakfast and aim to do those 2 things really well! We have spent time sourcing good suppliers and it is really appreciated when feedback is received. We will ensure all the Team know that their efforts are appreciated and hope to see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel contains beautiful architecture and design features. The building has many original features, including an impressive staircase and windows, plus very striking contemporary design: the Scandinavian-style light fightings are worth seeing. My room had everything you could ask for plus lovely views. Breakfast was in a room with more great views, and also had everything I could have wanted. It is a bit far from the city centre, but in a lovely location.
I was travelling with a colleague on this occasion, but I would be happy to stay here as a solo female traveller: staff could not be more helpful. The hotel has 27 rooms, but it felt more friendly and personal than that number suggests. I would definitely like to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask about adjusting heating before going to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing - we welcome many guests travelling to Edinburgh on business who later return with families! We have worked hard to create a balance and hopefully appeal to everyone! Edinburgh is a busy city with so much to enjoy - the Team are all eager to share their favourite spots with you! See you again, we hope. If you come again on business...join up to Belong + Benefit - the details are on the website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed for three nights in Feb. Every aspect of this place is top draw, room was spot on with a cracking view of the castle and the wonderful St. Mary's. Very clean, with daily cleaning which was excellent, as was the shower. Loved the addition of shortbread in the room and library, was delicious. Breakfast, again excellent, everything you want, and service quick and freindly cooked breakfast was tasty. Location of the place was terrific perfect for exploring on foot, botanic gardens, castle etc within easy reach, good bus and train links. All in all top draw, and outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Super thanks for taking the time to review. The B+B philosophy attempts to break the mould and offer an alternative to the traditional style Guest House. We are really pleased you have been able to soak up our funky vibe and use us as a base to explore the city. Try out our sisters if you visit London or the South Coast - we will be delighted to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This place really wasn't what we were expecting! A B&B is usually a family home with a couple of letting bedrooms. This is a beautiful hotel with oodles of carved wooden features giving it a lovely warmth and elegance.

Its location is ideal, especially if travelling by train (a car is a hindrance in Edinburgh) as it's a short walk from Haymarket. We walked miles and miles in this wonderful city. We've been many times before and there is always something new to discover.

The staff were extremely helpful and courteous, the room was cosy and scrupulously clean and the breakfast was available until 10am which is perfect when on holiday. Free Wi-fi was a great bonus, as was the lovely, relaxing library.

My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights and the staff were happy for us to store our bags both before checking in and after checking out.

The only negative aspect was that our room was rather dark. With grey walls and ceiling and dim lighting it was lovely and relaxing for watching tv, but I get too bored doing just that! I had taken some sewing with me and it was hard to see well enough to do very much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Having not been to Edinburgh before it was hard to choose an accommodation. We spent 2 nights at B+B, arriving late on the Friday after being delayed by the weather and airports not coping. We rang the B+B a few times regarding the delay and the night receptionist / porter was most helpful. The room was in the basement but was comfortable and spacious with windows. There were little touches like the embroidered pillowcases and sweets with the initials B+B. The only small annoyance was the extremely cold bathroom floor tiles...Breakfast was good, and the dining room had some nice art pieces. It is approx. a 10 minute walk to the main area of Edinburgh and easy for all the sites and airport bus. After walking around the town all day we returned to the lounge area on the 1st floor and took advantage of the complimentary hot beverages. A nice place and we will hopefully return in warmer weather.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest - thank you for taking the time to review - it is very much appreciated. It sounds as though an unfortunate turn in the weather turned into quite a pleasant stay in the city! I am pleased you managed to enjoy a little of B+B Edinburgh's warmth on a winter weekend! We would love to see you again in the spring/summer - Edinburgh has so much to offer all year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B+B Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Edinburgh

Address: 3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your B+B Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B+B Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.