We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality sushi at a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kanpai Sushi

Kanpai Sushi
8-10 Grindlay Street, Edinburgh EH3 9AS, Scotland
0131 228 1602
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 1,899 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Derby
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quality sushi at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Went here for lunch, and the sushi was really good. I've eaten in Japan and the sushi here matches anything I ate over there.
Waitresses were friendly and as it was my partners first time eating sushi we asked it we could go to the bar to watch it being prepared as advertised on the menu. But from the bar because of a glass cabinet we couldn't see the sushi being prepared so ending up sitting back down at our table. It was only a mid week lunch but there were still other customers in there and the atmosphere was good.
The dumplings and rainbow roll were particularly enjoyable.
Partner noticed one of the waitresses didn't wash her hands after going to the toilet.
On the whole a very good restaurant, really worth a visit and the food was really good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    93
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The sushi always tastes good and looks amazing. The atmosphere is good here, not stiff but still a little fancy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good sushi, hard to find though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We went to this sushi restaurant late on a Saturday night. We'd booked a table for 9pm which is advisable as it gets quite busy. The restaurant was quite hard to find as it's down a small side street and has no sign above the restaurant, so we walked past it twice! That said it is a nice sushi restaurant, great fresh sushi at a really good price. There were two of us and we had the grilled aubergine (best I've had), salmon nigiri, fried octopus balls, salmon maki, rainbow roll and Tokyo roll. Everything tasted really good.

The one little niggle was that obviously being sushi each dish is quite small and we ordered most dishes together but the waiter seemed to wait until we had finished each dish before taking that away, then the chef would start to make the next dish, meaning we would only have a few mouthfuls of food then wait around 10 minutes for the next dish.

Although this was a little annoying this alone would not stop me from eating here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This restaurant really does deserve all the good reviews. Food is amazing and staff are super friendly. Perhaps not for a drawn out romantic meal as over so quickly (not a criticism however. Last time I visited it was in a large group and experience was just as good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“simply the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

simply the best sushi in edinburgh just need to add robatayaki dishes like roka in london that would be perfet

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanpai Sushi also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Kanpai Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanpai Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.