We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Satisfied!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile to your Saves list
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Central Reception, 217 High street, The Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1PE, Scotland (Cowgate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 for Price of 2 Deal
Ranked #16 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Edinburgh
1 review
“Completely Satisfied!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were all very pleased with the apartment! The location is perfect and the service was impecable! I would recommend Stay Edinburgh City Apartments to everyone! The rooms were very nice and you can find everything that you need in the apartment! Amazing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvey C, Manager at Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Fantastic review, thanks for taking the time to post. All our apartments are on the Royal Mile a few minutes from the Castle and all the main attactractions Another great review for our fantastic small team of amazing housekeepers!

Many thanks,
Harvey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    101
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
95
95
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The ONLY blight on our stay here was the stairs. I had to carry some heavy as sin bags up, which didnt help. After having trekked a fair bit in Skye I was keen to get to a town where walking didn't involve much "uphill-ness". I got over it though as its around this time that I start pre season training, and what better way than flying up stairs?

The service was great, from Harvey?, and the young lass who as also there.

Location is great - royal mile (tourist shopping, pubs/restaurants, street performers/artists), castle, camera obscura, etc.

If you don't mind the stairs (really only applies to levels 3 and up), then I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvey C, Manager at Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
What a superb review. Pleased that you enjoyed the apartment and enjoyed this area of the city which is one of the best areas in Edinburgh.

thank you also that you mentioned the helpful point that all the some of our apartments do have stairs but if you do have problems walking up stairs please let us know as we do have apartments with lifts in them.

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday!
Best regards,
Harvey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I booked this apartment for my daughter and 15 friends as her 21st birthday treat and they all had an absolute ball. The atmosphere of the weekend was set right at the outset by the very warm welcome given by Harvey when the keys were collected. The group were just delighted with the whole environment and commented on the extremely well equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, spotlessly clean en suite bathrooms, clean lines and modern decor, they could not have asked for more. Superb location right on the Royal Mile. Option of a late check out (small extra fee) was a particularly useful plus point. Worth every penny for such a memorable birthday treat weekend and very good value for money if the cost is split between a group. The girls would thoroughly recommend this apartment and I would only add that they whole booking procedure went smoothly and I had very good communication with the company. A real find in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvey C, Manager at Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Fantastic review, thanks for taking the time to post. The neighbourhood is fabulous and one of the best in Edinburgh and I do hope you come back and stay again. A very safe areafor girls on their own and in groups and we have lots of groups of girls staying which is great! All the main attractions and bars are a few minutes away from our apartments! We have the widest selection of large apartments on The Royal Mile ideal for Hen and Birthday parties. Another fab review for our fantastic small team of amazing housekeepers! I will pass this feedback on!

Best regards,
Harvey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Firstly these appartments couldn't be in a better location. Waverley train station is an easy walk away as is the bus to/from the airport. Princes Street is down the hill about 5 minutes walk away.

We had a 4 bedroomed, 3 bathroomed apartment and it was very comfortable with enough seating etc for everyone. The beds were comfy and we would have slept well except for the noise outside into the very late, early morning!!

If any foreigner was to stay here and pay the full price I'm sure they would be very disappointed. Curtains were hanging off the rails, I wouldn't say that it was expecially clean and I found a very long black hair on my pillow before I got into bed. (I'm blond and have very short hair!!). I'm not too sure what it says in the information received before arrival but we all had suitcases that we had to take up 3 flights of stairs. Americans travelling are not noted for their minimal packing and getting a big suitcase up the stairs would have been almost impossible. These apartments did not leave a very good impression on me.

We have stayed in Edinburgh on many occasions and this was not the best place we have stayed in and certainly not the cheapest by a long way.

Personally I would stay at the Princes Street Suites again rather than these apartments. See my review 1st June 2011. There are way, way superior and just as conveniently situated in a much quieter area.

After saying that, if there are 10 of you wanting to stay in one apartment these would do for a couple of nights stay.

PS We had a great weekend otherwise!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just got back from girls weekend. 8 people in 4 bedrooms with 3 bathrooms with plenty of room. Included washer/dryer, large refrigerator , microwave, iron etc. All bedding and towels provided. Everything spotlessly clean and apartment just refurbed. Location excellent on Lawnmarket not far from Deacon Brodie pub. Really close to Castle, Grassmarket and Waverly Train station, with plenty of pubs, restaurants and shops. Apartment full of character features and felt very safe and secure. Stone spiral staircase bit of a struggle with cases but we all managed. Office staff all friendly and helpful, check in was easy. They had already placed jam, bread, milk tea etc in the apartment which was a nice touch. Everyone of us would book these apartments again when next returning to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here with a group of 10 ladies for a hen weekend. It was an ideal apartment, within walking distance of everywhere we needed to visit in the city. Check in, in the shop across the street, was quick and easy, and the staff had been very helpful when planning the weekend.

There were 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, and a couple of camp beds to make up the extra sleeping arrangements. The lounge and kitchen were modern and ideal for the number of guests. A welcome pack of bread and milk etc. was there on arrival which was a good touch.

The only minor gripes we had were a slight problem with the heating with some rooms being hotter than others, the ipod docking station in the lounge wouldn't work, and there was quite a bit of noise outside at the weekend.

I would recommend this company, especially for large groups which are sometimes hard to accomodate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvey C, Manager at Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review - it means a great deal to all of us at Stay Edinburgh City Apartments when our guests are happy.
We specialise in group accommodation with a range og 4 bedoom apartments
We also have 12 x double apartment also on the Royal Mile.

Apologies for the heating not working but we got it up and running again for you quickly.

Kind regards,
Harvey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous apartments and very clean has everything you need like a dish washer, washing machine, hair dryer, toiletries, fridge, cooker, microwave and tea and coffee!
Only downside is that it takes ages to check in and car parking is £12 a day.
Great location as well would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvey C, Manager at Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear SYBDublin,

This review has been posted to the wrong company - we are Stay Edinburgh City apartments not to be confused with:

Staycity Serviced Apartments West End or

Staycity Serviced Apartments - Leamington Wharf Townhouses

Stay Edinburgh City apartments are on The Royal Mile located in the heart of Edinburgh this different company are located in the West End area of Edinburgh
Please remove this review and repost to the correct company

Thanks
Harvey Cochrane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile

Address: Central Reception, 217 High street, The Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate , Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 15 serviced apartments ranging from 1 to 4 bedrooms. All of the apartments are fully furnished and equipped with High Definition flat screen TV, DVD player, High Speed WIFI internet facility, fully equipped kitchen and modern bathroom. Located on the world famous Royal Mile, we offers you the heart of Edinburgh on your doorstep. Don’t ever worry about public transport. Staying with us you will have easy walking access to all of major Edinburgh attractions. We have one of the widest selections of apartments on The Royal Mile and we SPECIALISE in providing accommodation to SMALL AND LARGE GROUPS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.