We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful serviced apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Edinburgh to your Saves list
Residence Inn Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #31 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful serviced apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

After a very long journey we were greeted at reception by a lovely man called Paul, he asked if it was a special occasion (girlfriends birthday) he listened to the journey we had and without prompting upgraded our room and provided free parking for our 3 day trip. It was a lovely surprise what a credit this employee is as we will come back and I will recommend this place. THE apartment is beautiful in a great location, the complimentary breakfast very tasty, love it here

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    174
    51
    11
    6
See reviews for
93
260
20
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great location, walking distance to the Royal Mile but in a fairly quiet corner. This hotel was very modern with sleek, luxurious decor, and the rooms were quite spacious for the area (a Marriott room i stayed at in Glasgow would have fit about twice into this room). Complimentary breakfast started early enough for me to grab something before my crazy early flight. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We recently stayed at the Residence Inn for a work weekend away.

There were 7 of us (4 rooms), and on arrival we discovered our room bookings had been messed up but this was due to the booking agent not the hotel itself.The staff were fab and although fully booked, got everything sorted very quickly and had sofabeds made up for us to make double rooms into twin rooms.

The bar was really well stocked, breakfast was excellent.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the main attractions and a 20 minute taxi ride to the airport.

We are already planning a return trip and would not consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon based on the assumption that it was a Marriot so had a reputation to live up to.... and live up to it, it certainly did, warm welcome on reception a fabulous room with excellent facilities within, a real home from home but with the luxury of a hotel, we had a few minor problems during our stay with housekeeping but all sorted quickly by reception, we will return for sure.

Room Tip: an upgrade to a superior double is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We liked the location of this hotel. It was a quick walk to Royal Mile and the price was well below anything closer. Does include breakfast and has a small kitchen, we really didn't utilize either. Around the corner is a Starbucks, a book/coffee shop and a great cafe/bistro called Peter's Yard. We started off each day at one of those. There was also a convenience store if you were going to use your kitchen. We also liked the diversity that the University brought which is located right next door. I recommend this hotel for Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

After a long flight from Australia it was wonderful to arrive to very welcoming staff who let us check in prior to the 4pm check in time. The hotel is modern and clean and in a great location, just a five minute walk to the Royal Mile. We stayed in a studio apartment on the fourth floor, it was clean, modern and had a nice little kitchenette. The view was to a nice little coutyard, many of the apartment buildings next door are all glass and you can see straight into people's homes, we didn't see anyone during our two night stay but you might want to make sure the curtains are shut before you jump out of the shower just in case !! Breakfast was also included which we didn't realise and had a good variety of hot and cold options. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough, what a fabulous way to start our overseas adventure. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again in the future. A MUST DO !!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Hotel is conveniently located near Royal Mile and Princess Street. One can walk to Edinburgh Castle without much hassle.
Hotel lobby is small but no problem for me. Staff was good enough to let us check in early. Breakfast was ok, not much choice compared to other hotels.
Room was good size, we had booked large studio. Did not use kitchen facilities hence can not comment on that.
Overall a good experience. Will check other hotels/residences for next stay, just to know other options.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin R, General Manager at Residence Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the us whilst in Edinburgh.
I am sorry we did not meet all your expections. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced.

We are always looking for ways to improve & will strive to address your concerns so that we can improve the guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're delighted to bring you the UK's first Residence Inn by Marriott offering you short and long stay Edinburgh accommodation. Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott®. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.