We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New with trendy style, good location, but no air conditioning” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Edinburgh to your Saves list
Residence Inn Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #30 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“New with trendy style, good location, but no air conditioning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Arrival experience: We checked in late afternoon. The young lady at the front desk was not very helpful. We had to ask multiple questions about how the parking worked and did not receive a clear response (we eventually learned we would have free parking). Check-in went smoothly otherwise. We are Marriott platinum elite members and were offered our bonus points or free gift from the snack area. We were not offered a room upgrade. But we had two different reservations at different rates and didn’t have to check-out and then back in to use our separate reservations spanning consecutive days.

Room (general): Large, bright room with sitting area with modern flat screen TV. The room has very modern furniture and decor. The room had a kitchenette with big sink, microwave, mini fridge, and mini dishwasher. All appliances were Bosch stainless steel. But our dishwasher was not maintained; it displayed a low salt code on the panel during our entire stay. Our room had a nice balcony sitting area. We had a sideways view of Edinburgh Castle from the balcony (looking to the right from our balcony).

Bathroom: Large wall cabinet above the sink for storage. Large but narrow shower (no tub). Bathroom was clean but with somewhat insufficient lighting.

Bed: Good king bed

Housekeeping: Housecleaning was below average for a Marriott affiliate but average for Scotland. Consistently housekeeping did not vacuum the floors. Lint and other debris was untouched day to day.

Restaurants: Small casual café with limited offerings on site. Free breakfast, but it fills up fast, so arrive early. Breakfast had a fairly good selection of standard items (bacon, sausage, eggs, toast, fruit, etc.). There are many restaurants nearby. There is also a small Sainsbury grocery store in the next building over.

Bar: There is a small bar with limited offerings in the casual café eating area in the lobby.

Grounds: This hotel is in the downtown area of Edinburgh with no real grounds. The Meadows (a huge public park) is within 100 meters of the hotel.

Pool: none

Staff attitude/service: The staff was very nice overall but not completely engaged. We had one minor incident though and the staff handled it acceptably. Our room key was improperly deactivated mid-stay (a bit frustrating), and the front desk clerk reactivated it. On the other hand, we recommended that the hotel website be updated with old-fashioned GPS coordinates to assist in navigation, and the staff seemed uninterested in the suggestion.

Parking and navigation to the hotel: This hotel is in the new area of Edinburgh where a large hospital had once been located. Our international TomTom GPS was not able to locate the hotel because Simpson Loan Quartermile is too new. It took us forever to find the hotel; fortunately, Scots are friendly and the random townspeople we begged for directions were helpful. Finally, a cab driver helped us navigate to the hotel. The parking is underground in an adjacent building. The parking garage was not well marked. Upon exiting the parking garage we had to walk around the entire building in which the hotel is located to find the entrance.

Parking tip: Ask for the parking access card whenever you need to take your car out of the car park/garage.

Navigation tip: Program your GPS to the intersection of Lauriston Place and Nightingale Way. Alternately, use Google Maps and review the area before trying to drive there.

Misc: This hotel does not have air conditioning in the rooms. Only the lobby has air conditioning. We were in Edinburgh during a warm spell, and it was very uncomfortable in our room. Although the balcony door opened wide, there is no air circulation. The hotel’s website should prominently disclose no a/c! I have been in Marriott hotels in many locales and never encountered one without a/c.

If you need to wash your clothes, this hotel provides free access to washing machines and dryers. But the machines are not maintained. If you use a dryer, you must empty the water tray prior to use.

For some high-res photos of this hotel, check out my photos on Flickr. My username on Flickr is utfiero.

About us: We’re irreverent, younger American professionals who travel regularly.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a castle view for the best view, but there is construction underway in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    177
    54
    11
    6
See reviews for
94
269
20
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is new, light, modern and spacious in comparison to most European hotels. We had a queen size bed, a fold out double sofa, a chair, desk and kitchenette (oven, microwave and dishwasher with plates etc provided as well.) Bathroom had only a shower stall, but the acoustics were great if you are a closet rock star :) Super comfortable bed with box spring and a nice pillow selection. Large windows that faced an apartment building in our case and the curtains are a little flimsy. Windows don't open and the only minus is the lack of air-conditioning. We were there during a heat wave and a small fan in the closet just didn't cut it. They have FREE laundry machines (2 washers and 2 dryers - first come first served) to do your own behind the registration desk, or they have a send out service. We were able to walk to most locations ---within 10 minutes to the Royal Mile to see the Castle and do some shopping, and the hop on hop off bus. The breakfast was included, and while it lacked many hot dishes it was perfectly fine. Cereals, fruit, baked goods, cheese, meat selection, beans, eggs, banger, as well as coffees, teas and juices. Kudos to the staff...they were always friendly and always greeted us pleasantly and responded to inquiries promptly. I would have given it a perfect score if they had a/c but I would stay there again in a heart beat....preferably in cooler weather :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Loved the rooms here with bamboo (hard) floors and rugs, large shower, and a mini kitchen. Modern, light, and airy. Pet friendly. Wonderful staff with a nice bar/restaurant. Very good breakfast. Nice location next to the University and just south of the Old Town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during an unseasonable warm (80 F) weekend. We were unaware the brand new American chain hotel did not have air conditioning. Windows were plentiful, but only opened a few inches and provided no ventilation, whatsoever. A pitiful little fan was provided in the closet, but it didn't work well and pushed no air. It was cooler outside than inside.

The rooms are well appointed with a nice living area, kitchen and comfortable bed. Everything was kept spotlessly clean. Under the sheets was a plastic or rubber (hospital-like) mattress pad, which did not help with in the rooms sticky conditions making sleep uncomfortable. After one evening, my husband spoke to the friendly staff about the uncomfortable conditions and said he hadn't expected this from a new Residence Inn. We were switched to a corner room, that offered cross ventilation. The room was cooler, but still warm.

Breakfast was ok, since it was included. It did include eggs, bacon. sausage, muffins, meats and cheeses. Also provided were pancakes and waffles, already made, that were cold. There was enough to find to eat to satisfy us.

The hotel also has a bar in the lounge and will provide soups and sandwiches up until 10 pm.

The location is fantastic. It is close enough to the castle, Princes' St, etc, yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle. Restaurants are abundant in the area.

I would never stay here again in the summer and only stay again if a corner room was available during cooler weather.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have cross ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The location of this hotel is OK but not brilliant. There is a bit of a walk past the resident drunks in the park up to Greyfriars and then beyond up to the Royal Mile. There is no A/C in the rooms and the air does not circulate well when the window is open. We were on the 4th floor and the noise from construction/ weird window cleaning machine was terrible from 7.00am every day including Sunday. We felt the breakfast was good but the location wasn't so good in the hotel lobby. This was obviously due to space restraints. Also the car parking was expensive. There is also only one lift so we walked up and down the stairs more than we used the lift, which was fine for us going down but sometimes a little trying going up.

The person on the reception was friendly enough but her English was not so good.

Overall I wouldn't stay here again for the prices charged.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Overall qute disappointing. 2 day stay in a rare Scottish heatwave. There's no A/C so needed the windows open a little. Shame no warning about the nearby construction noise and vehicle movements at 7am. Bathroom design and room layout is poor for a RI. Breakfast is also poor. In fact we went and had breakfast at the nice place across the street (Peter's Yard?). When you choose to pay for breakfast when a free one is available it says a lot.

On the positive side, the location is great, with most of central Edinburgh within walking distance.

Room Tip: Don't go in the summer.! Lack of AC is a very poor choice, even for Scotland
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Following a recommendation in America, I nearly always use residence inn hotels in the US. I was very pleased to see they have brought the brand to the UK. The hotel brings over all the great service and attentiveness that the US brand carries. They do need some more substantial curtains however, as the office building across the way has a very clear view into the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're delighted to bring you the UK's first Residence Inn by Marriott offering you short and long stay Edinburgh accommodation. Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott®. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.