We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice in Edinburgh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Edinburgh

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Edinburgh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #32 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Choice in Edinburgh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here for four nights recently and it turned out to be a very good choice. Was a little worried when the cab pulled up as we'd driven past several construction sites and the area seemed quite desolate, but luckily, that first impression proved faulty. The construction usually started after I awoke and never seemed particularly loud, so that wasn't a problem. The Quartermile area appears relatively new, so it's pretty modern. It's also a bit off the beaten path from the rest of the city, which means that it's nice and quiet. (Actually had no noise problems at all. I never even heard people in other rooms, so the walls must have been fairly sturdy.) But, despite that first impression, it's actually a reasonably well travelled area by foot and there were always people walking around when we were out, so I never felt unsafe. And, it's close enough to walk to anything you need to see or well serviced by a number of different bus lines. I couldn't have asked for a better location, really.

As for the room, it was a good size, had modern fixtures and furnishings, and was really all I could have hoped for, especially given the very good rate (99 GBP per night). Yes, there are floor to ceiling windows and you're looking into either an apartment building or an office building, so you have to be careful to pull the curtains before doing anything you wouldn't want anyone else to see. But on the other hand, it meant the rooms were nice and bright and not at all dreary. It was nice to have the little kitchenette, and there was a supermarket right around the corner where you could stock up on a few items. Saw that many reviews talked about rooms being too hot; I actually had the opposite experience. I wished I could have turned the heat up a tad as I was chilly, but then I was there in December and it was, on average, in the 30s and 40s outside.

Facility, overall, was pleasant. Staff was friendly and can't argue with free wifi (especially since I'd just come from a Hilton that charged me 15 GBP per day!). Breakfast was included in the rate. It was typical of a Residence Inn, relatively cheap ingredients not always cooked that well (the pools of water the scrambled eggs were always swimming in was a sure sign that the eggs were overcooked), but it was serviceable food with plenty of options (cereal, tea, coffee, juices, pastries, cheese and cold cuts, eggs, bacon, sausages, and beans) that did the job of filling you up before you set off for the day without putting a dent in your wallet (every little bit counts with the terrible exchange rate!). The breakfast area was small and tables were very close together. It worked while I was there because it was off season and I don't think the hotel was very full, so there were never more than a few tables filled when we ate. But I can see how it could be uncomfortably crowded if the hotel was at capacity.

There were a few minor quibbles. As I said, quality of the food was a bit mediocre. The sink in my room had a slow drain so it filled with water every time I washed my hands or brushed my teeth and that was never seen to. The window in my room never closed quite properly, and probably contributed to the room being a bit on the cool side. Oddly, they mopped the hardwood floors and tile, but never seemed to vacuum the area rug, which could have used it. But overall, none of these things ruined the experience. I was very happy with my stay here and if I were to return to Edinburgh, I would absolutely consider returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    157
    46
    10
    6
See reviews for
87
230
17
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night city break to Edinburgh and stayed at the Residence Inn. The hotel is in a good location and is just a 5/10 minute walk down some steps to the grass market area, castle and Princes Street. The hotel offers a 20% discount for guests using the NCP underground car park, which is very nearby and handy if you've hired a car like we did.

We booked a standard room and it was very modern and clean. The room had a queen bed, as well as a double sofa bed, several chairs, desk, safe and a kitchenette. It was really handy to have a fridge, microwave and toaster. The only negative for us was the bathroom; the handbasin is outside of the bathroom ( perhaps this is an American design) , the bathroom also had no heating/towel rail which meant it was always cold and the most annoying thing was the sliding bathroom door which did not shut properly and kept opening. Other people have commented on the large glass windows and lack of privacy etc, we didnt really find this to be a problem and liked the light and open feel. The hotel provides nets and thick curtains to block out prying eyes if it bothers you. The breakfast was rather cramped, but the food on offer was good the usual pastries/cereal/fruit and a hot selection. If you are here for pleasure its best to come down a little later after the city slickers have left for the day.

We would return to this hotel as it offered good value for money, modern fittings , good location and the staff were very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor , from some of these you can see Edinburgh Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a modern hotel for Residence Inn brand. The decor, the layout and the furnishings are modern. I am very likely to stay in this hotel again if I were in the area. The staff is friendly. You have to know though that one side of this hotel faces an apartment building with similar style - floor to ceiling windows. So you pretty much have to close the blinds while you are inside. Not a problem for us since we were only inside at nights. Another thing that they can easily fix is the rug that they have on the floor beside the bed - it either slides or makes me trip. I don't care for it much as the floors are not that cold anyway which is a very good thing. Also when we got into the room, it kind of smelled damp. They did a better cleaning job the next day because that damp smell went away. The internet can be unpredictable at times and I wonder if it was just us having 5 gadgets. Overall, I would recommend the hotel. It is walking distance to a lot of restaurants but still being in a quiet location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hotel is ultra modern glass-and -concrete building in a recently built district of similar black and grey steel-and-glass office buildings. You do not feel to be in Edinburgh at all but rather in the commercial outskirts of a US-city...
I had a spacious two room suite, so far OK, but also here: Through the large window front of your living or sleeping room you look directly into the glass facade of an office building, you look on people sitting at their desks and you feel that they are looking on you...thus no "privacy" feeling comes up...
The breakfast "room" is not a separate room but an uncomfortable and crowded corner in the cold entrance hall, with far to few places (tiny tables) - the hotel obviously assumes that you cook your breakfast in your own room...
Finally: For two telephone calls (in sum 1 Minute and 25 seconds only!!) in the evening hours from my room telephone to Belgium I had to pay 10 Pounds (=13 Euros!!). When I complained about this totally exaggerated price I was told that I should have looked into the tariff before.
Therefore: Dont phone at this hotel and make up your mind about what I have written about this place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Having been based in Ediburgh for 8 months with work, I was encouraged to move here from my usual, excellent hotel. My first visit was great, I was greeted warmly and profesionally. I had a suite which had a brilliant seperate lounge and bedroom, each with its own t.v. The areas were very comfortable which plenty of space and tables to work from. The kitchen area is great with everything you need, and was extremely clean. In fact the whole place was spotless throughout. It was a perfect place for being away from home, and felt much more homely and welcoming than a usual hotel room. I am returning every week now and hope it continues to be a good as my first visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Overall good. New concept for british public - Residence Inn the only one in the UK and limited service brand of Marriott. A lot of people might get disappointed. I personally do not fancy to go and get a takeaway after a long day - just want room service which hotel does not cater as a brand. Downside for stay: woken up by a fire alarm at 5.10am. Not very nice with a 10 month old to stand in the cold waiting to get in even though fire alarm is for your safety.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argentina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Location is one of the best, to know this wonderfull city. The enclave is quiet but you have many choices arround to eat, drink or just walk. Resindence inn offer well apointed suites, you can even cook your meal there and the breakfast is a must.

Room Tip: I always ask for a hig floor, they offer a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're delighted to bring you the UK's first Residence Inn by Marriott offering you short and long stay Edinburgh accommodation. Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott®. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.