We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Option for Edinburgh City Break with some room for improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Edinburgh to your Saves list
Residence Inn Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WiFi + Late Checkout
Ranked #31 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Option for Edinburgh City Break with some room for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night city break to Edinburgh and stayed at the Residence Inn. The hotel is in a good location and is just a 5/10 minute walk down some steps to the grass market area, castle and Princes Street. The hotel offers a 20% discount for guests using the NCP underground car park, which is very nearby and handy if you've hired a car like we did.

We booked a standard room and it was very modern and clean. The room had a queen bed, as well as a double sofa bed, several chairs, desk, safe and a kitchenette. It was really handy to have a fridge, microwave and toaster. The only negative for us was the bathroom; the handbasin is outside of the bathroom ( perhaps this is an American design) , the bathroom also had no heating/towel rail which meant it was always cold and the most annoying thing was the sliding bathroom door which did not shut properly and kept opening. Other people have commented on the large glass windows and lack of privacy etc, we didnt really find this to be a problem and liked the light and open feel. The hotel provides nets and thick curtains to block out prying eyes if it bothers you. The breakfast was rather cramped, but the food on offer was good the usual pastries/cereal/fruit and a hot selection. If you are here for pleasure its best to come down a little later after the city slickers have left for the day.

We would return to this hotel as it offered good value for money, modern fittings , good location and the staff were very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor , from some of these you can see Edinburgh Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    184
    55
    11
    6
See reviews for
98
280
20
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a modern hotel for Residence Inn brand. The decor, the layout and the furnishings are modern. I am very likely to stay in this hotel again if I were in the area. The staff is friendly. You have to know though that one side of this hotel faces an apartment building with similar style - floor to ceiling windows. So you pretty much have to close the blinds while you are inside. Not a problem for us since we were only inside at nights. Another thing that they can easily fix is the rug that they have on the floor beside the bed - it either slides or makes me trip. I don't care for it much as the floors are not that cold anyway which is a very good thing. Also when we got into the room, it kind of smelled damp. They did a better cleaning job the next day because that damp smell went away. The internet can be unpredictable at times and I wonder if it was just us having 5 gadgets. Overall, I would recommend the hotel. It is walking distance to a lot of restaurants but still being in a quiet location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hotel is ultra modern glass-and -concrete building in a recently built district of similar black and grey steel-and-glass office buildings. You do not feel to be in Edinburgh at all but rather in the commercial outskirts of a US-city...
I had a spacious two room suite, so far OK, but also here: Through the large window front of your living or sleeping room you look directly into the glass facade of an office building, you look on people sitting at their desks and you feel that they are looking on you...thus no "privacy" feeling comes up...
The breakfast "room" is not a separate room but an uncomfortable and crowded corner in the cold entrance hall, with far to few places (tiny tables) - the hotel obviously assumes that you cook your breakfast in your own room...
Finally: For two telephone calls (in sum 1 Minute and 25 seconds only!!) in the evening hours from my room telephone to Belgium I had to pay 10 Pounds (=13 Euros!!). When I complained about this totally exaggerated price I was told that I should have looked into the tariff before.
Therefore: Dont phone at this hotel and make up your mind about what I have written about this place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Having been based in Ediburgh for 8 months with work, I was encouraged to move here from my usual, excellent hotel. My first visit was great, I was greeted warmly and profesionally. I had a suite which had a brilliant seperate lounge and bedroom, each with its own t.v. The areas were very comfortable which plenty of space and tables to work from. The kitchen area is great with everything you need, and was extremely clean. In fact the whole place was spotless throughout. It was a perfect place for being away from home, and felt much more homely and welcoming than a usual hotel room. I am returning every week now and hope it continues to be a good as my first visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Overall good. New concept for british public - Residence Inn the only one in the UK and limited service brand of Marriott. A lot of people might get disappointed. I personally do not fancy to go and get a takeaway after a long day - just want room service which hotel does not cater as a brand. Downside for stay: woken up by a fire alarm at 5.10am. Not very nice with a 10 month old to stand in the cold waiting to get in even though fire alarm is for your safety.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argentina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Location is one of the best, to know this wonderfull city. The enclave is quiet but you have many choices arround to eat, drink or just walk. Resindence inn offer well apointed suites, you can even cook your meal there and the breakfast is a must.

Room Tip: I always ask for a hig floor, they offer a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DURHAM
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stopped here for 4 nights and loved the hotel and the fab room.
The staff were all helpful, friendly and eager to please. Our room (317) was spacious and clean. It was nice to have a little kitchen as well as an office/desk area.
The location is pretty central with only a 20 min walk to the castle. The free breakfast is a lovely touch with plenty to choose from, cooked, continental, cereal, yogurt, fruit etc.
On the Tuesday night there was even a social evening with free food... What more can you ask for.
We'll definitely be visiting again...soon

Room Tip: We ad room 317. Very spacious for 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're delighted to bring you the UK's first Residence Inn by Marriott offering you short and long stay Edinburgh accommodation. Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott®. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.