We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afraid the air conditioning is an issue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Edinburgh to your Saves list
Residence Inn Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off
Ranked #29 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
East Meadow, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Afraid the air conditioning is an issue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

As others have noted, this hotel has an air conditioning issue. Actually, we also found it had a plumbing issue--specifically, our room needed a good mixing valve behind its water fixtures. The sink temperature fluctuated rather wildly, and, even more troubling, the shower would swing back and forth from hot to cold with occasional passes through warm. Fortunately, the shower stall was rather large, so dancing out of the way of the blasts at one temperature extreme or the other was easy enough. Still, it made for a rather difficult shower.

Back to the air conditioning issue. We were fortunate enough to be in one of the rooms that had a balcony with a large, sliding glass door. So we could open that and let cool air in from outside. This seems to be part of the idea of not providing air conditioning--that Edinburgh's outside air normally is cool enough to make this an acceptable approach. There are a few problems with this. For one, some rooms don't get enough ventilation to make this work, as noted by others. For another, the hallway outside our door was a sauna. While walking through that may seem a minor inconvenience, it's quite a blast (we're talking about temperatures well into the 80s) and isn't very pleasant, especially when taking laundry down or back up (which is one of the conveniences of this hotel--being able to do laundry).

For us, the biggest problem with this approach was that we both were allergic to something that apparently was in the air when we visited. So we had a choice--either toast in the room or open that sliding glass and suffer with our allergies, tempered only by whatever relief we could get from allergy medications.

Regarding the included breakfast, the food was mediocre at best, but there's a Sainsbury just steps away, and we grabbed things from there and stocked the kitchenette in our room as an alternative. Of course, that's an added cost, but the breakfast really wasn't great and seating was entirely inadequate for the number of people.

With all of that said, the service was good and the hotel itself is quite nice. The location is good, the bed is comfortable, and sitting on the balcony as the sun sets was a lovely way to end a day. They do have work to do on the issues I and others have mentioned, but there are worse choices out there. So I suppose we'd stay there on a future visit to Edinburgh, but the "I suppose we'd stay there" would change to "we'd definitely stay there" if they'd do something about getting air conditioning set up!

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms seem to be the one with the balconies and big sliding glass doors. I'd go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    164
    49
    10
    6
See reviews for
89
245
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is the first Marriott Residence Inn in the UK and the second in Europe. I wish there were more. Our room was massive and had a desk, couch, comfortable bed, refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, plates, cups, utensils, recessed lighting throughout, and a terrific shower in the bathroom. The location is in what appears to be a new development in Edinburgh - the Quartermile. It is 5 minutes from the action of Grassmarket and 15 minutes from the Royal Mile. The hotel staff were fantastic and unfailingly helpful. They gladly accommodated our request to make up the room first so that we could return with our dog who could rest in the room undisturbed whilst we did some sightseeing. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Being new the fit out and cleanliness of the accomodation is outstanding. 10 minute walk to the tourist spots, the Castle, Royal Mile. Breakfast was satisfying. Staff helpful and efficient. Wi-fi works well. Self catering, with a Sainsbury store just around the corner, was simple.

My only hassle during our five day stay was the single lift servicing seven floors, approx.110 apartments, be prepared for a wait at peak times, say between 7 and 9 in the morning. Also the lack of a full size table in the apartment did not make sense to me, there was plenty of room to spare. Eating dinner balancing the plates on our knees in front of the TV was not enjoyable as the table in the room was narrow, with a table light, designed for computer use only.

Would definitely stay here again as the postion of the hotel and layout of the suites made up for any short comings.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is a new hotel just off the George IV Bridge, well-located outside the tourist core at the north end of the Meadow in the heart of Edinburgh University. It is sleek and bright, surrounded by new, low-rise offices and condos. The hotel is quiet and generally clean – housekeeping could improve a little - such as dust in dust in the corners - but this may be new-hotel growing pains. The two-room suites are small and not that well-appointed for self-catering, the way travellers to North American Residence Inn locations are accustomed. Staff members are friendly and helpful, the breakfast is plentiful with a variety of hot and cold choices. The breakfast area is tiny so arrive early to get a table. Good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Travelmom21 suggests staying in odd numbered rooms when the weather is warm in Edinburgh. Forget about it! We stayed in an odd number room on floor seven and our travel thermometer stayed in the low 80's to high 70's. The port hole window and oscillating fan were hopeless. The GM acknowledges that the RI has a problem and they are considering their options.
On the bright side, if the weather is cool, this would be a wonderful place to stay. Great staff and local conveniences and near the tourist area.

Room Tip: Go when it is cold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights. Excellent accommodations in every way. Front desk staff is cordial and extremely helpful. Included breakfast includes scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit salads, cereals, pastries, etc. Free wi-fi and free self-service laundry machines. Just around the corner are a well-stocked convenience store and Starbucks. Peter’s Yard nearby is great for pastries, sandwiches. About 15-20 minute walk to Royal Mile and Waverley Station. Hotel is near bus stop for route 35 for inexpensive transportation to airport in one hour. See the Lothian bus website (other helpful routes near the hotel are 23, 27, and 36). http://www.lothianbuses.com/

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My wife and 9 year old daughter spent a weekend in Scotland and stayed at the Residence Inn Edinburgh.

As soon as we arrived, the lady at the front desk (whose name I have unfortunately forgotten) greeted us with a sincere smile and welcomed us (she was genuinely welcoming none of the fake contrived stuff you get in most places nowadays). We were early so we left our luggage before exploring the city. She asked us to sit down and enjoy the contiental buffet breakfast service that was underway when we came in. We declined as we had already eaten breakfast at the airport.

When we got back after exploring, we found out that the available room was a wheel chair friendly room. As we are a bit particular about having a separte bath or shower area from the toilet (we don't want the whole floor wet) we asked if they could move us to another room (on a weekend before Easter we knew this would not be easy). Svetlana at the front desk said she would do her best. She also helped us locate a Roman Catholic Church that we had trouble finding on google maps.

Svetlana was able to find us another room and we promptly transferred. All throughout the staff were great! The location is also a short walk to high street where most of the attractions are. It's also on a more quiet and newer area- which on the downside may be difficult to locate.

All in all it was a relaxing 2 night stay and it made our Scotland trip more memorable.

Jun, Mayu and Billie Contreras
Makati, Philippines

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're delighted to bring you the UK's first Residence Inn by Marriott offering you short and long stay Edinburgh accommodation. Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott®. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.