We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay here again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of No 32 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added No 32 Hotel to your Saves list
No 32 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   32 Coats Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LE, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Northern Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would not stay here again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Guest house, not hotel. Room very comfortable and clean. Not well stocked - had to ask for toilet paper and tea/coffee/milk on arrival. Room not cleaned or restocked at all during a three night stay. Only ate breakfast on first day - very low quality ingredients, though nicely presented. On a late night quest for milk I saw that the kitchen was not very clean; and the fridge was really dirty with out of date food. Would not stay here again. Hosts not particularly welcoming or helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    56
    29
    11
    9
See reviews for
26
95
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Please note that this place is a guesthouse and not a full service hotel - so you need to have certain expectations for that. As a guesthouse - it was great. good location - about a 20 minute walk to the castle and the royal mile. Small but clean rooms. More modern and updated. Breakfast was good, but service was really slow. Yes, they do make you pay upfront but its no different than giving a credit card or something. Staff was friendly and nice. I would stay here again. Rate/ price was good considering how expensive edinburgh is. Free street parking (10 min walk away).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Michael couldn't have been more helpful as I arrived a little early to check in. He provided refreshments to my 3 year old son and I whilst our room was being cleaned. A very comfortable and spacious family room at the front of the hotel. Really pleased and wouldl visit again! Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Had to stay in Edinburgh for business. Arrived late (10:30pm) and was asked to pay up front for the 3 nights stay, the receptionist was unhelpful and acknowledgeable about the hotel he was working for and basically couldn't care less about me and my guest. We were given a basement room with no windows, dirty linen and bathroom, and the whole room smelled of damp. As this was NOT the standard of room advertised on expedia which is where I booked it and thus expecting, I went back to reception to ask for another room, apparently the other rooms were flooded due to a plumbing problem and so they could not accommodate me in another room. So I decided that I needed to find alternative accommodation. When I asked the receptionist for a refund he refused and said that I had to take what he was offering and that it was a basic double that I had booked. As a customer, I had ever right to ask for a refund and not accept the substandard room at £110 per night! The arguing continued until midnight when at which point I left to find another hotel. The owner/manager of the hotel was unreachable for 2 days straight. I contacted Expedia to cancel the booking and get a refund which was agreed with the hotel, however I am still waiting for my money to be returned. Bunch of fraudsters - stay at your own risk!! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone not even my worst enemy! This was one of the most frustrating awful experiences I have ever had the displeasure of being involved with.

Room Tip: Do not stay here under any circumstances
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We tried to stay at this hotel but unfortuantly our room was flooded - Munish & Michael were super helpful and managed to get us in to another hotel just down the road! As we were travelling with a child it was a relief to have such help. The hotel we stayed at only served continental breakfast - so we were kindly offered breakfast at No 32 for free!
The breakfast was lovely and though we only went into the lounge area the hotel seemed to be of a very high standard.
Michael was extremely helpful suggesting a brilliant place to eat (Zizzi)
The guys were fab - and we loved our Edinburgh weekend - will certainly try and go again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We enjoyed every minute of our two short stays at this charming boutique hotel. Our young host was welcoming and went out of his way to help us with other travel plans. The location - especially in terms of airport transportation and trains - was excellent. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable and breakfast was delicious. This small hotel combines the personal feel of a bed and breakfast with the privacy and comfort of a hotel. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Decided last minute to stay another night in Edinburgh having previously spent night in rubbish hotel we were Over the moon this one had rooms. Our room
Was small but had everything we needed you can see the extras these guys have put in to make the hotel lovely....duvet to die for. They will soon have bar up n running which will make things loads better. Only thing that wasn't brilliant was breakfast but for the price we paid for room can't really complain will defo be back

Thank you :)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to No 32 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 32 Hotel

Address: 32 Coats Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — No 32 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your No 32 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No 32 Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No 32 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.