We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Capital Residence to your Saves list
Capital Residence
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   27 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #238 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely boutique hotel with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and myself and my husband were very pleased.

After a problem with our first room we notified hotel staff and this was soon rectified as on our second night we were upgraded to a beautiful room on the top floor.

The breakfast was lovely with a wide range to suit all tastes.

The owners were very friendly and helpful ensuring guests enjoy there stay

All in all a really nice hotel within walking distance to all attractions!!

Mr & Mrs Kearney

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    53
    13
    12
    29
See reviews for
18
105
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend break, yes its quirky and abit casual but we were ok with that. The owner was friendly and helpful with local bus and tourist info. we quite liked the relaxed atmosphere of the place. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh, have had alot worse! We loved our room, top floor at the front. Waterfall taps and comfy bed. The only gripe we had was being woken up every morning by clunky/clanky outside our room by some bad plumbing, was really load and very annoying when you want a lie in! Did tell the owner and I hope he has had it rectified. Would stay there again but would probably stay closer to town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We visited Capital Residence on 12th June 2013. We arrived very late for check-in, but this was not a problem as we had a note and keys left for us for our room, so we could just slip in.

Our room was gorgeous. We had the suite room, and we loved the gorgeous wall-to-floor windows and the lovely layout. The bathroom was very luxurious, and had a rain shower. The whole suite was very minimalistic, modern and clean - while retaining the old building features. I absolutely loved it.

On the morning we had breakfast at Capital Residence. We were given the choice of continental or cooked, and chose a bit of both! My husband had the full-Scottish breakfast including haggis, which was delicious! I also had a selection of sausages,eggs and bacon. The continental breakfast bar had a range of fruit juices, yoghurts, fruit, scones, muffins etc.

The check-out time wasn't too early (11am) so it gave us plenty of time to get ready for our day. The hotel is in a really good location, and is a short walk away from Princes Street.

We bought this hotel room via laterooms.com and it worked out to be cheaper than a Travellodge and other budget hotels. For the price we paid for bed & breakfast, it was absolutely fantastic and I wholeheartedly recommend it as a place to stay when visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just eating breakfast at The Capital Residence after a single night stay with my sister on our way to Inverness.

The hotel is in Leith a very cosmopolitan area with a huge numbers of bars and restaurants. This is a manageable walk from Princes Street and also manageable to The Royal Mile. There is also an excellent bus service and unrestricted parking outside the hotel - rare in Edinburgh.

The hotel's decor is stunning, modern and traditional perfectly combined. The rooms are beautiful and well thought out with everything you need.

The staff are also incredibly pleasant and friendly; a family run establishment. It should be remembered that it is not a chain nor does it pretend to be something that it is not.

The price we paid for 1 night, double bed and breakfast made it far cheaper than the Holiday Inn, Travelodge and even the youth hostel. Incredible value for money.

I would, very highly, recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed at the Capital Residence on Saturday 18th May, double
ensuite room. Room was lovely, clean and the shower was fabulous. The location of the hotel is excellent and the choice of bus no. 22, 25, or 11. Staff were great, nothing was a problem and the breakfast was the best I've had in a long time. We will be back, thanks you!!

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back if your not used to traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed in the single room - room was fine - only negetive was the toilet was on the landing.
Breakfast was excellent - Pilrig Street only minutes from the centre and you can park outside.
Staff very welcoming - will stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We (my wife, two daughters and I) stayed in a family suite on Saturday 4th May.
The hotel is very clean, rooms are specious and of very good standards. We certainly enjoyed our stay there and will definitely stay again at this hotel next time we come to Edinburgh. It is excellent value for money.
Despite the slight worry about late arrival and lack of communication with David (the manger), he was waiting for us with a big smile and offered to help in anyway he could. He always seemed willing to go the extra mile to make us enjoy our stay.
Parking on the main road was not a problem. Breakfast included a good selection of cold and cooked food and was really nice.
Thanks David and best wishes..
The Putrus family, Newcastle upon Tyne

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capital Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Residence

Address: 27 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering modern rooms with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs, this boutique bed and breakfast is placed 1 mile from Princes Street and 1 mile from Edinburgh's popular shore area. Built in 1850, Capital Residence is a Grade B listed town house. An iPod dock, safe and a selection of teas, coffee and sweet treats are featured in every room. Sleek bathrooms all have luxury toiletries, fluffy bathrobes, a hairdryer and GHD hair straighteners. Guests can choose from a range of breakfast options including freshly made full Scottish breakfasts and Scottish smoked salmon. For evening dining, there are restaurants and bars within a 5-minute walk. Set 0.5 miles from Edinburgh’s New Town, the building still displays many of its original features. Capital Residence is just over a mile from the Royal Botanic Gardens and Edinburgh’s dockside area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Capital Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Capital Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.