We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodations and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haggis Hostel

Save Saved
You added Haggis Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haggis Hostel
5 / 3 West Register Street, Edinburgh EH2 2AA, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 177 Specialty lodging in Edinburgh
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Accomodations and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

What an outstanding facility and the staff go above and beyond to make your staff a great experience. This is located close to bus and train and to shopping and to restaurants. It is very close to attractions in Edinburgh. I can not say enough praises for the staff at Haggis, they are by far the best of all the hostels we have encountered. We will return to this one on our next trip.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christopher d, Owner at Haggis Hostel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Mr Oliver,
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and kind words. I was a real pleasure having your self and your wife staying with us and we look forward to your return visit next year.
Should we be able to do anything to assist your future travelling needs please do not hesitate to contact us.
Many Thanks from all of the team at Haggis Hostels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    34
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
7
83
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Haggis hostel is the best place for backpackers, travelers students and normal tourists as well. I spent here just one night but I enjoy the place. The hostel is clean, very well located, the employees are very friendly and professional, and one can find all the facilities. It's perfect if one wants to visit Edinburgh with a cheap budget and without any trouble. I'll come back and I'll suggest this place to all my friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Apart from having to walk up a bit to the hostel on 3rd floor (which wasn't that bad after doing it a few times), friendly staff, clean room, great location makes it a really great place to stay in Edinburgh. I would recommend this place for anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Walking up the stairs to this hostel, I admit to some apprehension, but the hostel was clean and adequate. The rooms were small, but this was the only hostel of 10 or so that provided lockers for guests--a nice addition. Bathrooms were clean, plenty of hot water and the hosts were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Didn't initially know what to think of this hostel when I initially checked in, but after thinking about it for a few days (and a second stay a week later), it was really quite good.
Good location, just accross the bridge form the royal mile, and right on Princess street (good for shopping).
Really clean, and you can tell its been freshly rennovated, thought not 100% convinced about the "universal" power sockets - my australian plugs still required an adaptor
Watch out for the stairs on arrival, its onthe 4th floor of the building
Really comfortable beds, but the bunks are really low, so if you have the bottom bunk, be aware that even the shortest of people will sit-up and hit their head.
Not the friendliest of hostels that I have ever stayed in, the common room is really small and pokey.
The breakfast in the mornings are pretty awesome. the only hostel I;ve stayed in that has fresh fruit, croissants and awesome english muffins....the layout of the table and chairs needs some work though, as you trip over each other trying to sit down or get to the fridges etc

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very clean, very friendly, very central and really quiet. Was perfect for my last night in edinburgh and to catch an early train. Plug socket by each bed, nice kitchen. The only thing i would be aware of is the lockers are quite small...my case didnt fit in. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

the cleanest hostel i've come across in my travels. Best smelling Towels and Linens. Very close for everything in Edinburgh, Great staff too. I recommend staying here!! I stayed in the 4bed female dorm, and i can't fault it. A bit of pub noise on the weekend, but it is the festival month, and once you close the window it blocks out the noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Haggis Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haggis Hostel

Address: 5 / 3 West Register Street, Edinburgh EH2 2AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 177 Specialty lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Haggis Hostel in Edinburgh. We are Edinburgh's newest hostel, and with the most central location of any hostel in Edinburgh, we should be your first choice when looking for accommodation in Edinburgh. The hostel is in a newly renovated Georgian building, and is fully equipped with all the facilities you need to make your stay in Edinburgh a memorable one. The hostel rooms are all clean and spacious, and are equipped with international sockets, so you don't need to go scrabbling around for an adapter just to charge your phone. If you're looking for the most friendly, comfortable hostel in Edinburgh, then you've found it. We've tried hard to think of all the things you'll need to make your stay a happy one, you can trust Haggis Hostels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Haggis Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haggis Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haggis Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.